Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I am mystified by some of the mixed reviews here. I must admit I had some scepticism of Mr Robbins based on his infomercials years ago, mainly because he tells what his material can do, but not how it works. In this book though he delivers the goods.

This book contains some profound methods to improve your thinking and improve your life. I am still working...
Published 22 months ago by L. Power

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the references?
In chapter 17: References; The Fabric of Life. Robbins discusses the importance of references. But where are the references to support his statements? I couldn't find any. When I went to the back of this book which where references are typically located, all I found were advertisements for Robbins.While Robbins talks about how he used to live in a 40 square foot apartment...
Published on April 26 2002 by louis cardinale


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Sept. 4 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
I am mystified by some of the mixed reviews here. I must admit I had some scepticism of Mr Robbins based on his infomercials years ago, mainly because he tells what his material can do, but not how it works. In this book though he delivers the goods.

This book contains some profound methods to improve your thinking and improve your life. I am still working through this book, yet already I have successfully used some of the concepts.

For example, there is a chapter about asking yourself the right questions, which can instantly change you into a more positive and empowering state, rather than feel victimized as people often do by adversity.

I used the transformative language technique to resolve a situation where I was angered by the behavior of an associate. Through using the word disenchanted instead of angry to describe how I felt, I immediately lessened the emotional intensity of the situation, and was ultimately able to resolve the situation peacefully.

This book also contains practical and powerful NLP techniques, such as repatterning and swish technique. While it may be true to say that some of Robbins work is derivative of the works of Erickson, Bandler and Grinder I have rarely seen the material presented in such a user friendly way. There truly is magic in these concepts.

If you can imagine leading a better and more effective life the concepts in this book will show you the way.

What I particularly appreciate about this book is how well written it is. It has a really flowing easy to read style. I highly recommend this book, and I have a great deal of respect for the writer after reading it.

I hope you find this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the references?, April 26 2002
By 
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
In chapter 17: References; The Fabric of Life. Robbins discusses the importance of references. But where are the references to support his statements? I couldn't find any. When I went to the back of this book which where references are typically located, all I found were advertisements for Robbins.While Robbins talks about how he used to live in a 40 square foot apartment washing dishes in his bathtub, he never explains what he did to reach his level of wealth. Of course we all know what he did; he sold books, tapes and seminars.Notice the 5 star reviewers (probably Robbins emloyees) use the same lines but also neglect to say what they didto change their lives and attain such great success.How can Anthony expect anybdy to take him seriously? I recommend Norman Vincent Peales book, You can if You Think You can and Miracle Power by Joseph Murphy. I also recommend introduction to NLP by Joseph O'Connor and Instant Rapport by Michael Brooks.If you must read this one by Robbins, borrow it at the library. You'll find it there. Robbins is the greatest self promoter of the last 100 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make real Transformation... not this--please., Oct. 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
I did all the Tony Robbins stuff for years. The tapes, books-all of it. I was one of the unfortunate ones that got hooked. Instead of just bashing Mr. Robbins, I will write a clear, well detailed review of SOME of the huge flaws in his little money making system so that those major fans who will of course disagree with me, will at least read this and at some point will hopefully "see the light". Unfortunately, in this short review I can't explain things in great detail. Some of you will get what I'm saying though. Please read this carefully and think about what I am saying-scientifically--Please.
-Let's start with the mindset of these books. He promotes a super achiever kind of hyper-doer attitude. I would instead opt for being at peace with myself--HERE & NOW. Learning to BE. Not just be a doer. Does that mean being complacent? NO! It means you can set goals but it has nothing to do with your self-acceptance and daily joy.
-He uses this Pain/Pleasure principal to motivate you. That is a highly flawed system. It is based on causing stress on yourself and motivating you through discomfort. Has anyone stopped to think that one can achieve goals through peace and discipline. It's not motivation through pain/pleasure we need, it's learning to deal with our AVERSION to discomfort that holds many of us back. Facing that with persevearance and wisdom is the only way to deal with that-not gimmicky NAC.
-It is wrong to create MUSTS as he teaches. That causes people to be stressed out and to be attatched and anxious to things. You cannot DEMAND change of yourself. This again is based on the erroneous idea that we're so highly flawed we need to whip ourselves to grow. Not true. Better to learn Positive motivation skills based on learning to enjoy the Process not just the outcome.
-Tony goes in so many different directions in his book you don't know when to use what
-Why does he say that it's important to know that all feelings are good, they are Action Signals-yet he tells you to "break thru" depression,worry and other states. If we are going to accept our feelings how can we also go against them by trying to change them with NAC and physiology etc(that is not acceptance at all that is manipulation and many of you may have figured out by now that you can't battle with your feelings-ACCEPTANCE of them nonjudgmentally brings transformation)
Why, if we are to accept feelings do we need Transformational Vocabulary?? If we supposedly accept them as Action Signals, why tell myelf I'm peeved instead of angry? and will that really work? NO WAY. Of course you'll remain angry. C'MON. That is just silly.
-So much of it is really just a pump up. I admit that that might have it's place to a certain degree. Yes, I'm sure the pump up got some to achieve. That's a good thing, but this Robbins "technology" as a reliable, well developed system? Not quite.
-His system for creating Values is so ridiculously superficial. Just becaue you write down these supposed values and rules, that doesn't mean they will reflect you TRUE feelings. WE ARE NOT THAT SIMPLISTIC!
-Tony Robbins, having "mastered" relationships divorced his wife Becky a few years ago. Again, we are not that simplistic as his system tries to profess.
My intention is to try to help you seekers out there, not to bash Mr Robbins.
People would be better off making more of a "spiritual" discovery that brings them UNCONDITIONAL SELF ACCEPTANCE and Inner Peace. Something that is not based on achievment. You don't need to create this "achieve to win" attitude. Without transforming from the inside out, it's all a band aid solution and YES, you can be HIGHLY productive and just BE without getting into this crazed achiever mindset. Since when is that the purpose of life? Folks, you are all able to achieve great things by getting centered and tuning in to yourself. Trust yourself.
Find that wellspring within! You don't need all this pumped up, gimmicky stuff. A much better book would be The Power of Now. A book about real transformation. Finding inner grace in life moment to moment and yes achieving, but with inner satisfaction all along the way, whatever the outcome!
I hope you've read these points carefully and let them sink in. I hope to save you years of confusion by falling into these superficial techniques. Wishing you the best!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awaken your spirit, Feb. 4 2010
By 
Kishwer Sultana "K S" (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
This book helps one to take control of ones life rather than the other way round. Excellent book for motivation and building up confidence for any endeavor in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infomercial Success!, Oct. 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
This books follows a clear recipes, full of hype, ideas taken from other authors, and the "you'll practice this in chapter 23" classic carot on a string technique.
This book is the success. Because it is sold by a salesperson. Doesn't mean you'll succeed in the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, Nov. 10 2002
By 
dasn0wman "dasn0wman" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
This book is the author's poor attempt to make a fast buck riding from his previous bestseller, "Unlimited Power". If you must find out what this is all about, get "Unlimited Power" instead - very similar bs but better or EVEN better, search for books on NLP. If you want a real self-help book, get "The Power of Your Unconscious Mind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hucksterism 101, July 22 2002
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
Of all the questions that have boggled the human mind through the ages I have one more question to add to the litany of unanswerables:How is it that people fall for self-promoting hucksters like Robbins time and time again?It should be quite obvious that Robbins real success lies in telling you repeatedly how successful he is.He has not amassed a $300,000,000 dollar fortune by any financial genius but merely by selling the idea of success.As they say,nothing sells like success.
It is not that Robbins gives bad advice but only that it is adrenaline-rush excitement that abates in a few hours.His books,tapes etc. are sort of like heavy metal music:it is inspiring for a few minutes and makes you feel as though you could go up to the biggest guy on the street and whip his tail,but as soon as the adrenaline rush wears off and you come to your senses you realize how ridiculous your momentary delusions really were.Ten minutes after you've finished reading Robbins you realize that you've read the bluster of an exceptional used car salesman.
Of course,the selling never ends.If you want to be an even greater success you'll need to attend Robbins seminars at two or three thousand bucks a clip.Of course these seminars lead to more seminars.The Church of Scientology has the same kind of racket.I imagine that is precisely whre Robbins got his inspiration.
In the end,Robbins books and advice are squarely in line with the heap of new age blather and nonsense.Human beings never change until they want to change or have to change.All the cheerleading and toothy smiles and feel-good pap in the world can't change the fact.By the way,don't miss his QVC appearances.They're a hoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shallow Tony?, March 23 2002
By 
Paige Turner (Berkeley CA (People's Republic)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
What a hoot that Tony Robbins is getting divorced! I'm not to worried about Becky, with even a chunk of Tony's 200-300 million dollars, she should be set for life. Tony is in his 40s and Becky is a little bit older. Let's face it, men like young blondes and Tony has traded his middle-aged wife in for one (read "mean genes" to understand why). He claims that he couldn't ride his Harley and fly his helicopter enough with Becky, but that is a pretty flimsy excuse. Men want what they want and when they have 200 million dollars they generally get it or take it. I'm a guy and would probably do the exact same thing.
As for how he made his money, it was just by promising a gullible publice they could make money. There are plenty of depressed and desperate people out there for him to prey on. His nutriional advice will only increase depression in many people. There is too much sugar and not enough protien in it and for people with my biochemistry it is big trouble - more depression and bad moods. And after that I would need another hit of a new Tony Robbins tape.
But what has the NLP master accomplished? Does he speak foriegn languages? Can he memorize hundreds of names? What? He can get all pumped up with enthusiasm and fly a jet helicopter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tony's "seminar trap", June 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
This book clearly lacks content and it's sole purpose is to make more people want to go to Tony's seminars and to buy more books and tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!, June 12 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial (Paperback)
Junk! It's just plain stupid and childish. Tony Robbins must be really bored or something to spend his entire life preaching that nonsense. He spends his entire life taking money from all those poor souls...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Awaken the Giant Within: How to Take Immediate Control of Your Mental, Emotional, Physical and Financial
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews