Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!
I bought this book not knowing what to expect, the description promised quite a bit of know-how was contained within. Pleased to say it was well worth it. Prior to getting this book, I'd gotten good with ActionScript and JavaScript but to hook Flash up with any back-end scripting or XML for my clients I've always been calling other people to consult and half the time had...
Published on Jan. 21 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No support
To be fair, I am giving them 3 stars. I purchased this book months ago to get me started with XML in Flash. I have not read the whole book, and gave up rather easily. I am not saying the book is bad, I just wanted to say that if you tell your readers the web site will be an "invaluble resource for learning the ins and outs of using XML in Flash" you might want to offer...
Published on Aug. 7 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars not great., April 28 2004
This review is from: XML in Flash (Paperback)
The plain-English explanations of XML are very good. The problems are in the code examples. Often the comments are short and ill-considered, and the code is presented in an illogical order. It's a good book, but unless you're great at reading other people's code (I'm not), you will need to do some digging.
All examples use Flash 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slick and detailed, Oct. 25 2002
This review is from: XML in Flash (Paperback)
If you are new to coding, and want to learn about the XML objects in Flash, and how they interact with PHP, ASP and Java, this book will more than get you started. Very well commented source code also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No support, Aug. 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: XML in Flash (Paperback)
To be fair, I am giving them 3 stars. I purchased this book months ago to get me started with XML in Flash. I have not read the whole book, and gave up rather easily. I am not saying the book is bad, I just wanted to say that if you tell your readers the web site will be an "invaluble resource for learning the ins and outs of using XML in Flash" you might want to offer more than just the source code.
"[URL]will also have message boards and Frequently Asked Questions so you can find quick answers to any questions that need answering."
Please go to the website and look for yourself.
[URL]
The page was last modified 3/25/2002 and here it is months later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, but full of Errors, July 24 2002
By 
JD (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: XML in Flash (Paperback)
This book is a MUST HAVE if you plan on working with XML within Flash. The book covers all the details of working with ActionScript and XML. I started out with little knowledge of ActionScript and working with the ActionScript associated with Flash's XML objects and methods. The authors explain almost every thing so clearly, that you understand not only how to work with the XML objects and methods, but how to work with ActionScript. I've found that there are quite a few errors that cause things not to work, which kind of bugged. But with my new knowledge was able to correct the bugs. .... I gave it 4 stars because it was enjoyable learning, easy to understand and I was able to do what I wanted...Learn XML in Flash, I would have given it a +5 if the errors wouldn't have been there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, Jan. 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: XML in Flash (Paperback)
I bought this book not knowing what to expect, the description promised quite a bit of know-how was contained within. Pleased to say it was well worth it. Prior to getting this book, I'd gotten good with ActionScript and JavaScript but to hook Flash up with any back-end scripting or XML for my clients I've always been calling other people to consult and half the time had to just go with HTML instead.
I always had a fear of any of those 3-letter languages (ASP/PHP) since the few books I'd gotten on them were way to heavy on programming theory and usually lacking on real world examples, and definitely never had an example of how to connect those things to Flash! There's a good sampling of how to effectively use XML with Flash and working through the examples let me finally understand many concepts that previously had been just out of my grasp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Up to the Mark!!, Jan. 19 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: XML in Flash (Paperback)
XML in Flash begins by illustrating the basics of XML and the Flash XML Object.
In Part I, Flash is used as a teaching aid as you learn the basics of Flash/XML integration.
Part II covers how Flash works with middleware languages, such as PHP and ASP, as well as performance and optimization. You will also create a Flash message board with a database. Part
III delves into the advantages of XMLSocket. Hands-on projects include creating a stock market ticker to receive XML data from servers. Finally, the appendixes include invaluable reference information on XML, XMLNode objects, and XMLSocket objects, as well as Frequently Asked Questions.
The example applications also illustrate the key concepts necessary for understanding the Flash/XML relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

XML in Flash
XML in Flash by Gregg Caines (Paperback - Dec 18 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews