Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars You will HATE this woman after reading Ann Rule's book...
...like so many of the other reviewers have written, Pat Taylor Allanson is almost too bizarre to be a real person!!! She is the definition of selfish, evil, egocentric, spoiled, and trashy. The fact that she and her mother consider themselves to come from "good breeding" is laughable -- they are a family who, generation after generation, put on teenage...
Published on Feb. 28 2005 by K. Justice

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious at best
I have read many of Ann Rule's books and found them all compelling, informative and fascinating, except for this one. The story seemed to drag on and on, and could've easily been condensed into 20 pages and included in one of her Crime File Volumes instead. I carried this book around for over a month and only got 1/2 way through it before I skipped through the last...
Published on May 24 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars You will HATE this woman after reading Ann Rule's book..., Feb. 28 2005
By 
K. Justice "kellyjustice" (Meridian, Mississippi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
...like so many of the other reviewers have written, Pat Taylor Allanson is almost too bizarre to be a real person!!! She is the definition of selfish, evil, egocentric, spoiled, and trashy. The fact that she and her mother consider themselves to come from "good breeding" is laughable -- they are a family who, generation after generation, put on teenage shotgun weddings with what seems to be no shame at all...
This is one really selfish and blinded family -- save for the one daughter who bravely reveals the evil deeds of her mother (that, surprisingly, no one else seems to see though they seem blatantly obvious!!!)...
No, this is not Ann Rule's best, in my opinion (I will always be partial to "The Stranger Beside Me"), but despite other reviews, I would highly recommend it... It tells a winding and bizarre tale of a truly selfish and evil woman who will stop at nothing to get "everything she ever wanted", which appears to be the attention of everyone around her... She's pitiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quicksilver in the jaws of justice, Oct. 23 2002
By 
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
In "Everything She Ever Wanted" we are introduced to Patricia Vann Radcliffe Taylor Allanson, a woman fixated on emulating her role-model Scarlett O'Hara, a modern-day refined southern belle of infinite selfishness and a complete lack of remorse or empathy, devoid of conscience and incapable of love for anyone or anything save for herself, in search of her paradisaic "Tara".

While some have mistaken this as a story of a freak, it is quite the opposite - a tale of a clever, stubborn, adorable spoiled child whose submersion in unmitigated gratification and complete lack of disciplinary boundaries during her formative years turned the Shirley-Temple dream child into the Jekyll/Hyde adult. Do I recall that Pat Taylor Allanson served as the model for Caleb Carr's cold-blooded, manipulative, and realistic if fictional "Libby" in his chilling classic "Angel of Darkness"? If she didn't, she certainly could have.

The tale of a monster? Perhaps, but a common monster, one that breeds and multiplies and festers in the milieu of our modern society, that arises again and again, in ever more resistant strains, to test the limits of our enfeebled enforcement and justice systems.

Ms. Rule adroitly demonstrates the chameleon nature of the sociopath, the quicksilver-like ability to evade culpability and responsibility, while churning a carnage-laden path of ruined lives and festering emotional trauma through the lives of those who love them. We sense the frustration of a legal system than can never adequately resolve those crimes against the innocent which ultimately only a higher power can fully and fairly address, as is acknowledged in the novel's concluding and ironic axiom.

A fascinating read (I read it in about 3 long sittings) for those willing to wade into the restricting mire of non-idyllic reality far removed from Hollywood fantsies of quick revenge and violent retribution. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Hint of A Sequel??, March 28 2001
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
"Everything She Ever Wanted" stands out among the 8 Ann Rule books I have read to date. It is not the most suspenseful or most interesting. It is not set in an especially attractive locale or does not introduce compelling characters.It DOES have Pat Taylor/Allanson. To me, she is the lowest of the low,including that sicko from "Lust Killer". One has to complete all 500+ pages to appreciate how bad/evil/manipulative this woman is. Husbands, children and family mean absolutely nothing to Pat as she schemes her way through life. The title is a bit of a tease, since it was not exactly clear just want Pat "wanted" so badly or if she will ever achieve it. "ESEW" is lengthy by necessity because Pat casts a wide net with her behavior. There is a plethora of children,family members,spouses, cops, defense attorneys, district attorneys and innocent bystanders drawn into the maelstrom surrounding her. This point demonstrates the tale's only weakness. It's too long! I believe the author could have drawn the reader into the plot quicker. With so many "main" characters, some of the minor ones could have been deleted entirely or had their roles abbreviated. I almost put "ESEW" away before being drawn into the same maelstrom mentioned above. Apart from this, the book is definitely recommended. Ann Rule fans need not think twice. New readers may wish to start with the briefer "Lust Killer" or perhaps "I-5 Killer" before tackling the longer fare here. On a positive note, I was inspired by the very real characters of Tom and Susan. They battled back! More power to them. Also, my compliments to two previous reviewers: "Sarbery" observed that owning a few horses doesn't make a Souhern family "refined". Good one!. Another observant reviewer noticed the photographic changes in Susan as the plot thickened. All the more reason NOT to read those pesky centerfold photos (or the back cover!) until the end.Of all A.R.s efforts, I sense a possible sequel here. Have we or haven't we heard the last of Pat?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Hint of A Sequel??, March 28 2001
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
"Everything She Ever Wanted" stands out among the 8 Ann Rule books I have read to date. It is not the most suspenseful or most interesting. It is not set in an especially attractive locale or does not introduce compelling characters.It DOES have Pat Taylor/Allanson. To me, she is the lowest of the low,including that sicko from "Lust Killer". One has to complete all 500+ pages to appreciate how bad/evil/manipulative this woman is. Husbands, children and family mean absolutely nothing to Pat as she schemes her way through life. The title is a bit of a tease, since it was not exactly clear just want Pat "wanted" so badly or if she will ever achieve it. "ESEW" is lengthy by necessity because Pat casts a wide net with her behavior. There is a plethora of children,family members,spouses, cops, defense attorneys, district attorneys and innocent bystanders drawn into the maelstrom surrounding her. This point demonstrates the tale's only weakness. It's too long! I believe the author could have drawn the reader into the plot quicker. With so many "main" characters, some of the minor ones could have been deleted entirely or had their roles abbreviated. I almost put "ESEW" away before being drawn into the same maelstrom mentioned above. Apart from this, the book is definitely recommended. Ann Rule fans need not think twice. New readers may wish to start with the briefer "Lust Killer" or perhaps "I-5 Killer" before tackling the longer fare here. On a positive note, I was inspired by the very real characters of Tom and Susan. They battled back! More power to them. Also, my compliments to two previous reviewers: "Sarbery" observed that owning a few horses doesn't make a Souhern family "refined". Good one!. Another observant reviewer noticed the photographic changes in Susan as the plot thickened. All the more reason NOT to read those pesky centerfold photos (or the back cover!) until the end.Of all A.R.s efforts, I sense a possible sequel here. Have we or haven't we heard the last of Pat?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A steel magnolia!, May 23 2000
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
Pat Allanson liked to think of herself as a modern day Scarlett O'Hara, and it's true that she and Scarlett did share some characteristics - seductiveness, flirtatiousness and charm, but Pat had none of Scarlett's extraordinary strength or backbone. Instead, she was, and remains, a self centred sociopath who would do anything and destroy anybody who obstructed her from gaining whatever she wanted.
Fifteen years of her husband Tom's life, her daughter's health, and for her victims, precious time with their loved ones were sacrificed to the greed of this antisocial woman, who, thanks to her too kind upbringing and lack of parental discipline, thought that she was entitled to "everything she ever wanted" without once thinking about the repercussions of her actions on other people.
If this story was to be presented as fiction, it would be dismissed as being the product of an author's sick and twisted imagination, but Ann Rule proves in this extraordinary book that it is not imaginations which are sick and twisted, but what truly IS twisted, sick and utterly incomprehensible is the malignant mind of a sociopath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating Ann Rule story of the ultimate sociopath, April 17 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
The most horrific, conniving, controlling, murderous, childish, sick person I have ever read about. Ann Rule is excellent in plotting the story of a truly heinous pathetic soul as Pat. Her enabling, sad parents and family members are to also be responsible for allowing such appalling behavior to continue. Pat would destroy anyone who was in her way, including her own children and grandchildren. There was absolutely no one who was exempt. The pain caused to her own parents was another devious act. She would keep her imprisoned husband from his only family; she would keep a small son from his sick mother (Pat's daughter); she would keep a dying old man from his beloved wife. etc. After serving prison time, and released, it was shocking to learn that she would include one of her daughters into her life of crime and deceit AGAIN. But fortunately, one daughter had the tenacity and courage to report her back to authorities. Family members become enablers and someone should have stopped her long ago, before innocent people are hurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was stunned by the shocking end to a fairy tale life., April 2 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
This story revolves around Pat, the beloved daughter of well-to-do Colonel and Mrs. Radcliffe and the cherished wife of handsome, devoted, hard working Tom Allanson. Pat lives the fairy tale life of Scarlet O'hara near Atlanta, Georgia complete with plantation estate, horses and her caring family near-by. However, all this was not enough for Pat. She feigned fainting spells to get attention, used her charms to manipulate Tom and others to do her bidding and pretended to be a lady when in fact she was a cold-hearted, coniving demon. It all reads like a Harlequin novel, until the reader comes to the centerfold and views the photographs of Pat and Tom's real-life families, and the prison photos of Pat and Tom taken at the Fulton County jail and Jackson Prison, respectively. The richly detailed account of what brought Tom to commit murder, and Pat to commit aggravated assault with intent to murder gives this novel a high rating. Talented Anne Rule deftly describes the true life drama of Pat and Tom, their deceptive and nerotic co-dependancy, and desperation for approval and control. This is a story of how a potentially good life went terribly wrong. The full explanation of Pat and Tom's behaviors are not revealed until the final pages of the book. In the "Afterward" Pat's psychological condition of "Munchausen Syndrome" is explained. In the "Update" an episode of Tom's boyhood relationship with his dominating and demeaning father is revealed. It is not until all the pieces of this tragedy are told, that the full story of damaged lives caused by Pat's psychological illness is understood. Learning about this form of destructive psychological behavior makes "Everything She Ever Wanted" an important read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hardly a "Nice Southern Family", May 18 1998
By 
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
I have just finished the book, and although I thoroughly enjoyed it, I have to disagree with Ann Rule's description of the characters as people from fine, southern families. These are and were common, low class, trashy people. They would be less than "nobodys" in any town, much less an old southern town. The story was intriguing, but misleading. These people would be the equivolent of "Jerry Springer" guests. Since when does a military background characterize one as "fine?" If you readers could see the actual locations in which these events took place, now AND then, it would not be hard to understand my point. And what "refined, Southern family" has multiple women bearing children out of wedlock before the age of 15? Puuuullleaze! The people depicted in this book are common trash, which is fine. But let's not mistake people who own a few horses and who purchase some land in an undesirable location as lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great One by Ann Rule, Aug. 8 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
Ann Rule never disappoints me! This book spans some 20 years, telling the story of how two families came together in a Gone-With-The-Wind marriage that left some family members dead, and others nearly dead or with ruined lives. Usually I can get the gist of the story by reading the captions under the pictures in the middle of the book, but not this one. Pat Allanson's husband is convicted of murdering his parents, but you don't quite know until the end whether he really did it. Pat tries to kill her husband's grandparents, the book takes you through the trial and conviction, but there are still hundreds of pages left to read! Pat Allanson just doesn't know when to quit! You won't believe how she (and her family) treats her daughter, how she thought she could get away with more attempted murders, and how many lives she could ruin. I just wish Susan would have been tested for poison, and I wish her and her children all the best for having the guts it took to do what she did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pat Allanson a spoiled brat her entire life, Feb. 1 2003
By 
Terry M. Callen (Gloucester City, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything She Ever Wanted (Mass Market Paperback)
I can't much improve on the one review where the fellow who wrote it said he wish he could've reached into the book and strangled Pat Allanson.
This sociopath was never made to face reality. But, then again, her mother indulged in illusion. Marguerite had three illegitimate children before she was 20 years old by a married man, but acted as if she was this paragon of virtue and looked down her nose at everyone else. Meanwhile, her precious daughter, who drove her own brother to suicide, is ruining lives right and left.
I think the entire family was nuts and if Pat Allanson got the opportunity she would just repeat her past conduct because she knows her family...save the only sane member, her daughter, Susan...will continue to defend her and cover up for her!
Heaven preserve us from people who think they are entitled to everything they want and don't care who they run over to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everything She Ever Wanted
Everything She Ever Wanted by Ann Rule (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 1 1993)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews