Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the show
If you're a fan of The Drew Carey Show, then you will love this book. Consider it a kind of extension of the show, only better, because in print, he isn't limited by censors. By his own admission, the book covers ground that he couldn't even begin to touch on air. This book is highly recommended for anyone who wants to know what the show really should have been like.
Published on April 28 2004 by Chris Frost

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Surprise
Most folks either love Carey or hate him, so if you don't care for his television show, you aren't likely to dig this book. That said, I'm a casual Carey fan and took a chance on the book after seeing him promote it in an interview. The first half is essentially monologue material--it ranges from funny to off-putting and is generally pretty good. The unique thing about...
Published on Sept. 7 2001 by Joe Lee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars If you could take crappy jokes and stale beer and somehow transform them into a book, this would be it, Dec 26 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This 'book' is downright awful. I read the book looking to learn about Drew's experience over the years - instead you get his non-stop whining about everything in life. He keeps talking about how he passed over using a ghostwriter - and it shows. The quality of writing is crummy. The book bounces around with no direction whatsoever. Even the revelation of him having gone through sexual abuse as a child is treated like an unnecessary diversions from the plethora of boring cliched and tired comedic bits strewn around the book. The only saving grace were the jokes at the beginning of each chapter - and Drew had nothing to do with those.

If you want to read a book that was written by someone going through adolescence, this would be it. Otherwise, there are far better books by other comedians (George Carlin, Gene Wilder, etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the show, April 28 2004
By 
Chris Frost (Ingalls, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're a fan of The Drew Carey Show, then you will love this book. Consider it a kind of extension of the show, only better, because in print, he isn't limited by censors. By his own admission, the book covers ground that he couldn't even begin to touch on air. This book is highly recommended for anyone who wants to know what the show really should have been like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carey does it again!, Dec 29 2003
By 
Justin (New Tripoli, PA) - See all my reviews
This book is great! Drew Carey's views on life express what we all think. From front to back this book is the one for you! It comes with jokes, stories of Drew's life, about his show, his teenager-hood, and even some pictures of Drew when he was little. If you like comedey and don't mind bad language, buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very limited appeal, Nov. 24 2003
By 
A. Vegan (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This is a collection of dirty jokes, short fiction and autobiographical tidbits will please some readers and offend most others. Drew Carey, a stand-up comic and star of his own TV show, writes mostly about sex, drinking, gambling, football and television. Four-letter words dominate this book, giving the book a definite adolescent, male tone. Carey makes note that the more offensive his material, the more popular he became. He also includes a sample of the negative reviews and letters he has received. Overall, this book has a very limited appeal and I don't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for this TYPE of Book, April 26 2003
By A Customer
I thought the book was great.. It was his first book and I thought it was pretty funny.. You should not expect this to be a piece of great literature but it is GREAT for what it is.. a comedian's life told by the comedian. I will buy another book written by Mr. Carey if he chooses to write one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars obsession, Feb. 9 2003
By 
tierney (mccall, idaho) - See all my reviews
i couldn't put this book down. i spent every spare second reading it. if u want to know about drew carey from drew carey, then read this book. it gives u insight to how drew thinks and is also somewhat inspiring. makes u want to be a better drew fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DIRTY JOKESAND BEER ROCKS!!!, Nov. 30 2002
By 
Kate (Milton Mills, NH, USA) - See all my reviews
This book rocks! I really loved it! I would recomend it to just about any one!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hands down the funniest book I've ever read., Dec 5 2001
By 
J. Turner (Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hands down, this is the funniest book I ever read. Carey has mixed jokes, personal stories, fiction and fact to form this unique book. The stories at the end of the book made me laugh for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Drew Carey can write? Yes he can!, Sept. 19 2001
By 
sporkdude "sporkdude" (San Jose, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This book is an interesting humor book. Part joke book, part biography, part short storeis. It's three short books combined into one. The first part is by the most hilarious. Just pure, uncensored hilarity. I got a great kick about how he made 101 jokes about how big one certain body part was.
The second part is not the best part, but it sheds some light on who Drew Carey is, and what the show is all about. It's not the highlight of the book, but even Drew Carey grudgingly admits he didn't want to put it in but felt obliged to.
The third part is suprisingly good. He writes about 4 short stories that, though not humorous, are interesting. It's classic blue collar literature. "Tackling Jim Brown" should by all means be considered a classic.
Check out the book, and you can show why Drew Carey has a highly rated show and is a great stand up comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Surprise, Sept. 7 2001
By 
Joe Lee (Brandon, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most folks either love Carey or hate him, so if you don't care for his television show, you aren't likely to dig this book. That said, I'm a casual Carey fan and took a chance on the book after seeing him promote it in an interview. The first half is essentially monologue material--it ranges from funny to off-putting and is generally pretty good. The unique thing about this book, however, is that Carey included five original short stories. While some have humorous moments, it's apparently an attempt to be taken seriously as a writer. The stories range from weird to interesting, and while none are outstanding, all are worth reading. All in all, a very satisfying purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc15be030)

This product

Dirty Jokes and Beer
Dirty Jokes and Beer by Drew Carey (Audio Cassette - Oct. 1 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews