Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carnegie's done it again
It seems like such a silly thing to have to read a book on how to stop worrying, but trust me; you'll never learn as much any other way. Once again, Dale Carnegie proves to be the expert on self-motivation. Certainly this book won't cure you, but it will give you advice and insight on the better life you should be leading. A remarkably easy read. I do have one problem...
Published on March 23 2003 by Kent

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not indispensible
How to Stop Worrying and Start Living was written for those who often forget about today and think about tomorrow. Even though it was written some time ago, the advice given in this book can still be useful to anyone who aspires to live a joyful life.

Worry can take many forms: insomnia, difficulties to concentrate, symptoms of sickness. The message in this...
Published on April 20 2008 by B. Piché


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carnegie's done it again, March 23 2003
It seems like such a silly thing to have to read a book on how to stop worrying, but trust me; you'll never learn as much any other way. Once again, Dale Carnegie proves to be the expert on self-motivation. Certainly this book won't cure you, but it will give you advice and insight on the better life you should be leading. A remarkably easy read. I do have one problem with Carnegie's book; he seems to focus a lot on religion, and to anyone who isn't "hip" with religion will find it distasteful. Also, I actually enjoyed his other book, How to Win Friends, more, but How to Stop Worrying is a nice addition into the self-help fanatic's library. If anything, it will slap you in the face and remind you that life is too important to waste time worrying about superficial matters. Some of us need that slap in the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tips, Oct. 10 2009
By 
Frederic Collette (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sorry, English is not my first language.. At the end of the book, there are many little stories of people who have overcome their worries. I read that part before sleep in my bed, and I will never forget it. Someone explained that he lived with the arabs for 6-7 years and observed they had very little worry. I was impressed because I understood a little part of the way they see life and I took some ideas from this..and it works. Also another story talked about a guy understanding that train drivers cannot prevent or see everything that could happen on the way, they relies on lights... meaning that you cannot prevent too much, you must trust that a red light will show up when there's a problem.. your attention will naturally get to it. In my case, this book was worth the little price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful!, March 20 2001
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dale Carnegie compiles time tested wisdom in this book of principles on how to avoid worrying about problems you can't affect. Carnegie outlines some basic principles to help you stop worrying. He draws from common sense, from people who have achieved peace and happiness, and from the sayings of philosophers, business leaders and others. Although Carnegie wrote his book in the 1940's and some of his examples may seem dated, his basic principles are timeless - in fact, ahead of his time. He presents them in an easy-to-read, personal way. He draws on his own and other people's experiences to show a number of techniques for letting go of worries and becoming more productive. We at getAbstract recommend this self-development classic to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, June 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book to read and to get you back on track. Dale Carnegie teaches you how to make some great lemonade when life throws you some lemons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every problem has solution, May 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it's encourage every one to find a way to overcome his problems and stop worry about surround acts, because every problem has solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars are not enough, March 17 2014
I love this book I read it once or twice a year. The tips never get old they are great reminders as to not let external things weigh us down. I only wish everyone could read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book may have been written some time ago, but it's still very relevant to us today. My husband and I refer to it often, and we've bought extras to give to friends or family when it seems they'd benefit from it too. Recommend it highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poorly assembled - excellent content though, June 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is great, for it's content. But beware, the pocket books edition is poorly glued and it comes apart after reaching half way. So 1 star for the publishing company and 5 for the book itelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, May 24 2013
By 
Jo - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this while on vacation and it helped my not worry about every little detail. It is common sense and easy to apply to everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading., Dec 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I gave this book four stars because it was worth reading, full of ideas we should be living with, and a helpful reminder.
The pages of this book fell out, and amazon quickly replaced it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Stop Worrying and Start Living
How to Stop Worrying and Start Living by Dale Carnegie (Hardcover - March 1984)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews