Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read this book now!!!
Inca Gold is an action book that is fiction but has some historically correct background facts. The story begins when a diving team of two gets stuck in a sinkhole. A distress signal is sent and Dirk Pitt and NUMA get the call. They go to the sinkhole in Peru where the divers and their team were working. Dirk Pitt and his best friends Giordano goes diving in after...
Published on Jan. 7 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones meets NUMA; typical...
As an avid adult section reader since the age of ten, I've met the good ones and the bad ones. Nothing inappropriate luckily, but the in-between are pretty common. Personally, I'd say this book is right up there on my top ten.
The plot is a simple and yet at the same time tangled one. Clive Cussler does a great job at weaving together past and present with an...
Published on July 27 2003


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Must read this book now!!!, Jan. 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
Inca Gold is an action book that is fiction but has some historically correct background facts. The story begins when a diving team of two gets stuck in a sinkhole. A distress signal is sent and Dirk Pitt and NUMA get the call. They go to the sinkhole in Peru where the divers and their team were working. Dirk Pitt and his best friends Giordano goes diving in after them. As they are resurfacing, a group of terrorists cut the rope and leave Pitt stranded. When he finally catches up to the terrorists, he saves everybody by hijacking the helicopter and bringing them back to the NUMA boat. They discover that there is a jade box that leads to Huascar's (an Inca King) treasure. They find the box and translate it very quickly. They search all of the possible target areas, but don't find anything. Then a diner owner tells them about an underground river. They figure out there is a possibility that the treasure will be right near the underground river. However, when they find it, they are told to leave it because the government wants to catch the terrorists. Will they follow the order that they were given? Read Inca Gold to find out.
I loved this book. It is one of the better books in the Dirk Pitt series. Clive Cussler is brilliant in his description. I like that he puts himself in the book as a small part. In this book, he is the diner owner. I also enjoy the action that he puts into his books and the fact that he leaves no part unfinished.
By Kevin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just suspend your disbelief and enjoy, Oct. 27 2003
By 
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
STORY: As one editor put,"Dirk Pitt is back in fine form as he rescues two archaeologists from certain death in a Peruvian sinkhole. Before Pitt climbs out of the hole he runs afoul of the Solpemachace, a group of three brothers who steal and sell Indian artifacts. Pitt finds a rope sculpture, a quipu, that points the way to a huge Inca treasure. Meanwhile, the Solpemachace steal the Golden Body Suit of Tiapollo, which leads them to the same treasure inside a mountain in Baja, Mexico." The race for the treasure and the saving of lives are in Pitt's hands.
MY FEEDBACK:
If I was comparing this to "real" literature this book would get rated very low. But thankfully this isn't my first endeavor into a Cussler book so I knew to suspend disbelief and enjoy it for what it is.
As with his other stories, the main character is never really in any danger because he is James Bond, Indiana Jones and The Terminator rolled into one. There is never any doubt that Dirk Pitt will pull off the impossible, which is what makes these stories fun. There is no time to intellecutalize events or think if they are possible or not, they are just there and the reader is along for the ride.
This is my third Cussler book and the reason why I had to knock it down a star is because I just happen to have the luck that the opening few scenes seem to mimic almost event-after-event what happens in another one of his books. The only difference were the characters and locations. That was disappointing, but I quickly got over it and enjoyed the ride.
I cannot comment in detail on Characterization or Plot line because the story is more like a fantasy than something that takes place in real life. In other words, if you've read Cussler before and enjoyed it you are sure to like this story. If this is your first attempt at Cussler, just go into it with the right attitude and you should have fun.
As compared to the other two books from Cussler that I've worked through, this one was the better of the three (Serpent and the other I can't remember the name).
Also, I didn't give it a higher rating because I listened to the audio book version and the reader seemed to not have a lot of life and emotion in his reading. He had great voices for characters, especially Pitt, but when there is an action scene his reading should have been more intense and faster paced in order to draw the listener into the scene more.
Otherwise, it was an enjoyable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones meets NUMA; typical..., July 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
As an avid adult section reader since the age of ten, I've met the good ones and the bad ones. Nothing inappropriate luckily, but the in-between are pretty common. Personally, I'd say this book is right up there on my top ten.
The plot is a simple and yet at the same time tangled one. Clive Cussler does a great job at weaving together past and present with an intriguing storyline that takes you on a wild, Dirk Pitt kind of ride.
The characters are simple and yet to a weak reader charming. Dirk Pitt is the suave, sexy, old just means experienced kinda guy. He may work for NUMA, but he might as well be James Bond. Every lady in the story either falls for him or vice versa, although this continuing theme makes the plot a little weary at times. The women are hard-headed, large-chested, sex-idol types, although Clive Cussler's idea of giving them justice is by making them a bit intelligent. Pathetic. Mix in the short, Italian, known-him-forever sidekick, a greedy,sophisticated, rich villian (or in this case family of villians), and you've got a Dirk Pitt to go.
I'd probably recommend this to anyone who just needs to mush their brain for a while after Old English or Beowulf. A good "breather" novel as I call them, it can give your tired mind a break either on a pool deck or in a blizzard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY ....... GOOD, May 18 2003
By 
"seasonsosummer" (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was totally cool. It was one of the first Dirk Pitt books that I have read and it REALLY got me hooked on the series. Every time I want a good book I automatically think Dirk Pitt. Some people don't like the political intrigue in these books but I think it is one of the most fascinating things about them. That Clive Cussler can master so many characters is amazing. That there is always a different, yet the same, plot around all of his books is stunning. I like the fact that all the stories open up to almost the same scenes. A visit to the past to get some background info and then a whole new cast that are swept into danger and then....... Dun Dun Dun Dun, Dirk Pitt to the rescue. Yayyyy![*] This leads of course to a little romance, as most of the people he rescues are female. Mostly though this book is good action/adventure. Another thing that I think is a definite pro is the fact that we get the villians side of the story too. You get to clearly understand what goes through the evil guy's head and what his motives are, ect., ect., ect. This book is definitely a worthwhile addition to any Dirk Pitt fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Silly yet very entertaining, Feb. 9 2003
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
In the middle of the Peruvian Andes, adventurer Dirk Pitt rescues a group of academics that leads to a whirlwind adventure with Peruvian guerrillas and scheming villains in the Andean jungle and Mexico. Ultimately, there is a search for some lost legendary Incan treasure that pits the good guys with some real evil men.
Inca Gold is a run-of-the-mill silly adventure tale but still delivers an entertaining punch at all the right times. The tongue-in-cheek comments by the hero and the clichéd remarks by the villains all prove to provide the reader with a nice chuckle. There is enough local color and actual facts (the guerrilla army is an actual group in Peru) to keep the reader feeling as if they are there in the midst of the action. The occasional Inca history passages educate the reader enough to satisfy a superficial curiosity into that fascinating culture. The unfolding of the plot is nothing less than predictable but you will blitz through the story with a smirk all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inca Gold is a Treasure!, March 20 2002
By 
S. Brand "sandra807" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
I love stories that take me around the world to new and unusual locations, and to different periods of history. In this book, we begin with some mysterious strangers in 1532, on a journey along the coast of South America to hide their vast treasure from invaders. Then we move to 1578, when Sir Francis Drake captures Inca treasure, but a tidal wave washes it to shore where it settles deep into the jungle, hidden until the present time, when the treasure becomes the object of illegal dealers smuggling artifacts.
Enter our hero, Dirk Pitt, who stumbles across the path of these dangerous criminals just after he has saved a group of archaeologists from drowning while diving into the dark depths of an ancient sacrificial pool. From there, the excitement never stops!
In a contest with the smugglers, we plunge through the South American jungle, and journey north to American Indian territory in the southwest deserts of the United States. We get trapped underground, rushing through miles of a raging subterranean river, gasping for air with danger and death a constant threat! Dirk is challenged to bear up and hang on through incredible physical hardships. Realistically, no one could survive all these dangers and injuries, but miraculously, thanks to our ability to suspend belief, Dirk Pitt does, and we get to go on these wild adventures with him!
As an intelligent adult it's almost embarrassing to rate this a 5, seeing that so many other adult reviewers consider this book to be material for juveniles! So, please forgive my enchantment with this book...it was a crazy ride, and a great interlude in my normal diet of historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not Pitt's greatest adventure..., Nov. 8 2000
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
Let me first say that I am a die-hard Cussler fan. If his name is ON it, I'll BUY it, sight unseen, no problemo! I even wrote to Clive and he sent me a page of his hand-corrected manuscript for 'Inca Gold' which I treasure to this day, but let's be honest: this book, even though it's an amazing Pitt adventure, left me wanting a little more. I don't think I was ever able to put my finger on what exactly 'IT' was, but after reading a 2nd time, I felt the same way. I LOVED the beginning of 'Inca' and in particular Pitt's escape from the underground cavern, but there just seemed to be something missing. I'm sorry that I can't be more detailed than that. With that said, let me now tell you that even though something seemed to be missing, I STILL loved this story. I THINK my disappointment might have started back at the ending to 'Cyclops'. If you'll recall, at the end of that Pitt adventure, Dirk hints that one day he would search out the lost city of Gold in South America...well as you can now imagine, after seeing the title, 'Inca Gold' I felt that Clive had finally come around to Dirk going on that promised adventure. Of course this book isn't that at all. Either way a Dirk Pitt story is always jam-packed with supreme action on every page and a story that never once lag's or falls flat...'Inca Gold' is exactly that and more, a big, grand adventure told with gusto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inca Gold, Dec 13 1999
By 
Amanda (Putnam, CT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
Inca Gold Clive Cussler Archway Paper Back 1998 Dirk Pitt is a man that loves action. He is an officer on a marine ship. His best friends, Al Giordino and Dirk, arrive in Mexico were they hear the legend of the INCA GOLD. They soon set out on the journey of their lives. As they walk into the terrain of Canyon Ometepec, they find a map that supposedly shows an underground river that will lead them to the gold. As they walk to the X, Dirk falls into a trench were he finds the river and what looks like a Viking ship. Al calls down to him Òare you OK!Ó ÒYesÓ he replies, come down hereÓ Al lowers a rope. ÒThis must be the river,Ó Dirk replies with an astonished look on his face. They walk over to the ship and set sail. About half a mile down the river the boat hits some rapids and is tossed about like a rag doll. Then it docks on shore. Al and Dirk climb off the ship then two criminals jump out from behind a rock, grab the map and run! Can Dirk get to them before they get to the gold? This was a great book and I would encourage any young reader who like action, suspense and mystery to read Clive CusslerÕs Inca Gold. By Spencer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Infantile and silly, Dec 6 1999
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
I like action books. I am not averse to exaggerated plots and larger than life characters, as long as they are original and interesting, but Cussler has gone from bad to worse in this book where the characters and plot would be more at home in a comic book aimed at 12 year olds than in a novel for adults. Obviously Cussler knows something about the deeply unsatisfied adolescent that many adult males must carry around inside, because his books are popular with a lot of readers. I really don't get it, though. The plot is simplistic, the characters are two dimensional and the action is predictable. This stuff reminds me very much of the action serials that used to be shown in movie theatres between feature shows. These serials were composed of 15 minute episodes, each ending with impending doom for the main character, which, after the fact, he is shown to have easily avoided through either his own savy or lucky happenstance. The books is structured in a similar fashion, as though the reader won't realize soon that none of these crises really matter and that Dirk Pitt always transcends.
Also, these books speak to a lack of attention to language - both on the part of the author and his audience. No one speaks like this! How can people read it and not laugh out loud? No matter, the important point, obviously, is will Dirk Pitt get the treasure. The only difference from book to book is of what that 'treasure' consists. And, of course he will. Since we know that from the beginning, the only thing that could justify reading the book is if the way to the treasure was somehow really an interesting journey. But it isn't. It is all Warner Bros. back lot stuff and the joints that hold up the false fronts are always showing - if the reader is willing to look.
For adventure writing, give me Wilber Smith anyday. At least with him you don't automatically know in advance how (and what) the hero is going to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clive Cusslers' INCA GOLD, Dec 5 1999
This review is from: Inca Gold (Mass Market Paperback)
Clive Cussler has once again proved his talent as a storyteller in his book Inca Gold. The book does not waste any time grabbing the readers' attention due to Cussler throwing his infamous character Dirk Pitt into it. Pitt goes on a wild adventure that leads him from the highs of the Andes to the jungles of the Amazons all the way to an underground river in New Mexico. The plot centers around Pitt in a race with a wealthy art smuggling family named the Zolars to find "the golden chain of Huascar", a treasure buried by the Incas that is said to be worth so much that it would put King Tuts treasure to shame. The writing of this novel was well researched, adding to the overall effect the story had on the reader. Although it was fictional, Cussler made it as close to the real truth as he could. Some events needed to be changed (like the fact there was no hidden treasure of Huascar) because with out this event, there would have been no story. He also stayed pretty close to how actual Incan cultural was back in 1500's. Cusslers' strong cast of members including a congresswoman, an art detective, and two other adventure crazed friends of his. Clive Cussler even put himself in as a bartended in a little deserted highway diner who tells Pitt where the treasure is really hidden, as he believes. As each party searching for the lost treasure gets nearer, the Zolars start to get dirty by trying to kill Pitt and all of his companions and by also paying off the local government officials to look the other way while they kill Pitt and take all of the gold. In the end, the final contest is who is the smartest. Inca Gold is an extraordinary book that is impossible to put down. It was a detailed, well written book. Dirk Pitt never seems to stop, and as a result, neither does the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inca Gold
Inca Gold by Clive Cussler (Mass Market Paperback - March 1 1995)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews