Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Presents the new capabilities of PowerBuilder 9
PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development is the collaborative effort of computer expters William Green and John D. Olson and comprehensively presents the new capabilities of PowerBuilder 9 along with the architecture and patterns required to create distributed systems in PowerBuilder. Recommended for intermediate to advanced users, PowerBuilder 9:...
Published on Jan. 12 2004 by Midwest Book Review

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Should be called 'Developing for Sybase EAServer'
Full book is devoted to Sybase EAServer. In some chapters you can learn something about PowerBuilder with EAServer. I was expecting more about JSP and Web Targets. Buy it **only** if you are planning to use Sybase EAServer.
Published on Oct. 13 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Presents the new capabilities of PowerBuilder 9, Jan. 12 2004
This review is from: PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development (Paperback)
PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development is the collaborative effort of computer expters William Green and John D. Olson and comprehensively presents the new capabilities of PowerBuilder 9 along with the architecture and patterns required to create distributed systems in PowerBuilder. Recommended for intermediate to advanced users, PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development deftly addresses development Web and Intranet-based systems, including Web Services, Portals, Application-Servers, XML, and Mobile Access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book/Handy reference, March 19 2004
This review is from: PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development (Paperback)
For newbiew like me, this is the bible for entering the n-tier world with EAServer. Gives me a very good comparison with other options too.
After having bought this book for my work, I have found my colleagues who take this book for reference often appreciating it's contents, especially for the tips & tricks and well laid out examples.
I recommend all the PowerBuilder/Internet developers to invest in this book. Very affordable with good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rehash of old information, Feb. 4 2004
By 
M. W. Paulson "gistic52" (Georgetown, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development (Paperback)
I have worked with PB since its inception about 12 years ago. During that time I have purchased everything written about it. This is the worst effort put into print. It is simply a rehash of articles on xml, soap, and internet theory. There is no relationship between PB 9 and this text other than the mention of it by the authors. Save yourself some money and wait or something that actually shows you how to develop internet and distributed applications -- this one does not!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Power Builder 9.0.1 and EAServer 4.2.1, Nov. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development (Paperback)
The best resourse for PB programmers who want migrate to web platform. The only resourse available to discover concepts in the steps of PB (User Objects) deploy to EAServer for web use.
Great distributed application concepts and evolution of infrastructures.
Good J2EE reference concerning to EAServer components.
If you're working with EAServer 4 you must have this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bible of Power Builder 9.0.1 to EAServer 4.21, Nov. 13 2003
By 
"luis_o" (Caguas, P.R. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development (Paperback)
Simply the first book writed specially to cover all the concept and development steps to create and deploy PB user objects to EAServer.
Cover the basics concepts of EAServer functionality and integration with other languages and tools. And advance techniques.
Very usefull for my job (PB Distributed & EAServer Web Applications).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful for me, Oct. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development (Paperback)
I am almost 10 Years with Powerbuilder. I thought this book will show me step by step EA Server and Internet Development, as the Cover Page named after. But this book completely disappointed me. Lots of contents without generating any interest to read the next page, even the next line....
Wish there be a good book on Powerbuilder 9 and Internet Development! This book is not really showing how to start up and go step by step building internet applications.
I am waiting for a good book on PB 9 in the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Should be called 'Developing for Sybase EAServer', Oct. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development (Paperback)
Full book is devoted to Sybase EAServer. In some chapters you can learn something about PowerBuilder with EAServer. I was expecting more about JSP and Web Targets. Buy it **only** if you are planning to use Sybase EAServer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development
PowerBuilder 9: Internet and Distributed Application Development by John D. Olson (Paperback - Sept. 23 2003)
CDN$ 67.99 CDN$ 42.83
Usually ships in 1 to 3 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews