Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
excellent story. coudn't put it down.
Published 17 days ago by H. Steve Simmons

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst of the bunch...where's the plot?
Too much flying! Too little plot. This book just fills in some details missing from other books in the series. Fill. That's it. It was an enjoyable read, but only because I had read (and enjoyed, more or less) the other books in the series.
Published on Feb. 13 2002 by A Doctor in Ann Arbor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
excellent story. coudn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Jake Grafton Novel, Nov. 26 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The INTRUDERS (Hardcover)
I love this series of Jake Grafton novels. They are different from most mystery-thriller type novels as they have a central character that survives from book to book and you meet his family and his co-workers in each novel. The Intruders has a great plot because Jake as a navy man working with Marines, teaching them about carrier aviation, is definitely a great central character. Jake Grafton survived Vietnam and was shot down over Laos and had to survive by his own instincts now he is home and still active in navy aviation. Coonts was a navy man and knows all about military aviation and imparts his knowledge in his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worst of the bunch...where's the plot?, Feb. 13 2002
This review is from: The Intruders (Mass Market Paperback)
Too much flying! Too little plot. This book just fills in some details missing from other books in the series. Fill. That's it. It was an enjoyable read, but only because I had read (and enjoyed, more or less) the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Grafton returns to form (almost), Aug. 3 2001
This review is from: The Intruders (Mass Market Paperback)
"Intruders", another of Coonts' books based on the misadventures of naval aviator Jake Grafton, takes place right after Grafton's debut in "Flight of the Intruder".
Finding himself stateside in the immediate aftermath of the war in Vietnam, Grafton feels a growing malaise, hamstrung to win the hand of Callie Mackenzie. (Though Grafton fans know the romance turns out okay, Coonts shows us how far from certain the romance was). As punishment for getting into a bar fight, Grafton is shipped to sea so he can tutor a new generation of aviators in flying the new generation of Intruder, the A-6E. Though he'd jump at the chance to fly the new plane, the fliers themselves are Marines - considered ham-handed apes not up to flying complex hardware. To add to the mix is Grafton's new commander, an ernest type hungry for action. With no airstrikes to keep them occupied, the new CAG spends his time planning attacks against soviet ships (Coonts makes the point that air-launched anti-ship missiles have not yet made it to American inventories, requiring planners and fliers to fall back on more reckless tactics). Is the new CAG in control or does he have an itchy trigger finger? And can Grafton get his cadets up to speed?
Unfortunately, while episodic takes that drive "Intruders" worked on "Flight of the Intruder", there isn't a central story to bring it together as that older book had. Planes crash, men die, carrier ops is just the most damgerous job in the world. Also, the green marines are cardboard characters who are not only less capable at flying then the characters of "Flight of the Intruder", but simply less interesting as well - like Razor, Boxman (who died in that older book), Cole and Cowboy (who lost his life years later in "Final Flight"). Even the postwar setting seems to work more against the novel then for it - there's no war to add to the dynamism of the situation. But at sea, there isn't any sense of the relief or shame or anything for the sacrifices of the war and its perceived results. Coonts wraps things up with an completely implausible tale involving a showdown with modern day pirates. This really kills the book which had started out as a return to the seeming homespun honesty (for a technothriller) of the first book - eschewing the villains, plots and schemes, and hidden agendas of Dale Brown, Clive Cussler and the latter Grafton books. Still closer to that spirit of the original "Flight" than Coonts' other books, and still well ahead of any competitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Vietnam Veteran, Sept. 9 2000
By 
"charlie34lift" (Tacoma, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Intruders (Mass Market Paperback)
Being a veteran of the 1st Cavalry Division in 1972, I was in Vietnam when Stephen Coonts was flying missions off carriers. Many times the Navy was there to help our missions.
I like reading Stephen's novels, because he tells it like it is, and like it was. Too many have misperceptions about our war. We were just young, American kids who answered our country's call, as in every war that we have ever fought. Stephen takes the reader right into the cockpits, and the minds of the fliers. I am forever in his debt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Vietnam Veteran, Sept. 9 2000
By 
"charlie34lift" (Tacoma, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Intruders (Mass Market Paperback)
Being a veteran of the 1st Cavalry Division in 1972, I was in Vietnam when Stephen Coonts was flying missions off carriers. Many times the Navy was there to help our missions.
I like reading Stephen's novels, because he tells it like it is, and like it was. Too many have misperceptions about our war. we were just young, American kids who answered our country's call, as in every war that we have ever fought. Stephen takes the reader right into the cockpits, and the minds of the fliers. I am forever in his debt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great flying Scenes, but no story, Dec 21 1999
By 
A. Jackson (East Coast USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Intruders (Mass Market Paperback)
If you are into NavAir, read this book. Carrier AirOps are described in detail. I am a pilot, so I loved those parts of the book. That's why I gave it 3 stars
As a Story, I found this book lacking. I get the feeling that Mr. Coonts wrote some high detailed, fast paced, adrenilin pumping flying scenes and then said, "I need a story to put them in."
The climax of the story came out of left field and left me Asking, "How did we get here?"
Read it for the NavAir Blue Water Ops. Just don't expect much of a story. If it was a video, I'd buy a copy, but I'd be doing a lot of fast forwarding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good questions. No answers., May 6 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intruders (Mass Market Paperback)
Throughout this one, Jake struggles with the meaning of life and fatalism. Amazinginly (but not realistically) he manages to never even consider including God in this equation. Thus, by the end of the book he still has no answers to his questions. Plane after plane is dumped in the ocean - about half of them by Jake. Some good flight sequences in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool book, March 13 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intruders (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent book - well written !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 5 star script ready for the movies!!! Exciting !!!, Jan. 27 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Intruders (Mass Market Paperback)
In this book Coonts concentrates on action on an aircraft carrier with plenty of naval aviation action. Naval Air being the long arm of American Foreign Policy is depicted here in action. Jake Grafton the main character is interesting and at times reflects upon himself to see whether or not to get out of the navy of not, marriage with his sweetheart Callie is on his mind. Flap Le beau his Bombardier/Nav. puts a bit of fun and flare into the story. Although I'm not a pilot but an enthusiast, Coonts puts a lot of emphasis on what the pilots are thinking of while in the cockpit, no matter at night or during the day, as a reader you get to feel what the pilot and his Navigator are really feeling at the time.
THIS STORY WOULD MAKE A GREAT MOVIE about the life for an aviator living on an aircraft carrier, we have enough movies about the grunts on the ground,here is a chance to make a movie about aviators on aircraft carriers as they are America's long arm of Foreign Policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Intruders
The Intruders by Stephen Coonts (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 1995)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews