Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I agree... its a romance to enjoy!
Being one of JG's early romances- it is still one that the reader can enjoy... Raised in Boston while living with her uncle and family, Caroline Richmond is sent for by her father to return to England after fourteen years of being away. It is during her travel time to her father's country home that Caroline, her cousin- Charity, and her protector- Benjamin happen upon a...
Published on June 30 2003 by janlouise

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars EVERY AUTHOR'S ALOWED ONE BAD BOOK... this is Miss Garwoods!
I have read a total of 10 of Ms. Garwoods novels and i personally think it's an insult to place this book any where near the other excellent works that this author has done. the book was a farce, completly laughable. i will admit that garwood's underlying characters in all her books all follow the same traits, after reading a few of them u start picking up on all the...
Published on March 20 2002 by reese


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I agree... its a romance to enjoy!, June 30 2003
By 
janlouise (Ruston, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
Being one of JG's early romances- it is still one that the reader can enjoy... Raised in Boston while living with her uncle and family, Caroline Richmond is sent for by her father to return to England after fourteen years of being away. It is during her travel time to her father's country home that Caroline, her cousin- Charity, and her protector- Benjamin happen upon a robbery and possible murder. Caroline being the sharp shotter that she is wounds one of the attackers, scaring them off and making it possible to aid the one attacked. He has been shot where else but in the thigh between his legs. While Caroline is administering medical aid, the Duke of Bradford, a friend of the one attacked, comes upon the scene and is taken back by Caroline's beauty and self-confidence but doesn't learn of her identity. So now the chase for Bradford is on to find out who the unidentified beauty is... After arriving and becoming acquainted with a father that she has not seen in 14 years, it is time for Caroline to take her right place as the Earl of Braxton's daughter. It is at a ball that Bradford discovers Caroline and confirms in his heart that he must have her. And what Bradford wants- Bradford gets, at least he has in the past! But both having strong personalities and definite opinions of what a relationship is to contain- well, let's just say the battle is on. It is funny seeing Bradford experience jealousy from other men falling all over Caroline for attention- when in the past women have been the ones falling all over Bradford. Interesting, the shoe being on the other foot... In the mean time, someone is trying to scare Caroline back to Boston... which get's Bradford in an uproar over Caroline's safety. Hey, I liked it! What do I say? Read it and see for yourself- just remember it is one of JG's earlier books. She got better as she wrote and is now one of my favorite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars EVERY AUTHOR'S ALOWED ONE BAD BOOK... this is Miss Garwoods!, March 20 2002
By 
reese (Jamaica,West Indies) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read a total of 10 of Ms. Garwoods novels and i personally think it's an insult to place this book any where near the other excellent works that this author has done. the book was a farce, completly laughable. i will admit that garwood's underlying characters in all her books all follow the same traits, after reading a few of them u start picking up on all the little nuances that each character holds. these were completly infuriating, i can't even bring myself to type their names! they created a web of confusion around themselves that was so hopelessly tangled,it was impossible for them to find their way out. he was an asinine fool and she was an insipid twit. they do belong together but one must wonder how in god's name they would stay that way. they didn't actually deal with their issues. did he learn from his mistakes, did she. the only thing rebbelious about this book was it's refusal to come to an end!! and when it finally did the ending was far too week to be believable. i think that this is by far garwoods worst book, there can be no competition, or atleast i hope not. she didn't seem comfortable writing in this era,it was almost as though u could sense her own frustration with the characters. miss garwood is an excellent writer of the middle ages but she was truly like a fish out of water in a 19th century environment. 'the guardian' and 'the gift' also 19th century books were better set with far more likable characters than these two are. it really does pain me to write this review as miss garwood is among my most favourite writers. but knowing the kind of work she is capable of only further convinces me that this was truly a work of minimal efort. but i also write it in case someone out there has read it as their first garwwod novel an thinks that all the rest follow this trend. i promise you that you won't be dissapointed in her again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A romance to enjoy, April 8 2001
By 
J. Austin "jodylync" (Dublin, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
Caroline Richmond has been living in Boston with her uncle and his family since she was a small child. Suddenly, her father sends word that she must return to him in England. When Jered Marcus Benton, the Duke of Bradford, meets Caroline for the first time, she threatens to shoot his horse. Soon he discovers that she is protecting a friend of his from bandits. He is immediately drawn to the fiesty American. Caroline doesn't realize that her father sent her to Boston to keep her safe. Her father doesn't realize that the danger isn't over. Caroline is still a target. Jered discovers this and is determined to protect her for though he doesn't trust her, he does feel something for her and will kill whoever dares to keep her from him.
Caroline is intelligent, witty, and strong. She determines to make the best of any situation and is a very likable character. Jered is dark, sullen, and handsome. The kind of man you want to peel back the exterior and find what has him brooding beneath. Together they are an interesting couple. Both determined in their own way. A good book overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This One Was Stupid!, April 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
I LOVE this author, but this book was awful. It started out great, but I quickly came to dislike this duke, Bradford. Caroline shined at first, but that didn't last long once she took up with Bradford. JG's heros are always a little arrogant in an endearing way, but this guy was very domineering and quite the cad.
He kept saying he takes what he wants, including women. I can only conclude that he would have [molested] Caroline if she weren't willing.
The moment he decided he'd be the only man to court Caroline, he began to tell her what to do, and not very nicely either. At one point he told her he'd beat her if she didn't obey him! Caroline said not a word!
JG has had her heros say this before but it was always taken as a joke, or had been said in a light-hearted manner.
Here we had a spirited, smart, and talented woman in Caroline, and the author turned her into a wimp by pairing her with this overbearing ogre. I did like his friends, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rebellious Desire had no rebellion whatsoever!!, Nov. 1 2001
By 
"slwtoweh" (Powder Springs, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
The Duke of Bradford desired Caroline (a mere Colonial from Massachusetts) more than any other woman in England. (If you can believe that). Caroline wasn't really rebellious to anyone and had no reason to be so. Well, if you call not wanting to marry Bradford rebellious, then I guess the title qualifies.
There was no great mystery to keep you spellbound except the fact that someone wanted Caroline dead. Bradford's jealous behavior and Caroline's desire for his ultimate trust became boring.
In other words, the book was a decent read but had no plot of characters that kept me spellbound. But I'm going to offend many readers and say that very few of Garwood's books encourage me to keep turning the page.

But alas I give Rebellious Desire three stars for those readers not desiring adventure, action, mysteries, or comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not her best..., May 22 2003
By 
S. Lin "SL" (Wellesley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
The storyline of this book is only so-so and in no way measures up to her other books, such as Ransom, The Bride, and The Secret. Everything was flat out in the open so much so that there was no real desire to keep reading to find out what would happen, because you already know.
I had really thought there would be an actual killer that wanted Caroline's life, since that's what the prologue suggests. However, I was sorely disappointed. Ever since the middle of the book, it's been hinted who the evil-doer is. And doesn't that just take the fun out of everything? I think so. I gave this 4 stars instead of 3 because there were a few portions where the conversation between Caroline, Bradford, and Milford was quite entertaining and made me laugh.
Nevertheless, although it passed the time, I found my eyes closing more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, love the challege between the two of them!, March 6 2000
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
I read the book in one sitting. I have read most of Ms. Garwood and found them all very entertaining. Although most of the romance novels depict two people with opposit personally, it is refreshing to read a novel that the two characters can chanllenge each other in most ways. Caroline and Jered had more in common than other heros and heroines. I would have love more of a plot twist from the event Caroline witness when she was young. The prologue was very dramatic and the story did not seem to explain the subsequent events sufficiently. Caroline's relationships wither her cousins are endearing and full of personalities. Although Jered is somewhat egotistical, who can blame him for his status during that period of history?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Okay for a beginner, Oct. 8 2007
By 
V. G. Gaudio "bibliophile" (Montreal, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
Formulaic and disappointing, it came as no suprise that this is Garwood's second novel ever to be published.

Our heroine, Caroline, is a raven haired beauty with character - or so they say. She lacks development and at times, is contradictory. Jared the Duke of something or another is well ... so TYPICAL. Hard thighs, scowling face, honourable, blablabla.

Though there was some intriguing banter in the beginning, the plot rushes to an end when Caroline's terrorizer - a spinless old man that a four year old could defend themself against- is 'taken care of'.

That being said, 2 stars goes for the fact that though this is the worst Garwood book out there (and I have read them all), its better writing them most romances out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars a choppy, hodge podge story not true to the times, Jan. 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this author- up til now I've never been disappointed, but what a disappointment this was! Interesting plot elements are introduced and go nowhere (She's introduced as a good shot and never fires again after the first chapture). The characters' manners are totally shocking to their times, and would cause frowns in our times too! (He cuddles a barely known woman at a musical concert with her family around? Please!) This MUST have been an early book; promise peeps through, but do yourself AND her a favor and pretend she never wrote it! Go for The Secret, The Prize, any of her others but this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay read . . .., June 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rebellious Desire (Mass Market Paperback)
While the novel starts out good, it soon disappoints. The initial meeting of the hero and the heroine is funny and entertaining. And there are a few more interesting chapters after the first. I felt that at many times Bradford could be a jerk. Caroline cried too much and gave in too easily. She gave new meaning to standing around waiting for a man. The ending is good. I'd borrow it from someone first before purchasing it. It is not typical of Garwood's work. It's one of her earlier ones before her talents truly blossomed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rebellious Desire
Rebellious Desire by Julie Garwood (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 1 1991)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews