Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life changer
This book changed my life as, after 13 years of struggling with my son over behaviours that I did not understand but wished to support, an explanation for the experiences we had had unfolded on these pages. Gabor Mate writes a research-based piece that is much more comprehensive and human than any other source I have read on the subject of ADHD. I have gone on to read all...
Published on Feb. 15 2010 by Isabel Rose

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Take on ADHD
3.5 Stars - An interesting, engaging, and well-written book.

However, readers should keep in mind that there is substantial speculation (the role of early relationships in the develoipment of ADHD) and self-referencing, and limited clear guidance for treatment and self-maangment. Look elsewhere for more concrete science-based information and for treatment...
Published on July 18 2012 by B. Keith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life changer, Feb. 15 2010
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
This book changed my life as, after 13 years of struggling with my son over behaviours that I did not understand but wished to support, an explanation for the experiences we had had unfolded on these pages. Gabor Mate writes a research-based piece that is much more comprehensive and human than any other source I have read on the subject of ADHD. I have gone on to read all of the other books that Gabor Mate has written, and although they seem to be on different topics, he has a magical way of intertwining his subject matters, bringing a human face to sometimes seemingly hopeless and tragic situations and his heart and soul comes through his writing. I have also seen him speak live - he is truly one of our great Canadians who is contributing to helping us understand and build a healthier society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Take on ADHD, July 18 2012
By 
B. Keith (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
3.5 Stars - An interesting, engaging, and well-written book.

However, readers should keep in mind that there is substantial speculation (the role of early relationships in the develoipment of ADHD) and self-referencing, and limited clear guidance for treatment and self-maangment. Look elsewhere for more concrete science-based information and for treatment guidelines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, scientific, wholistic approach, Sept. 28 2010
By 
W. Cheung "Wil" (Vancouver, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
Contrary to other reviewer's claims that his theories is not unscientifically supported, I would say that there is increasing support for Mate's take on brain development, due to the fact that his book leans heavily on the research of John Bowlby. John Bowlby's ground breaking research into how the mother-infant connection affects the neurological and emotional growth was so ahead of its time, (he published it in the early 20th century) that it is only now that the research is coming in.

Mate's book is compassionate, and humanistic and does not look for easy solutions, because frankly, there aren't any. While he describes ADD as a neurological impairment, he suggest that the relational and physical environment one continues to grow up in as a child, and live in as an adult, can encourage regrowth and rewiring. He suggest medications are not a first line of defense but must be approached within a strong healing relationships.

I highly recommend this book for psychologists, physicians, teachers and parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read for Every Parent, May 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
I wish I had read this book prior to having children, as I would have done so much differently. That said, it offers strategies that work, and mostly, hope! I'm already seeing differences in my home with my "scattered" child. This book has the right balance of personal stories, science, psychology and strategies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful ideas with a deep understanding of the subject, Jan. 21 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
This author has done a thorough job of describing Attention Deficit Disorder. I don't agree with all his conclusions but think his perspective on this subject is more than worth considering. He has a deep understanding of the subject and clearly wants to help both the people who live with ADHD and the people who love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Mate's Half-Baked Theory on ADHD Needs some Critical Re-Evaluation, Dec 31 2013
By 
Elizabeth Smith "An Interested Party" (North America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
I agree very much with reviewer Joanna, who points out that AD(H)D is not caused by maternal neglect, as Dr. Mate claims. The damage he is doing with that nonsense idea! I see shades of the badly dis-credited "Refrigerator Mother" theory of Bruno Bettelheim here, whose work insisted some decades ago that Autism was caused by emotionally cold mothers. Thank God we know better now, but not until Dr. Bettelheim wreaked havoc with his skewed views.

Another blame-the-mother theory championed by a since discredited doctor was the infamous Munchausen-by-Proxy theory. Notice the pattern? Doctors who fail to find the real answers consider mothers a convenient scapegoat. Shame on them.

Dr. Gabor Mate is doing likewise in the ADHD/ADD world. Is it because he writes out of the "wholistic" vein that everyone equates his warm fuzziness with the truth? For goodness' sake, Dr. Mate is only a GP (though he has left clinical medical practice altogether these days), and as such he was never qualified medically to diagnose or provide overall therapy for ADHD/ADD patients. GPs are not generally known for their research savvy, either. Reading through this book, I was shocked at arguable statements concerning Genetics. Yes, science does have evidence now that many cases of ADHD/ADD are due to genetic problems alone. See the current medical literature on this topic.

The author writes in the soothing tones that so many readers want to hear. Unfortunately, his "facts" may not stand up under any real scientific spotlight. This book should be given a more critical review. Remember, Dr. Mate is trying to sell a product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend., June 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
This book helped me so much with my recent diagnosis of adult ADHD. It was comforting to know I am not alone. Highly recommend this book to anyone who has or knows someone with ADHD. Gabor Mate is an incredible person and his knowledge has helped change my life in so many positive ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ADHD is Often Reversible, March 21 2014
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
Gabor Mate has it exactly right The opposite of scattered is attached. The opposite of asleep is awake.

This book reminds us that our love, kindness, compassion, reliability and dependability are solutions of utmost importance to restoring happiness and vitality to children.

There is no need to blame anyone for causes of conditions we may not yet fully understand. (Very sadly, in 50's and 60's, 'faulty mothering' was supposed to be the prime cause of schizophrenia.)

Nate simply advises solutions.

Eleanor Cowan, author of A History of a Pedophile's Wife: Memoir of a Canadian Teacher and Writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scattered Minds, March 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder (Paperback)
A very interesting and helpful read! It arrived promptly and in good condition. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to know more about living with ADD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is unique in that it is written from the perspective of a doctor who himself has ADD and at the same time treats others with the disorder. His poignant description of his own struggle and recognition of the effects he had on his own family is heart-rendingly honest. It is a difficult, soul-searching but essential read for any ADD parent with their own ADD kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 16.57
Usually ships in 10 to 11 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews