Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on the fundamentals
Easy to read, and some real diamonds of insight throughout the book. It's easy to find what works for you, and easy to put it all together.
Published 2 months ago by S. White

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book - If you've got a Hook
This classic is an exceptional, readable, and all-encompassing study of the golf swing. I learned much about my swing studying this book. The only problem I encountered was none of the information was very relavant to me or the vast majority of golfers who suffer from a slice.
Ben Hogan had a strong hook and much of this book includes his corrections to overcome...
Published on June 28 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book - If you've got a Hook, June 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
This classic is an exceptional, readable, and all-encompassing study of the golf swing. I learned much about my swing studying this book. The only problem I encountered was none of the information was very relavant to me or the vast majority of golfers who suffer from a slice.
Ben Hogan had a strong hook and much of this book includes his corrections to overcome this deficit and straighten out his swing. However, for the slicer, these corrections do the opposite - my slice was worse than ever after following Hogan's advice and I couldn't correct it.
An excellent book, for starters or as a follow-on to Hogan's "Five Lessons", is Leadbetter's "The Fundamentals of Hogan". Leadbetter reviews the Hogan swing, then tells why it doesn't work for most (Hogan was double-jointed, Hogan was correcting his hook, etc.) and what you should really do. After Leadbetter, I did straighten out my swing.
Both books break the swing down into 5 parts: Grip, Stance, Backswing, Downswing, Summary.
While Hogan's book was groundbreaking and certainly deserves a read, if you want to learn a basic swing, Leadbetter's is far more encompassing and just as readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on the fundamentals, Feb. 3 2014
By 
S. White "Steve" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
Easy to read, and some real diamonds of insight throughout the book. It's easy to find what works for you, and easy to put it all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic master piece, Nov. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
The road to Ben Hogan's success mixed with his 5 fundamentals in golf swing is bringing my game to a new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR ANYONE WHO PLAYS GOLF., Sept. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
THIS IS A CLASSIC. ANYONE WHO PLAYS GOLF WILL BENEFIT FROM THESE EASY TO READ AND UNDERSTAND LESSONS. NO GIMMICKS, JUST THE FUNDAMENTALS REQUIRED TO PLAY GOLF SUCCESSFULLY. GREAT FOR KIDS PICKING UP THE GAME. WILL HELP ANYONE LEARN AND PRACTICE GOOD HABITS OF THE GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Sept. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
Ben fixed my hook! I struggled mightily with a hook last year and thanks to this book I can consistently hit a fade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Sept. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
I read this book twice now and can say without a doubt it has improved my game and swing substantially.
Ben takes great effort to make you understand the why you are doing the technique.easy to read, and easy to understand.
Great book, buy it you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classic golf instruction book, Aug. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
I have a small library of books about the golf swing. This is the best. Easy to read, easy to understand. As applicable today as it was when first written over 50 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding golf HOW TO, Aug. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
This may be from 1957 but the lessons are just as valid today. Very easy to understand and follow, unlike a lot of the incomprehensible advice about golf on the market. The visualization and art work is first class. A must for every golfer wanting to improve their game or learn from scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book in general, Aug. 16 2013
By 
cappafan (montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf (Paperback)
A good point to start.

Has a beginner golfer, this will definitively help to understand the basics.

Nice illustrations too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., Feb. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best golf books ever written. I read it once a year to tune-up swing faults. Every beginner golfer should read this book. It's worth about at least 6 paid lessons from a pro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb09052c4)

This product

Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf
Ben Hogan's Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf by Ben Hogan (Paperback - Sept. 20 1985)
CDN$ 16.00 CDN$ 11.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews