Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs TV with radio this good!
From the same producers as the final 3 Hitchhiker's audio adaptations, this is a full spectrum audio production. Close your eyes and you are there. I've listened to this a few times. I like to take it camping and listen on earphones as I wind down in the evening. It's TV without the bright lights - it's a movie in your head where the FX's will always be better.
Published 5 months ago by William Lion

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets points for trying to be different, but is average
"Dirk Gently's Holistic Dectective Agency" is an OK book. It is a different kind of mystery, as Douglas Adams intended. However, I found this book quite inferior to the "Hitchhiker" series, as it did not have that same pizzaz. Basically, there has been a murder, and some try to solve it. Dirk, the detective in the title who doens't appear until...
Published on May 15 2004 by Peter LaPrade


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs TV with radio this good!, Oct. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
From the same producers as the final 3 Hitchhiker's audio adaptations, this is a full spectrum audio production. Close your eyes and you are there. I've listened to this a few times. I like to take it camping and listen on earphones as I wind down in the evening. It's TV without the bright lights - it's a movie in your head where the FX's will always be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Quirky, Sept. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You just have to laugh at the oddity that is Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency. Truly lovable characters and a quirky plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dirk Gently -- excellent, May 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book to replace one I loaned out several years ago -- it was never returned. Love Douglas Adams and this series; so happy to reread it and realize it's as good or better than I remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Classic Douglas Adams, Feb. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are a fan of Hitch Hikers Guide of the Galaxy because of its bizarre twist on Sci-fi this may not be for you. If you love H2G2 because of Adams’s writing style then this book will not disappoint as it is written in the same brilliantly rollicking hilarious manner and is a true joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All books by Douglas Adams, actually, Oct. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
He is a brilliant writer, great thinker and a good person. This book is neither better nor worse than his famous Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, it's different, and splendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Douglas Adams, Oct. 4 2009
Terrific writing, as only Douglas Adams can produce. This book seems to make quite a bit more sense than its sequel (The Long, Dark Teatime of the Soul) at first reading, and I would consider it to be slightly more "polished" in style. A fairly quick read, but also enriched with trademark DA wit, and social/theological commentary.

Well worth reading, if only for the bit about the horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witty titles were never my strong point, July 15 2004
By 
Oymaprat (Nowhere In Particular) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (Mass Market Paperback)
First of all I would like to say that I'm not the sort of person who needs everything to make sense to enjoy something (I'm a Doctor Who fan for Christs sake!) so that is something that helps me love this book.
Mr Adams was (and boy do I hate saying was) a master craftsman. He could be intelligent, witty and plain wierd at the same time and still have room for a bit of sentimentality.
I'm pretty confident that if you're reading this then you have enjoyed another of Mr Adams works. In which case I'm sure that you will delight in reading this as it is in the same style as many of his other books. It is fair to compare it to the Hitchhiker series as it is done in much the same vain. In my opinion it is as good as the aforementioned. Yes so the ending doesn't totally fit everyones perspective of great, but it suits me. It's full of lots of ideas that didn't neccessarily works out, but for me that is just as great; trying to work out what Mr Adams had as alternate plots. Even though the title charactor doesn't turn up till a good half way in, his soon to be friend, Richard Macduff does a good enough job of entertaining us. One to one, I strongly reccomend this to any other Adams fan, and for that matter any other fan of literature. It is truely great, as is its sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars P.G. Wodehouse meets Dr. Who: a complete pleasure, July 7 2004
By 
Trevor Kettlewell "trevsbookreviews" (Nowra, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (Mass Market Paperback)
If you got P.G. Wodehouse to write a Dr. Who script you might come up with something like this. Why not? Apparently as well as script editing for series 17 (featuring, for example, 'City of Death' where John Cleese is an art dealer), Adams wrote a couple of episodes ('The Pirate Planet', and the unfinished 'Shada' which featured none other than Prof. 'Reg' Chronitis and his TARDIS style study). Sorry, enough trainspotting (thanks G & J).
The Dr. Who thing only hit me late in the book, but that's partly because 'Dirk Gently' only pops up about half way through, and he's most enjoyably reminiscent of Tom Baker in his distracted purposefulness. I suppose there's something of Ford Prefect there too, and other elements of Hitch Hikers - yet another confused alien species looking to earth as an Eden and changing the deep past and whole evolution of humanity. And I suppose Richard could be played by whoever was DentArthurDent in the TV show.
But, hey, this isn't having a go at the book, which is sheer pleasure to read. It's not at all a cheap carbon of earlier Adams, there's just some lovely echoes. The guy just writes so wonderfully - like Wodehouse - and the dialogue is full of good (frightfully British) humour and character. Moreover the comic observations on the everyday are clever and flawlessly executed. The setting is surprisingly coherent when you get down to it (I *love* the way he casually resolves the sofa paradox that's been running through the whole book) - there's really nothing I can think of to complain about with it. I'm used to books lifting me up and then disappointing, but this manages to ebulliently float you along from start to finish.
I'm so glad I decided to start rereading books. It must be over a decade since I'd read this and I only had the vaguest recollection of some of the key images. But the chief pleasure of Adams can't be reduced to, say, the plot line, which, while fine, is in one way incidental (i.e. the characters and dialogue are good enough to stand alone). I get the impression he was in a fairly positive state of mind when he wrote this (as opposed to Mostly Harmless), and in excellent form, so these character's are simply pleasant to be with - as well as being hilarious and - as with those of Pratchett on a good day - charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gets points for trying to be different, but is average, May 15 2004
By 
Peter LaPrade (worcester ma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (Mass Market Paperback)
"Dirk Gently's Holistic Dectective Agency" is an OK book. It is a different kind of mystery, as Douglas Adams intended. However, I found this book quite inferior to the "Hitchhiker" series, as it did not have that same pizzaz. Basically, there has been a murder, and some try to solve it. Dirk, the detective in the title who doens't appear until about 1/2 way through, is not interested in solving the murder, no, he wants to know why Richard McDuff, an employee of the victim, climbed into his girlfriend's flat. That McDuff's girlfriend is the victim's sister is beside the point. Dirk feels that all things are interconnected, and also wants to figure out how an old professor managed to do an impossible trick. Soon, we discover, the prof has a time machine, and there is a ghost who wants to reverse a billion year old error, which would mean the end of all life. A few chuckles, but mostly headscratching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mediocrity, April 30 2004
This review is from: Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (Mass Market Paperback)
Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of Douglas Adam's writing, is that there will not be any more. This book offers solace to those seeking Adam's wit beyond the hitch hiker series.
While the general plot is at times annoyingly insane, the character development is priceless.
A must read for any classic Adams fan, if only for just the revealing look into the digital world of the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb03c5708)

This product

Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency
Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency by Adams (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 1991)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews