Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I've read on public speaking
As a member of Toastmasters I have access to a wide variety of materials and seminars on public speaking. However, this one book covered more material in less space and in easier terms than all the seminars I've attended. His style is not that of a college textbook - if it were I wouldn't have read it. His style is straight from the hip. I consider this book to be my...
Published on May 16 2000 by John Wyatt

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good examples - no index
Public speaking in narrative form. Lots of stories and examples from Lincoln to businessmen in 1969. Interesting to read. No index, not user-friendly as a resource.
Published on Aug. 9 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I've read on public speaking, May 16 2000
By 
John Wyatt (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
As a member of Toastmasters I have access to a wide variety of materials and seminars on public speaking. However, this one book covered more material in less space and in easier terms than all the seminars I've attended. His style is not that of a college textbook - if it were I wouldn't have read it. His style is straight from the hip. I consider this book to be my textbook, with Toastmasters providing the chance to practice what I've read. This book has done more to improve my speeches than the formal Toastmaster's evaluations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide to Effective Public Speaking, July 20 2003
By 
Rich M. (Union, KY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
Dale Carnegie, the author of "How to Win Friends and Influence People" again provides the keys to success in an area that challenges many of us. This well-written book discusses not only speaking effectively in front of large audiences, but also in front of smaller groups, such as at work. Effective speaking is important in any field of endeavor, and this book will help to achieve this capability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Guidelines For Specking, March 27 2013
By 
Patrick Sullivan (Kingston, Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a great resource, for anyone looking to improve their public specking skills. Carnegie explains things in an easy straight forward manner. There are also all sorts of examples and comments, from various historical figures. Many of the people cited in the book, existed in the 19th century. Abraham Lincoln is one example. Some people may find this sort of reference, to be somewhat dated. Many others will soon realize, that public specking is a timeless skill.

The goal of the book is to sharpen the individual`s ability to communicate. This not only applies to public specking, but many other areas as well. Carnegie bases his lessons on hard fought experience. These are not theoretical ideas.

There are a couple of drawbacks to the book. An index would certainly help for future references. The book itself, is also a small size pocket book. It is therefore difficult, to make notes in the margin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Going to Read Only One Book on Speaking�This is it., Dec 22 2000
By 
"ronlv" (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
The book has been reworked so may times and improved by the experiences of the Dale Carnegie Organization. That is what makes this book so good. This last revision by Dorothy Carnegie based on Mr. Carnegie's notes and plans is benefited by a strong editorial approach. The most important persistent advise is to talk about things you care about and are extremely knowledgeable about. Be excited about the subject or pick a new topic. Find every opportunity to speak and prepare for each one as a major opportunity. It tells how to limit your subject so that you have time to fill in the details that make it a winning talk. It guides you on how to personalize the speech and use words that have impact. The easy introduction to the methods of studying and understanding your audience are very important. It makes a good start on the field of audience participation. This book provides excellent advise on rehearsal.
This book along with every other speaking book drives home the point that there is no such thing as a good impromptu talk unless you were very lucky. In reality you work on subjects and material with a plan to use it at some future time. When you are speaking there are many things to watch. If you speak impromptu on a new subject some thing is going to suffer.
Introducing a speaker or presenting an award seems to stimulate reckless behavior much like the cutting desire to hurt people of newscasters. This book explains why this behavior is so short sighted.
Having read a Dale Carnegie book decades ago, I put off reading this book for fear it would be full of positive thinking dribble. This book is completely straight forward in style. It is in textbook format, but it is extremely easy too read. The examples of actual students and successful speakers get a little shallow sometimes. The outstanding thumbnail review of each part of the book is very helpful. I have read 21 books on public speaking. Right now this book is my leading candidate for someone that is only interested in reading one book on public speaking. It just happens to be a very low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding reference book, May 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
I read and shop for a lot of self improvement books. I must say that this book is absolutely outstanding. Easy read. It will serve as as book for future reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Book, Feb. 17 2004
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
This book by Dale Carnegie is one of the classic books written on public speaking. Anyone interested in public speaking should include this book in their library. My book, "10 Days to More Confident Public Speaking" (Warner Books) would not have been written without the inspiration I received from Dale Carnegie's book years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What can I say!, July 2 2003
By 
"mous333" (Labuan, Federal Territory Malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
I never took up any efective speaking book before. This would be my first. It has been very helpful and comes with examples that really boost your confidence. They let you see the bad, let you feel the good. Then you'll know what to follow and what not to. Recommended for shy speakers. -)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic work By Dale Carnegie, March 4 2003
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
This book represents one of the classics works by Dale Carengie and should be in every speaker's library. As a professional speaker my self, I had an opporuntity many years ago to take one of the popular Dale Carnegie courses and this book brings much of that information to you.
Lenny Laskowski, Author
"10 Days to More Confident Public Speaking" (Warner Books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leadership for the average person., Feb. 27 2003
By 
Robert B. Makinson "Robert B. Makinson" (Brooklyn New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
How to Win Friends etc. will probably always outsell this one. But the former book you can always practice with your family, neighbors and co-workers one at a time. With "The Quick Easy Way to Effective Speaking" you have to face the crowd, which is more difficult. This book seems to be an updated revision of a book on public speaking by Mr. Carnegie which was written long before. Dale Carnegie died in 1955, and for the previous 40 years of his life, through his classes and through his writings, he was a great courage teacher for the average person, and his spirit still flows strongly through his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for people having stage fright, May 12 2002
By 
Ankesh A. Kothari (Mumbai, India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking (Mass Market Paperback)
I was a very introvert person before I read this book. I used to shake if I had to speak in front of a big gathering. But after reading this book, I can face any crowd any moment. It has really boosted my confidence. The best public speaking book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc01302c4)

This product

The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking
The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking by Dorothy Carnegie (Mass Market Paperback - March 1 1990)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews