Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Becoming Impeccable
"Fire From Within" is one of two most memorable books (with the second being The Active Side of Infinity) by Carlos Castaneda that I have ever read, as ideas from this book that can be utilized for everyday life, such as "petty tyrant" and being "impeccable." This book contains profound lessons to learn in our world.

Face the petty tyrant in everyday life and...
Published on April 29 2008 by Zadius Sky

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Please
For those who might still suppose that Castaneda was actually recording his experiences with a Yaqui man of knowledge, read this one. If you still think so, I have a bridge I'd like to offer for your consideration. The original (The Teachings of Don Juan) was, at very least, a masterful ruse, and perhaps exactly what it purported to be. By The Fire From Within, the...
Published on Dec 20 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Becoming Impeccable, April 29 2008
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
"Fire From Within" is one of two most memorable books (with the second being The Active Side of Infinity) by Carlos Castaneda that I have ever read, as ideas from this book that can be utilized for everyday life, such as "petty tyrant" and being "impeccable." This book contains profound lessons to learn in our world.

Face the petty tyrant in everyday life and you will face the unknown.

It is not the question of whether or not this book is fiction, but it is the idea(s) that stem from this book and others that can have such impact on our lives and how we deal with other people. These ideas seem to be traced back to ancient philosophies to which they were currently being ignored but they are crucial for today's world.

Most highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Halographic Universe, April 25 2003
By 
K. Briggs "yeshe-lhamo" (Charlottesville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
This is my favorite Castanenda book, and I have read almost all of them. Please skip my following justification for these books if you are already a fan: Regardless of how one feels about the New Age movement, it is clear that, as Einstein observed, "Whoever undertakes to set himself up as a judge of Truth and Knowledge is shipwrecked by the laughter of the gods." Reading Castaneda gave me an appreciation for people who take seriously the complexities of the mind, the universe and their infinite dance. Castaneda, in this book, seems ready to acknowledge that the fact of other ways of perceiving the world seems to mean that there are rational and non-rational ways which intertwine with eachother.
Having said that, Castaneda lovers will enjoy the many characters, stories and esoteric teachings that really coalesce in this book unlike in any other. We finally understand who La Catalina really is; we go deeper into the teachings on the Eagle; we get to here more about the interplay between Don Juan and Don Genaro, and we see Carlos opening up a bit too. It was not until I read this book that I realized how hard it was for Carlos to lose his "self-importance," and what a difficult task this is. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A SYNTHESIS OF THE TEACHINGS TOUCHED UPON IN PREVIOUS WORKS, June 5 2002
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
I have read all of Castaneda's books and this is the one that I would recommend for those who wish to get a broad and clear overview of the Warrior's Way. In this book, Castaneda has finally come to terms with his often bizarre and terrifying experiences. We hear the voice of a more mature and sober Castaneda, unencumbered by doubts and the preconceptions characteristic of Western culture. Castaneda's earlier books were filled with these doubts and preconceptions and it was a relief for me to have the teachings of Don Juan presented without them. This book synthesizes all of the teachings touched upon in earlier works and adds to them, a breath taking energetic description of the Universe.
One major reason for the huge difference in the tone of this book is that it contains the teachings revealed to Castaneda while he was in a state of heigthened awareness as opposed to what was described in his earlier books. The earlier books describe what he was taught while in the awareness of everyday life. Because one is more capable of absorbing higher truths while in heightened awareness, the teachings described in this book are clearer, more direct, more complete and more profound that those described in the earlier books. In order for Castaneda to retrieve these teachings, he had to evolve energetically and learn to induce a state of heightened awareness on his own, without Don Juan's help. This major difference in tone has lead Castaneda's critics to believe that Castaneda was a fraud. It is a misconception due to the fact that these critics for the most part have no knowledge or experience of states of heightened awareness and do not acknowledge that such states are possible.
I highly recommend this book- read, enjoy, open your mind!! Also recommended 1) The Active Side of Infinity- Carlos Castaneda, 2) The Path- Esmeralda Arana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Please, Dec 20 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
For those who might still suppose that Castaneda was actually recording his experiences with a Yaqui man of knowledge, read this one. If you still think so, I have a bridge I'd like to offer for your consideration. The original (The Teachings of Don Juan) was, at very least, a masterful ruse, and perhaps exactly what it purported to be. By The Fire From Within, the cagey old Yaqui speaks like a college-educated gentleman who's read too many Don Juan books. Every chapter starts out with a sentence or two to set the scene before going into an impossibly detailed, word-for-word description of numbingly intricate theories of how to manipulate "emanations" and "assemblage points," punctuated by the obligatory belly-laughs from Don Genaro and Don Juan at poor Carlos's expense, and the bizarre hallucinatory stuff -- you kow the formula. It's a caricature. I truly wonder if even Castaneda wrote it, rather than some ghost-writer.
That's not to say that such a work can't contain wisdom; it makes little difference whether the voice is Castaneda's, Don Juan's, or some hack's. And there's some stuff in there, if you want to wring it out. But why bother? It's not nearly as entertaining a work of fiction as countless other books, and if you really want practical guidance, there's precious little of it here. Stay awake, and stop looking for shortcuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fire Rekindled: "unquenching curiosity and guts galore", Jan. 22 2000
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
"One of the great maneuvers of stalkers is to pit the mystery against the stupidity in all of us."--Don Juan . . . The best book of a masterful author. In the fiction/nonfiction controversy, I lean toward fiction, but with the caution that these fictional stories are being used to demonstrate great truths. If anything, seeing the books as fiction makes Castaneda seem greater. Who else has written this many books, without plots of murder, war, or romance, that grip the reader the way these do? Not only are we gripped, but our minds are being changed. We can almost feel the chemical soup in our braincases being altered as we experience these tales. The device of the bone-headed Carlos is ingenious, putting us on the side of the seemingly rational, but actually post-rational Juan. The most amazing thing to me has been the way the lessons in this book have become my companions, helping me to live my life more fully and with greater awareness. It provides a new way to look at the feelings and impressions we all struggle with, reminding us that we and our lives are unique and powerful, that sobriety and self-containment are paradoxically the path to the mystery and the magic. This book is full of laughs, creepy stories, new concepts, and terms that you may not grasp until one day months or years later when something happens, and you realize "This is what he meant!" Everytime I reread part of it, I feel that fire within me rise and flicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic text on awareness, Sept. 6 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
I have read this book at least 15 times, finding it to be a classic of spirituality, both ancient and modern. Unlike Castaneda's earlier works, FFW is the first in which the structure of Don Juan's teaching methods becomes clear. Hence FFW reads like a textbook of stories about advanced spiritual practice.

It is a curious hallmark of Castaneda's work that, as with a sitcom, the reader often feels he knows more, and might have made better judgements, than the lead character. But the tasks are transformations of essence, not of mind or feeling, so Carlos' lack of comprehension is irrelevant. What counts is his ability to handle the excercises of transcendance.

Many important questions remain unresolved, such as whether the quest for immortality (freedom) is merely another form of materialism, or just how different Don Juan's brand of transcendance is from other paths to spiritual development.

IMHO, the scene in which Carlos and Don Juan visit the tomb of the ancient sorcerers, ghouls who have remained alive for 2000 years, and then laugh it off, is one of the finest moments in all of Western Literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going even deeper inside the secret, Feb. 21 2000
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
This book is the 1st that is regarding Castaneda`s experiences beyond ordinary life in a clear and powerful way. It gave me a lot of material to think about and mainly to achieve. I am sure Don Juan and Genaro were deadly right when saying it tooks all of one`s life to become a true warrior and seer but it pays off. Here we are confronted with abstract explanations in a very concise and complete way but they can be verified only if the person has followed the premises and achieved real results - the most difficult thing of all. Everyone can think, judge, blame, gush, etc. But all that matters is action. The one who makes it will see it truely - otherwise it will be just another interpretation to consolidate our self-assurance but it will lead us nowhere. So act, don`t think! - understanding will come years later and thinking won`t have anything to do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fire from Within, Jan. 13 2001
By 
Jeff Nova (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
This book rejuvenates the series; if you have grown weary and feel Carlos is simply repeating himself and are not sure whether to pick this one up -- think again! This book is second only to JOURNEY TO IXTLAN in its poetic, spiritual beauty and spirit of shared insight. THE FIRE FROM WITHIN addresses the role of our perceptual mechanisms and cultural upbinging in creating what we call reality in a practical, almost scientific way that is far more specific and detailed than in prior works.
Carlos is easily the best person at saying what cannot be said, at dancing around the fire of unspeakable truth, at pointing us in the direction that cannot be pointed, who has ever lived. He balances poetry and philosophy in a way that is truly uplifting, and this work is one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another level of the onion, Sept. 30 1999
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
Carlos Castaneda continues a new round of explicating and evoking his apprenticeship with Don Juan, a Yaqui Indian who has attained the highest possible level of development possible to man by becoming a man of knowledge or a seer. He continues to present his transcendent vision to Carlos who continues to pit his puny rationality with less and less conviction as he is overwhelmed by one experience after the other of a separate reality and to the inescapable fact that the human socialized idea of the world is just that, an idea, which we live in and which comforts us but also imprisons our awareness and bores us to death, when it's not making us miserable. As the I Ching says (another transcendent book), "Prisons must not become dwelling places."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for showing us the way, Carlos!, Jan. 9 1998
By 
This review is from: Fire from Within (Paperback)
I have always felt that there is something more to life (and death). I'm sure that there are beings capable of cheating death. However, the only thing that you can take with you is your awareness. Most of us don't have a clue about the possibilities of man. I have turned my life around with these beliefs. I probably won't be much of a snack for the Eagle. But I will enjoy a better life than most. Thanks agian, Carlos, for giving up your normal life so that you could help a few of us see the light! You had to stay behind to document a very important way of life. Fiction? I think NOT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire from Within
Fire from Within by Carlos Castaneda (Paperback - Jan. 1 1991)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews