Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
S.D. Perry did it again. Just like she did with Umbrella Conspiracy and City of the Dead, Perry has managed to take the storyline of a Resident Evil game and has made it even more explosive, suspenseful, scary, and riveting. Nemesis, the fifth book in the series, finds Jill Valentine trying to survive and escape the zombie infested Raccoon City. However, there is...
Published on Oct. 21 2003 by N. Durham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis
An adaptation of Resident Evil 3, this is Perry's most impressive instalment in her series. Guided by the game's storyline, the narrative speeds along. The game's various environments lend a scale and 'production value' that her own novels lack. Whereas both Underworld and Caliban Cove before it can be visualised as movies with cheap sets, Nemesis and its two...
Published on Feb. 26 2001 by Mal Cremin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Oct. 21 2003
By 
N. Durham "Big Evil" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
S.D. Perry did it again. Just like she did with Umbrella Conspiracy and City of the Dead, Perry has managed to take the storyline of a Resident Evil game and has made it even more explosive, suspenseful, scary, and riveting. Nemesis, the fifth book in the series, finds Jill Valentine trying to survive and escape the zombie infested Raccoon City. However, there is something else afoot that is after her. Not just zombies, or mutated dogs, or hunters; she is being hunted by a creature called the Nemesis: a gigantic misshapen monster that is on a mission. Perry once again manages to give memorable and great characterizations of the characters from the video game, including the mercenary Carlos who wasn't too likeable in the game, becomes quite likeable here. Many of the game's most memorable moments are played out here; the highlight of which is the chicken-hearted pilot Brad Vickers and his first (and last) encounter with the Nemesis while a horrified Jill watches first hand. All in all, next to City of the Dead and Umbrella Conspiracy, this is the best Resident Evil novelization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite book in the series., July 30 2003
By 
"celes1" (Havre de Grace, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
Jill Valentine is once again trapped in a zombie filled nightmare in this, the novelization of the third Resident Evil video game. Raccoon City has been completely lost to the T-Virus and Jill realizes all she can do is try to escape the city. However, this won't be an easy task. She must battle zombies, mutants, and a new tyrant that has been programed to kill Jill and her fellow S.T.A.R.S. teammates. Fortunately Jill is not alone, hapless Umbrella mercenary, Carlos, proves to be a useful ally.
I love the Resident Evil video game series but I go into hysterics whenever I play them so I read the novels instead. These books could easily be boring and tedious but they are actually quite good. The author focuses on characterization instead of attempting to capture every puzzle and battle. However, the books still manage to be suspenseful and will keep you on the edge of your seat. This book is my favorite in the series because Jill and Carlos are the most interesting characters in the Resident Evil universe. All of the novelizations of the games are good though and you don't even need to be familiar with the games to enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil ; Nemesis, Dec 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
I liked this book, but it might be to gorey for some people. The book is called Resident Evil:Nemesis, and the author is S.D. Perry. My favorite character(s) are Jill and Carlos, I think this because they have the most talent, are pioneers trying to save their city, and they both fall in love. The story took place in a zombie filled city called Sunset City. The Nemesis was a scientist who experimented with a virus that caused him to turn into a zombie. Nicholia is another character that had his whole squad killed by these creatures. He got the urge to kill since he is killing all these zombies, and tries to kill Jill and Carlos. Later in the story he is killed by the Nemisis who keeps evolving. A launch sequence by Umbrella, an organization of people who started experiments causing the virus that made everyone zombies, has begun to destroy Sunset City and everyone in it. The only thing the book teaches is how to kill zombies and creatures. It has a lot of gore and violence. It is definitely a book for an older individual. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes this kind of book that envolves violence and fighting with a lot of gorey details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jill Valentine Rocks, April 27 2002
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the best book I have ever read.I decided that I would skip the 3 after the 1st because I have never played Resident Evil 3.So I decided to read the book,and I am probably going to do well at the game now. Although they never said what happened to the man in the ware house who decided that he wanted to lock him self in a storage thing.But it was the coolest book ever, and now Jill is my favorite Resident Evil woman (Sorry A.J. but Claire just aint up to Jill's talents).There was the good ol' zombies in it,hunters,huge spiders, and something called a brain sucker.But as for the most evil people there was a big worm and the S.T.A.R.S. killer called "NEMESIS".To tell you the truth I wouldn't want to meet either of them in the dark ally at night.
While This is a really good book,it is in fact for mature people.It holds strong lanuage and talks about blood and gore (which never bothers me).But if you like chemichal break outs,zombies and bio-weapon beasts,the I would pick up this book A.S.A.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil Fans: This book is a MUST-HAVE!, March 19 2002
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
For the record, I am a die-hard fan of this series, and I want fans to know that every one of S.D.Perry's RE novels is excellent. I highly recommend every one of them to you loyal fans. With that said, here's my take on Nemesis:
Like previous RE novels, Mrs.Perry breathes life into each of the characters. As a reader, you can almost feel Jill's anguish, as she wanders through the nightmare once known as Raccoon City. You experience her terror when she first encounters the Nemesis. Everything from the character's thoughts, to their enviornment, and the monsters they encounter, are brought to life in vivid detail.
I'm also very pleased with how Mrs.Perry resolved questions that were left unanswered in the videogame. For instance, what was Jill doing in Raccoon City to begin with? After playing RE2 and reading the novelization, I assumed that she left for Europe with Chris and Barry. This question, along with further insights into the character known as Trent, was explained very well. This novel is an excellent read, and I look forward to reading future novels in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let's here it for the FIVE time Resident Evil Champion!, Feb. 11 2002
By 
L. M. Snead "LSDangerous" (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
SD Perry does it again. This is another excellent adaptation of the game. I case you're wondering, Perry tells us that the facts of this book will differ slightly from the previous four novels (particularly "Caliban Cove"). The four books were released before the Nemesis game. She obviously couldn't have known.
There are two things that make these novels fun to read? 1) Perry tells the story from all the main characters points of view, not just Jill and Carlos. 2) Perry doesn't take incredible creative licenses like most adaptations. Were the Super Mario Bros, Double Dragon, and Final Fantasy movies anything like the games? No. These books take your gaming experience and enhances the enjoyment.
I need to address a problem some readers have. Many people claim that the novels aren't "scary enough." My response, "How can something be scary when you know what's going to happen?" A large part of fear is ignorance. Would a horror film be scary if you've read the script first? Of course not.
You ask me, "If it's just the same story from the game, why should I buy it?" Think of the novels as Director's Cut DVDs, familiar and new at the same time. You'll delve into Nicholi's evil mind. You'll read about characters that were featured in the game files. (How many of you actually read those files?) You might even discover new secrets. The only thing I didn't like about this book was the title. Perry came up with cool titles of her own for the first four books. Perhaps she was instructed by Capcom to keep the original game names.
I have read "Umbrella Conspiracy" through "Nemesis." I recommend them all. I've written a review for each one as well. After I finish "Code:Veronica," I will write a review. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stars? Tasty., Jan. 30 2002
By 
Hadit Padit (the depths of your twisted mind) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
Mrs. Perry has done it again. Given the rather minimal plot line of Resident Evil: Nemesis game, she has turned it into a rich narrative, with a beautifully developed villain that you (pardon the cliché) love to hate. But then, could we expect any less?
As with all the other Resident Evil novelizations, Mrs. Perry has held mostly true to the plot of the game. Some of the puzzles are skipped, but they would be annoying to describe and add needless complication to the plot (water sample puzzle, anyone? Over 800 possible combinations! And there's no clues! I spend 3 hours on that damn puzzle! AHHHHHHH!) and there is the strange but smooth insertion of the character of Mr. Trent into the background of the tale.
It was nice to finally see someone offer up a decent theory to the Nemesis, and its origins. The game said nothing about what it was supposed to be. While playing the game the closest I could figure it was a Tyrant that had a run-in with a G-Virus carrier, maybe Birkin himself. One of the problems with the game was that it didn't really make sense in the game that after you shot down this belligerent giant (who was trying to hunt you down and shove a tentacle thing into your mouth and out the back of your head) you ran from his unconscious body. The smart thing to do against Nemesis would be to find some gasoline or some other flammable substance and set Nemesis's body on fire after knocking him out. However, the whole flee-from-the-downed-monster-without-finishing-him-off thing is rationally explained away by Mrs. Perry's superior story-telling powers. Yay! Remember: he twitched, and Jill lost her nerve. Yup.
Niccolai was THE bad guy. Oh joy! His motivation was unclear in the game. All you knew was a little about this "watchdog" program and that Niccolai had set himself up to kill all the other watchdogs and steal their "data," whatever that happened to be. Mrs. Perry gave him a radiant psychotic personality, just as she has with all the other Resident Evil villains. In short, he's a psychotic control freak.
And for those of you that didn't read the footnote thingy about how the events didn't match up, don't complain. ...The Resident Evil 2 novelization was written long, LONG (actually not that long but who cares) before Resident Evil: Nemesis was released, so Mrs. Perry couldn't have known about Jill staying in Raccoon.
Now what I would have really appreciated was SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAINING THE ORIGIN OF THAT BLOOD-SPLATTERED BAZOOKA THAT NEMESIS IS LUGGING AROUND! PLEASE! WHERE DID HE GET IT FROM, AND WHERE DOES HE KEEP IT WHEN HE'S KILLING BRAD? AND DURING THAT PART ON THE CLOCK TOWER WHEN YOU ELECTRECUTE HIM AND HE FALLS OFF HE'S NOT CARRYING THE LAUNCHER BUT LATER HE SHOOTS THE HELICOPTER DOWN WITH IT! WOULD SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN? AHHHHHH! *SOB* *SOB*
Anyway I really enjoyed reading the book and playing the game, yadda, yadda, and um...
Oh, yeah.
Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel, Feb. 26 2001
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
What I like about what S.D. Perry is doing with the Resident Evil series is she is taking a great game and making the kind of cliche and simple plotline a lot better. I hate it when novels/games don't have a good, twisted and complex plot. It makes me mad. I love nothing more than having a mix between complex, realistic characters, a great plot with intricate subplots, lots of suspense and horror/action to boot. I hate it when all people want is action. It's more suspensful if you actually know, feel and care about the character you are reading about. I am also dissapointed with the Resident Evil Movie. It is completely different from the REAL Resident Evil plotline. What this director did was take a great game/book series and transformed it into a stupid, cliche and horrible sounding movie that does not deserve to bear the Resident Evil name. If he wants to make a stupid movie about a super-computer trying to take over the world with an army of zombies, that's fine. Just don't put the Resident Evil name on it, ruin the outlook of the game series and spoil the legacy and any chances of a successful true Resident Evil film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis, Feb. 26 2001
By 
Mal Cremin (Avignon, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
An adaptation of Resident Evil 3, this is Perry's most impressive instalment in her series. Guided by the game's storyline, the narrative speeds along. The game's various environments lend a scale and 'production value' that her own novels lack. Whereas both Underworld and Caliban Cove before it can be visualised as movies with cheap sets, Nemesis and its two game-inspired predecessors are definitely big-budget. Perry's additions to the material are excellent - Jill's loneliness at the beginning, when we learn of her struggle to save lives before the start of the story, and her gradual attraction to Carlos later are handled well. Nicholai's story stands out most, though, and Perry's rendition, fleshing out the slight material we get in the game, is better than any other piece of characterisation in her series. Perry shines as a writer when she has someone else's story to work with, and of her three Resident Evil game adaptations, this is her best. As a villain, Nicholai is far more interesting that the bland ones she created for both of her own instalments. Instead of spending the story holed-up in safety, sending creatures after the heroes, Nicholai (like Annette Birkin and Albert Wesker before him) are running the same risks. The book over-writes some of the continuity of the previous ones, and Perry apologises for this at the start. This was forced on her by the game she is adapting. She had Brad Vickers flee the city after the first book, but he has to be here now as he is featured in the game. Jill was going out to meet Chris and Barry when she briefly appeared at the start of the second book, but while her predicament (fleeing the city) is still the same, Chris now has to be in Europe. Never mind: the game Resident Evil 3 itself is not perfect in its continuity. SD Perry's Nemesis is an enjoyable and fast-paced read, and there are some good little touches to surprise anyone expecting a cheap cash-in. I did wonder though, at Perry's description of Jill's outfit in the game: 'dressed for movability' in a tight mini-skirt? I don't think so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE GAME GOOD! THE BOOK BETTER!, Jan. 7 2001
By 
This review is from: Nemesis (Mass Market Paperback)
Resident evil is a very good game, with an exelent group of characters and a never ending plot. It was fun to see how SD Perry handled the complexed plot and strange enviorment. She did so good that she ended up doing a five part mini series that could go on for a life time. In Resident evil Nemisis, SD Perry brings you back to the horror in raccon city. Jill is stuck in a town infested with the walking dead, the strange brain sucking insects, nasty spiders, gigantic worms and the worst of them all the stalking tyrant simply codenamed the "Nemisis" of course theres more horror lurking in the darkness of Raccon city but i just named some of the monsters. Mean while a nother hero faces a horrible battle with zombies as he watches all his friends die in a battle that ends in a massacre his name Carlos. But on the other hand we have a bad guy who works for umbrella named Nicoli who makes Jill and Carlos escape impossible. They team up not only to escape the terror that lies in Raccon city but they must survive the killing machine Nemisis after them. The story unraveles very quickly and terrible things start happening to Jill and Carlos. Jill defeates almost being infected and Carlos escapes nearly getting blowned away in a explotion at a hospital. After endless encounters with Nicoli and the Nemisis Jill and Carlos finally defeat them and escape whats left of Raccon city. Soon the city explodes and Raccon city is erased from the map. And thats just some of the things our heroes encounter.Buy this book you wont be unsatisfied!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nemesis
Nemesis by S.D. Perry (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 1 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews