summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 5, 2016
Eden Robinson reveals the fine line between the 'real' world and the spirit world with her beautiful prose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
GOOD READ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
I was born and raised in Kitimat. Was a trip down memory lane for me. But also was a great quick easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
This was a fantastic read! An original Aboriginal gothic story.
Insight into the beautiful, scary, spiritual and physical journey of an Indigenous girl trying to find her brother lost at sea and what it means to be Haisla woman. I think this book is important to west coast indigenous history and draws on such intimacy that you won't forget it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
still gotta read...came quickly tho
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
The characters in this book jumped off the page - beautiful, evocative of the BC coast, full of mystery and intrigue and spirits..I couldn't put it down, and as soon as I did I wanted to read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2014
I enjoyed every aspect of this story, a subject which I rarely read about. The descriptions elicit such visual presence. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
Monkey Beach is really good. Especially the quality it came in was incredible. I really connected to the novel even though I am not native or know the native religion. I believe that anyone can fall for the novel if they keep reading none stop, sometimes it is confusing, but it's easy to understand the literature if you have a low vocabulary spend (like me). Anyone could read this and I really recommend reading this!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2012
Lisa, a tough chick, sets out to find her lost brother and there's nothing anyone (or anything) can do to stop her.
Jimmy, Lisa's brother, has set out on a fishing boat and has failed to return although Lisa just knows that she can find answers on Monkey Beach, a place where the supernatural lurks in the shadows. The plot is not linear, but rather goes back and forth through her past and present. Through the stories that she shares about her past, the relationships she had with her Ma-ma-oo and her Uncle Mick take center stage and serve to encourage her spirit and the connection she has with the spirit world. This connection helps her in searching for her brother, however Robinson does not spend as much time on the plot as she does on characterization. The main bulk of the book is spent on her memories which transport the readers to her childhood in Kitamaat, on the western shore of B.C. where she encounters domestic abuse and alcoholism to when she suffers it herself in Vancouver. This book illustrates many painful issues which obscures the main plot of her brother's whereabouts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$19.43