Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Imagery!
Wonderful Imagery!
Rushdie creates a wonderful panorama and guides us through post-1947 nehru's india toward indira's new india as his characters move across the length and breadth of india, associating themselves with history, witnessing its events, and occasionally being a part of them. From the old Kashmir with the silent dal lake to the massacre at...
Published on May 15 2002 by Kalyan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but confusing
Salman Rushdie's writing style is easily to fall in love with, but it didn't take long before I realized that no matter how much I loved the way the words flowed on the page, I didn't really get what was going on. Rushdie's Midnight's Children is a densely packed tale of babies switched at birth, a nation divided, magic, history, love, prejudice, and war. It's...
Published on Sept. 6 2010 by Andrea


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, Feb. 15 2001
By 
Emilia Palaveeva "ema-in-seattle" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight's Children (Paperback)
I am still afraid to get another book by Rushdie in fear that I will be disappointed. The Midnight Chldren is funny, warm and very touching, at the same time providing the reader with plenty of food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lost in the maze, July 20 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight's Children (Paperback)
I enjoyed the first couple of chapters of this book immensely but got lost at the end. It flows brilliantly in some parts, and is completely confusing in others. Honestly I did not know what to make of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A clever book, a bit too clever!, Aug. 5 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight's Children (Hardcover)
The book is a allegorical polemic, done in great style. It has flashes of brilliance and very clever passages. But ultimately, it fails to transcend the contortions of its plot to great, universal literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific journey, Jan. 4 2013
I read this over an extended period of time and enjoyed every word and tale written. Rushdie's descriptions are brilliant and his stories are very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, July 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight's Children (Hardcover)
There is little else to say. Rushdie provides a mystical portrait of independence. Make sure to read a book covering the history of India to gain a deeper understanding of this ever evolving land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Midnight's children, July 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight's Children (Paperback)
Amazing book. I would recommend it to anyone travelling to India or visiting it. It provides a rich literary experience and adds a touch of "masala" to an ingenious and rare story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read!, Jan. 9 2002
This review is from: Midnight's Children (Paperback)
I could go on for a long time about this book. I have read a lot of books but this one is probaly the best post war book, and for sure on of the best books ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the very best, Aug. 31 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight's Children (Paperback)
This incredible book was certainly one of the best books I have ever read. It was my first book by Rushdie. I definitly plan on reading all of his other books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and thoroughly enjoyed reading my first Salman Rushie novel, Sept. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a very stimulating read. I found myself very energized while reading it , and thoroughly enjoyed reading my first Salman Rushie novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the finest novels of the 20th century., Aug. 15 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight's Children (Paperback)
Brims with invention on every page. Recommended to anyone interested in fiction. Buy it in hardcover it is a novel you will want to re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight's Children: A Novel
Midnight's Children: A Novel by Salman Rushdie (Paperback - June 10 1997)
CDN$ 22.00 CDN$ 15.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews