Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carnegie's done it again
It seems like such a silly thing to have to read a book on how to stop worrying, but trust me; you'll never learn as much any other way. Once again, Dale Carnegie proves to be the expert on self-motivation. Certainly this book won't cure you, but it will give you advice and insight on the better life you should be leading. A remarkably easy read. I do have one problem...
Published on March 23 2003 by Kent

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not indispensible
How to Stop Worrying and Start Living was written for those who often forget about today and think about tomorrow. Even though it was written some time ago, the advice given in this book can still be useful to anyone who aspires to live a joyful life.

Worry can take many forms: insomnia, difficulties to concentrate, symptoms of sickness. The message in this...
Published on April 20 2008 by B. Piché


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carnegie's done it again, March 23 2003
This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
It seems like such a silly thing to have to read a book on how to stop worrying, but trust me; you'll never learn as much any other way. Once again, Dale Carnegie proves to be the expert on self-motivation. Certainly this book won't cure you, but it will give you advice and insight on the better life you should be leading. A remarkably easy read. I do have one problem with Carnegie's book; he seems to focus a lot on religion, and to anyone who isn't "hip" with religion will find it distasteful. Also, I actually enjoyed his other book, How to Win Friends, more, but How to Stop Worrying is a nice addition into the self-help fanatic's library. If anything, it will slap you in the face and remind you that life is too important to waste time worrying about superficial matters. Some of us need that slap in the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tips, Oct. 10 2009
By 
Frederic Collette (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sorry, English is not my first language.. At the end of the book, there are many little stories of people who have overcome their worries. I read that part before sleep in my bed, and I will never forget it. Someone explained that he lived with the arabs for 6-7 years and observed they had very little worry. I was impressed because I understood a little part of the way they see life and I took some ideas from this..and it works. Also another story talked about a guy understanding that train drivers cannot prevent or see everything that could happen on the way, they relies on lights... meaning that you cannot prevent too much, you must trust that a red light will show up when there's a problem.. your attention will naturally get to it. In my case, this book was worth the little price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful!, March 20 2001
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
Dale Carnegie compiles time tested wisdom in this book of principles on how to avoid worrying about problems you can't affect. Carnegie outlines some basic principles to help you stop worrying. He draws from common sense, from people who have achieved peace and happiness, and from the sayings of philosophers, business leaders and others. Although Carnegie wrote his book in the 1940's and some of his examples may seem dated, his basic principles are timeless - in fact, ahead of his time. He presents them in an easy-to-read, personal way. He draws on his own and other people's experiences to show a number of techniques for letting go of worries and becoming more productive. We at getAbstract recommend this self-development classic to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars are not enough, March 17 2014
This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this book I read it once or twice a year. The tips never get old they are great reminders as to not let external things weigh us down. I only wish everyone could read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
This book may have been written some time ago, but it's still very relevant to us today. My husband and I refer to it often, and we've bought extras to give to friends or family when it seems they'd benefit from it too. Recommend it highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poorly assembled - excellent content though, June 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
The book is great, for it's content. But beware, the pocket books edition is poorly glued and it comes apart after reaching half way. So 1 star for the publishing company and 5 for the book itelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, May 24 2013
By 
Jo - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this while on vacation and it helped my not worry about every little detail. It is common sense and easy to apply to everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading., Dec 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
I gave this book four stars because it was worth reading, full of ideas we should be living with, and a helpful reminder.
The pages of this book fell out, and amazon quickly replaced it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not indispensible, April 20 2008
By 
B. Piché (Montréal, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
How to Stop Worrying and Start Living was written for those who often forget about today and think about tomorrow. Even though it was written some time ago, the advice given in this book can still be useful to anyone who aspires to live a joyful life.

Worry can take many forms: insomnia, difficulties to concentrate, symptoms of sickness. The message in this book is simple: think about today, about what you have and not about what you’re missing. Certainly a wise piece of advice!

Many of the concepts in this book are somewhat repetitive, especially if you have read How to Win Friends and Influence People, but it is fun to read, as Dale Carnegie once again chose many anecdotes to complement the story. Maybe not a book you’ll want to buy, but you might want to consider reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book is Like Compound-W for Worry Warts, Nov. 29 2010
This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
Dale Carnegie wrote some great books back in the 30's and 40's, and this book is one of them- Carnegie fans won't be disappointed.

The writing style is classic Carnegie. To put it simply, the guy just writes like he talks. This makes for a very friendly and easy to understand book, rather like a good friend giving you a piece of advice.

And a lot of advice he gives. The book is divided up into ten sections, each one tackling some aspect of worrying. I could give you a rundown of the topics, but you don't really need me to repeat the table on contents to decide if you want to read the book. Rather, let me just say that book covers just about every major "worry issue" that might be causing a troubled mind, such as your work, your finances, other people's criticisms- and them some.

While there are no earth-shattering, never-before-seen tips in the book, I wouldn't hesitate for a second to recommend it to anyone who is looking to ease their mind a bit. That's because it does a GREAT job of conveying simple wisdom that really make you think good and hard about why you're worrying and if those things are really worth worrying about at all.

In short, its a bestseller because it makes a lot of sense and its advice can do a lot to re-frame your thinking about things. And if you can re-frame your thinking, well, you've about found the best "Compound-W" for worry warts. Readers who enjoyed this book might also enjoy Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaca6421c)

This product

How to Stop Worrying and Start Living
How to Stop Worrying and Start Living by Dale Carnegie (Mass Market Paperback - Sept. 15 1990)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews