Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great business read
So what if this book is 14 years old? If you are looking for a good business book that reads like an exciting novel, this still does the trick. A great insight into Wall Street and the insider trading scandals of the 1980s. Sure it goes into loads of detail and is perhaps a bit too long, but there is no denying that Stewart is an exceptional writer. If you liked The...
Published on Oct. 24 2006 by Rob Nicol

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much in common with Wall Street today, I Hope!
Criticisms of this book center around the details of bond trading, specifically the authors miscalculation of commissions. Also, perhaps, some hearsay is included as facts. The author states that no anonymous sources are quoted, but there were un-named and 'not-for quote' sources used.
You either believe that the main characters (Michael Milken, Ivan Boesky, Martin...
Published on Nov. 22 2000 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Journalistic Self-Promotion---Revisited, July 9 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
I read this book when it first came out in the early 90s, the summer before entering business school. At the time I thought, like many who had recommended the book, that it was a first rate piece of journalism based on sound, unbiased research.
I have since learned that this book is nothing of the sort. In fact, it is a summary of one erroneous conclusion after another, based upon faulty, incorrect, hearsay 'evidence' and a wanton disregard for the truth. Moreover, I now believe that such poor authorship can mean only one thing--that Mr. Stewart was never out to reveal the truth, but instead, to make a name for himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS !, July 2 2001
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
James Stewarts narrative is dead on the facts and emotions of the Drexcel Burnham / Ivan Boesky / Dennis Levine cabal that drove and manipulated 80's Wall Street, compared to Predators Ball, this book distinguishes itself as it brings ALL the events together, the relationships described in the text will give the reader a perspective that is three dimensional.
Stewart grabs the reader and never lets go, hard to put down and will keep you up late by the reading lamp.
I read it again and found it just as interesting as the first read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, great read on the subject., Sept. 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
If you can get through some of the technical stuff presented in this book about how certain processes take place, ones you know only if that is your job, this book is fascinating. It really goes into depth about how these deals would take place. How one person would work for another. The book is very thorough with events that is goes into such depth, sometimes too much depth. Very interesting especially to someone who is interested in this field, especially insider trading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great - I never read books like this and I loved it!, June 11 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
I never have time to read novels for fun but I decided to give this one a try. I was very impressed and actually ordered 2 more books on similar topics. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in investment banking. It is not only informative but interesting. The only aspect of the book that I did not like was the conclusion. It was a little drawn out. I lost my enthusiasm towards the end but still enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoy the investment world, this is for you!, Feb. 25 2004
By 
S. SUNDBERG "crevalle" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
This was one book that I could not put down. The book is broken into large sections, each dealing with a particular criminal and his corresponding activities. In-depth descriptions of what was going on behind the scenes at some of the most respected financial firms of the time--absolutely fascinating. If you were around in the 80's, and you work/participate in the investment industry, this should be required historical reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ethics, Nov. 28 2000
By 
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
The book is great for the review of ethics within the Investment Banking business. As I work at a private equity firm, the in's and out's of the game, are described very nice. Especially the amount of confidential information passing through me is worth thinking about. The book give a nice picture of what can happen in a world full of greed. Den of Thieves is nice to read and sometime a good laugh about some disturbed bankers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Awesome, May 10 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
This is one of the best books on financial markets I have read. Predators Ball was also good, but this book is amazing. It ranks with the likes of Reminiscences Of a Stock Operator, Liars Poker, Pitbull and Market Wizards. Boesky is crazy, but a likeable character, and Milken is a god damn legend. Ordinarily I would never give a book a 5 star rating, but after reading, how could you not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For MBAs, April 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
As an MBA coming out of the 80's era of hype and junk bonds, this book has been by my bedside since December 1990. I'm still in awe how complete and masterly this book is with all the vivid character descriptions and associated schemes and plots! Think of it as a great reference for those who wish to conform to the straight & narrow. Excellent work & a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For MBAs, April 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
As an MBA coming out of the 80's era of hype and junk bonds, this book has been by my beside since December 1990. I'm still in awe how complete and masterly this book is with all the vivid character descriptions and associated schemes and plots! Think of it as a great reference for those who wish to conform to the straight & narrow. Excellent work & a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE!!!, Dec 10 2003
This review is from: Den of Thieves (Paperback)
This book is amazing. I love reading financial and investing books and this one is just amazing. Its capitvating beginning to end. The way the author subtly explains very technical investing terms is awesome. I had know who the characters were but not the entire depth of their situations. This book tells all! I cant wait to read more of the authors work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Den of Thieves
Den of Thieves by James B. Stewart (Paperback - Sept. 1 1992)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 15.87
Usually ships in 1 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews