summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Furniture All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars60
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 23, 2016
Good Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
not what I thought it would be, but a good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
I got this book from my local library and loved it so much I wanted my own copy. As someone who has survived cancer and it still surviving it this book served as a wake up call.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2016
Just buy it!!!! Wonderful Learn so much about past and disease
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2016
A very important book on the cost of hidden stress. Dr Mate writes with great knowledge support & compassion to help those struggling with identifying and finding solutions for their stress
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
There are undoubtedly connections between emotional stress, coping styles and illness. But this author overstates these connections, highlighting only research that supports his hypotheses and often citing studies that are not only very very old, but have been repeatedly criticized in the literature. Dr. Mate talks at great length about trauma (during childhood and adulthood) as if it is solely experienced by individuals suffering from serious ailments like autoimmune disorders, cancers and degenerative conditions when this is obviously far from the truth. Nowhere near enough attention is given to the genetic and environmental connections that are known to cause many of the illnesses he describes. And, though not specifically stated, this book treads into the uncomfortable territory of implying blame for many of these conditions. This book seems to contribute to the growing body of literature on the Internet and otherwise that promote alternative ways of understanding and coping with illness, despite the lack of evidence for these techniques. It does seem that Dr. Mate cares about his patients, and certainly one can only benefit from finding healthy coping mechanisms to deal with stress, but I suspect that very few current medical specialists with success in treating any of these complex disorders would support his overstated ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2016
Love it - thanks!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
This is a fabulous read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
I have no doubt that many ailments we suffer from , including addiction, result from inadequate emotional nurturing, and there is no doubt that feelings manifest through nerve impulses, production of hormones, and immunological reactions. Even a certain percentage of various autoimmune disease are triggered by unknown causes, which seem likely to include stress. However, I am very uncomfortable with the implication that poor nurturing is the sole cause of our ailments. We dont want to swing back to the era when Bruno Bettelheim ascribed autism to frigid mothers, whereas we know it has a genetic cause, through twin studies in particular. Similarly, alcoholism and depression, have genetic links, This is demonstrated in twin studies, wjhich include twins separated at birth into separate famlies who never experience the same environments. Diabetes I is an autoimmune disease that starts in infancy before poor nurturing has a chance to have an effect. Genetics play a large role in our health, even though unquestionably the family and social environment have an important role. It makes me extremely uncomfortable that I've seen only one review of his book by a qualified person, and that his supporters including naturopaths and readers of Chopra. It also bothers me that Mate quotes Candace Pert. Even though she was one of the co-discovers of endorphins, she really went off the rails a few years after being on the lecture circuit in her book. For example, she made an ill-considered and utterly insupportable suggestion that the diagrams of "chakras" which have no physiological or anatomical correlates, remind her of images she'd glanced at of the ganglia of the sympathetic chain. These are grossly visible in dissection, much more numerous than chakras and have clearly demonstrated physiological functions which differ enormously from chakras. There are many other such speculations in her book.
I dont doubt that many people lives have improved through coming to grips with the shortcomings of their upbrinigng, but genetic causes and other environmental causes are real (I dont dispute that emotional damage can lead to smoking but there are other factors) Being an MD gives you more credibiity than a naturopath, but it still means basically 4 years of cramming. Deepak Chopra has an MD but his "Quantum Healing" is considered a bad joke by physicists and doctors alike.
Sure he can find scientific papers that seem to give support to his work, but this can be done with cherry picking. We need a review by someone who has seen all the papers. The single review I have seen referred to is by a family physician who gives his book a positive review but very politley says in effect - we have to wait for scientific research to catch up with his work . That is a very diplomatic way to phrase it.
Please, someone competent review this book. The fact that a few individuals have experienced relief of their symptoms does not mean that facng underlying psychological roots of stress is the sole explanation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse