Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sorrowful and Meaningful
The author did an incredible job of covering what Gia Carangi's life was like, who she knew, and how they affected her. More often than not, we discover just how she affected them. It is tragic and dreamy and it helps the average girl understand why modelling can be such an emotionally and mentally tolling job. That is is not just all lights and glamour and...
Published 12 months ago by Samantha K Krewulak

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This Book Should Be a Mystery
I read, loved, and hated, this book. It was very painful for me to read. I initally purchased it because I have family members who have ties to heroin and so I wanted an inside peek into this secretive world. Well, this book gave me that peek, however, it still didn't supply my need to understand "why".
Gia's life seemed very typical to me; it was...
Published on March 24 2001 by M. J Pronio


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sorrowful and Meaningful, July 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
The author did an incredible job of covering what Gia Carangi's life was like, who she knew, and how they affected her. More often than not, we discover just how she affected them. It is tragic and dreamy and it helps the average girl understand why modelling can be such an emotionally and mentally tolling job. That is is not just all lights and glamour and adoration... and when your own light goes out, the party keeps going without you. However, some people will be remembered - like Gia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, Dec 17 2010
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
Found this book for my wife.. order it and it was shipped quite quickly.. when the time comes i will buy here again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the movie, June 4 2009
By 
J. Konanz (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
Anyone who has seen the movie Gia with Angelina Jolie might be expecting something a little more scandalous. This is what I appreciate about the book though, as it covers a lot of other things like the earlier part of Gia's life instead of focusing solely on the sex and drugs as the movie does. Easy read, overall enjoyable and very interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
This story is completely absorbing. Gia's life was so interesting, out of the ordinary & so sad. This is the story of one of the most beautiful, daring, experimental, unafraid & unpredictable models of all time. It is also the story of a sad, emotionally injured girl who's life could have been wonderful but instead became a short trip to the grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, May 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was truly a dedication to the late great & wonderful Gia. Stephen captured the passion and carefree attitude that was Gia. If you are interested in her life and the lives of models in the late seventies, this is a great read. After you read this you'll be fascinated with her life & your next stop will be blockbuster, to rent the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, April 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
This book really went into depth about the life of Gia. The author did a great job painting a beautiful picture of a gorgeous woman who rose to fame overnight and vanished in a blink of an eye.
Gia didn't really have a strong woman figure in her life, until she met Wilhemina. Once Wilhemina die, Gia lost her soul.
This novel is inspiring, heart-breaking, dark and touching. It really shows how you can have all the success and money in the world but it doesn't buy happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustively Researched...., Nov. 5 2003
By 
P (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the book that launched my interest in Gia. Stephen Fried compiles an unbelievable amout of research and creates a necessary book, particularly for young people.
However, "Tragedy" portrays just the surface of Gia. I finished reading the book not really able to imagine how the real person must have been. The book chronicles the fashion world of that time period, and at times creates much more vivid portraits of supporting figures in Gia's life than of Gia herself.
"Why" is the unanswered question here: why was Gia the way she was? I don't understand how life's everyday traumas (which most of us can experience and handle normally) could propel Gia to destroy her life. She made it to a place that millions dream of, and squandered it so swiftly and horrifically. I think it's a cop-out to blame most of Gia's behavior on the mother, though "Mom" seemed to have a particular preoccupation with herself and her own material gain. This was a disadvantage to the kids, who could have been more, shall we say, properly guided during their younger years.
I found the workings and anecdotes of the fashion industry completely fascinating thanks to Fried's exhaustive research. However, I am critical of the author's numerous shots at The Reagans, which came across as transparent, patronizing propaganda.
All criticism aside, this is must-read material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too Much and Not Enough, Aug. 24 2002
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
This isn't the story of Gia's life whereas she never had much of a life...she was used as a doll to vicariously live through by her mother, she used others to fulfill the love she so desperately craved-and couldn't give herself-and was used by an industry that cared less if it's workers lived/died/whatever, as evidenced by the (non)reactions to her death.
Gia deserved better than this, we all do, it's a pity that people (mentioned in the book, not the readers) are more interested in knowing the real person posthumously than they were when she was alive, breathing, and searching for love, a place to belong, and a way to achieve inner beauty.
If anything, this is more a cautionary tale about dysfunctional family life and it's effect on young, growing children rather than a warning about the fashion industry, more of us probably fall into the former category rather than under the label "supermodel."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, Aug. 5 2002
By 
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this book was a great read, unfortunatlly Gia is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A girl made of stardust, May 27 2002
By 
This review is from: Thing of Beauty (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is basically the only sound source on Gia Carangi, except a few documentaries aired on American television and a few websites. As the only book exclusively on her, even though as has been previously mentioned, the book deals with rather ridiculous fashion industry issues, it deserves a great deal of credit.
I don't think that the fashion industry per se had anything to do with Gia's tragedy, we should instead doubt her taste in friends and lovers. But most of all, she was for some reson incredibly susceptible to heroin, and that is the true source of her misery. Chances are that Gia was manic depressive with a great deal of mania thrown in there, and received great relief from this sedating/seductive drug.
To my thinking - absolutely nobody - not even Marilyn Monroe herself could compare to this outstandingly beautiful woman. She should have been an actress, definitely, and I'm surprised that nobody seems to have taken her on for such a project. Perhaps her being a lesbian (and less interested in convincing directors) and a rebel prevented her from this. Perhaps she wasn't interested. She did say in one "interview"/home-made movie with a very stoned twitching Gia, that she wanted to "make a big splash in scenography".
Take home message: This book is adequately well-written, deals with fashion industry in a simplistic way but despite this it's great because it's got pictures of Gia in it as well as some good research on her life. One thing would be better than this: A compilation of Gia photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thing of Beauty
Thing of Beauty by Stephen Fried (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 1994)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews