Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good find in a hardcover
my paperback version has been read so many times it was falling apart. Very happy to find a hardcover version.
arrived quickly and in great shape. awesome series... still want more!
Published 12 months ago by trekkerkev

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Honor "Super Woman" Harrington does it again.
If you have read the previous novels, then you get the score. Honor Harrington is back in action leading a multi-national force, as the war with the Peoples Republic of Haven heats up. Honor is joined by some of her old friends from previous novels, namely Scotty Tremaine, Alistair Mckenon, and good ole' Harkness.
Reading about these wonderful characters again is a...
Published on Oct. 15 2002 by Dussan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good find in a hardcover, July 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
my paperback version has been read so many times it was falling apart. Very happy to find a hardcover version.
arrived quickly and in great shape. awesome series... still want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Honor "Super Woman" Harrington does it again., Oct. 15 2002
By 
Dussan (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
If you have read the previous novels, then you get the score. Honor Harrington is back in action leading a multi-national force, as the war with the Peoples Republic of Haven heats up. Honor is joined by some of her old friends from previous novels, namely Scotty Tremaine, Alistair Mckenon, and good ole' Harkness.
Reading about these wonderful characters again is a real treat.
Reading about Honor Harrington Super Woman, is getting to be a real pain.
In the beginning of this book, we see the Royal Manticoran Navy gearing up for a major offensive against the PRH. We get an inside look into further "Peep" politics, and future RMN weapons.
We also get a page after page of dialogue and character insights about Honor Harrington. From these insights we learn this about Honor Harrington. Since Basilisk Station Honor is the second highest ranking officer in the Grayson Navy (second most powerful fleet in the Manticoran Alliance). She is the most important political figure on Grayson. She is also a brilliant tactical officer (then again we already knew that), and something of a genius with strategic warfare since in Flag in Exile, after surviving a pinance crash and people trying to kill her she then has a sword fight with a master of the blade (and wins of course). After all that she then commands a small yet powerful fleet of Grayson ships to defeat a PRH fleet almost three times it's size. She does this with 1 hour of sleep mind you. Honor is the greatest martial artist in the RMN, and possibly the strongest and tallest human to ever exit. Then there is here knowledge about treecats, she apparently knows more about these creatures than any other person in the galaxy. And to top it all off she is quite beautiful (though she thinks she is ugly).
That in a nutshell is Honor Harrington. She is hot, she is tough, she can do everything anyone else can, only 4 times better. And everyone loves her for it because she is "modest".
Webster continues to write with that style for adventure, and while I rather liked Harrington in the outset, she is becomming a real trial to read. The woman can basically do anything to perfection and it's getting pretty darn annoying. Anytime someone mentions Harrington in the book, they go into almost a paragraph about how awesome she is. I have no real problem with that, but tone it down. I don't need to have every character in the universe go on and on about how great she is.
What is probably worst, is that she will often talk about how great she is. But will do so in a modest way and never out loud.
It's tiresome. I would love for nothing else than for another RMN female captain come up and kick the ...out of her then toss that damn 'cat Nimitz out of an airlock.
I don't mind her being good at being a captain, or being able to fight. But when she is beating the ... out of Marines, out thinking admirals, enough is enough.
This book is more of the same, with the exception of the cliffhanger ending.
Aside from Honor, the book is great. Good plot, and great action. And if you love Chief Harkness, you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Forester he ain't, Sept. 27 2002
This review is from: In Enemy Hands (Mass Market Paperback)
Weber had a couple of good books in him (<b>STRONGLY</b> recommend <i>On Basilisk Station</i>) that got pretty close to the Hornblower average... and then we have his later work. I have two major quarrels with his later novels. One, that silly tree-cat is getting more and more human and telepathic in each subsequent book and pretty soon, I expect Nimitz to be channelling the ghost of his namesake and directly advising Honor on naval strategy. Second, Honor is becoming darn near omnipotent and each and every Manticoran can whip ten times his/her weight in Peeps. If its Harkness, its 20 times. If its Harrington, 100 times. Literally. She's a heavy worlder and can beat anyone but the Fleet Champion in Butt Kicking... wait, she does beat him as well, doesn't she?
See, Weber, what makes the Hornblower books classics is that he was not a superman, unlike Superwoman Harrington in your later ones. And what is this fascination with her "contralto" voice and great looks (obvious to everyone else but her)?
And lets lay off the too obvious symbolism: for crying out loud, State Security. The 'good' naval regulars and the evil but incredibly stupid SS goons? We can't figure out for ourselves what is going on? Who the bad guys are? Stupid attempts to be clever are yet one more indicator of bad writing and a mediocre talent.
BTW, to those readers who think that the Peeps are supposed to be Nazi Germany, they aren't. In spite of the "SS" stupidities, the Peeps are the Soviets (with a bit of French 'Revolutionary Terror' thrown in) not the Nazis. The political commisars (although the Nazis also used them, they were nowhere as important as in the old Soviet system), the SS goons behavior, the overly regimented tactical doctrines, the low technological competence levels of Peep/SS troops, etc. Weber was just smart enough to come up with "State Security" to show to less intelligent readers who the bad guys are but obviously couldn't come up with something for KGB or NKVD.
I still buy the books--used--since they are better than most of the junk out there but Forester (or even Pournelle) he aint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... And you thought it couldnt get better!, Sept. 19 2002
By 
J. Files (Plano, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Enemy Hands (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is great! As with all of the books so far in this series, the beginning hundred or so pages are a little mundane while reading them. But without the background that they setup, and the emotional attachment that is their result, the remaining pages would never be so satisfying.
I have always been more into the marine aspect of the military than the navy, and this book, more that the others, has a bit more small arms fights. But who cares what the plot is... it's Honor Harrington--and she kicks some butt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A terrible disappointment, June 20 2000
This review is from: In Enemy Hands (Mass Market Paperback)
Very unlike David Weber. This book is incomplete. Most of Weber's work is both great, rollicking reading and literarily sound. Generally, if you open to the middle of one of his books you find the middle of the story it tells. Not so in In Enemy Hands. The center of this story is about 50 pages from the end, plus it doesn't so much end as simply stop. It reeks of "editor says print now, give me what you've got." DO NOT read this book unless you have the next one waiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This is a total disappointment, Nov. 30 1998
By A Customer
I love the Honor Harrington Books, but not this book. It realy left a bad taste in my mouth. Only the beginning and the end held anything good in this book. Bad enough that I had to return it so that seeing the book doesn't spoil my love of Honor Harrington.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best HH Since OBS, Jan. 27 2004
By 
This review is from: In Enemy Hands (Mass Market Paperback)
After the superb 'On Basilisk Station,' 'In Enemy Hands' is my favorite HH novel. As the war starts turning in Manticore's favor, Honor is captured by recurring Peep admiral Lester Tourville. Cordelia Ransom, Citizen Committeewoman for Public Information, takes Honor aboard her flagship and announces that Honor will be executed for the events of OBS (remember, she was tried in absentia in the PRH). The rest of the story follows our heroes (including old series favs like McKeon, Venizelos, Tremaine, and Harkness) and Honor aboard Ransom's battlecruiser as it voyages to the secret Peep prison known as Hell... and Honor's appointment with the gallows. A good deal of the story is in character interaction, showing how the various members of Honor's crew (and Honor herself) deal with the brutality of their State Security (SS--get it?) captors. There is, though, quite the battle in the end, by far my favorite action sequence in an HH book. Longtime fans might shed a few tears as some old friends don't make it out alive, but the experience is definitely rewarding. This book ends in something of a cliffhanger, so you'll want the next one, 'Echoes of Honor,' on-hand as soon as you finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Answer to the people getting annoyed with HH at this point, Dec 22 2003
By 
Ofer Kalifon (Jerusalem, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Enemy Hands (Mass Market Paperback)
Many people have complained that Weber is becoming increasingly annoying in the way he describes HH. Yes she seems to be Superwoman but she has quite a few flaws - the biggest of which is the moving element of this book's plot. She can't put herself first and that is why she runs away from Hamish and straight into the Peep's hands. We've always known about her temper is a source of weakness (as well as strength). She can't sing to save her life, she grew up thinking she was ugly (something that's very hard to get over even in adulthood) and she suck's at math. She might have lesser flaws than someone else but she has the advantages to go with them. Charisma, discipline, single minded determination, love for her work and a great deal of intelligence. People worship movie stars these days for far, far less - Can you blame a planet like Grayson for worshipping her.
This book was good, particularly because it shows that Honor is human. She's imprisoned and humiliated by SS troops that everybody says are to stupid to live. But remember what their job is - They're not supposed to fight the enemy outside, they're supposed to prevent the navy from launching "another" coup. Remember also that Weber has forever told us that the Peep education system sucks, so if you're going to recruit from the Dolist ranks watch dogs for the navy this is the best you can do.
My favorite part of this book is the point where Honor is removed from the action which allows her people to take the center stage for a change (like Harkness and Alastair). It also provides us with a better look into the enemy and it's officers. We learn things about the relationship between The Navy and the SS. We finally get to meet Cordelia Ransom and we revel at her untimely demise. And finally it sets the stage for future stories. This is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Parts were great, Sept. 6 2003
By 
Jason S Robinson (Ft. Worth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Enemy Hands (Mass Market Paperback)
There were parts of this book that were great and there were parts that dragged on for no reason except to bore the reader to death. This is the first book in the series that wasn't excellent (the next one isn't too hot either.)
Let me clear the air on what I liked and what I didn't. I like Honor and think she has been so far a great character. I don't like how every single person in the book idolizes her and thinks she is the best thing that has happens since space travel. She is coddled constantly and she acts as though it is her due. Also I am getting tired of Grayson. There is an entire universe to explore in these books and it always comes back to how special this planet is, how hard their people work compared to everyone else, how tough they are and how smart they are. Enough already Weber. We get it.
I do like how the Peeps are in this one a bit more and the political side of the war for them is explored in greater detail. (even though half the peeps seems to be starstruck by Honor as well and in love with her.....) The battles were also well done. I am going to read the 9th book Ashes of Victory and I seriously hope it is better that 7 and 8 and goes back to earlier themes and not this Honor can do no wrong theme that is currently bogging this series down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Enemy Hands, April 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: In Enemy Hands (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved it. I am an avid reader and I love reading any books written by David Weber. The character are almost alive in the books. It was fun reading this book. I could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Enemy Hands
In Enemy Hands by David Weber (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 15 1998)
CDN$ 8.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews