biss boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$16.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on November 20, 2015
Already knew that this is the best book that I had ever read I was just replacing my "loaned and never returned" copy. An amazing read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2015
excellent book. New and delivered well before our book club date
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2015
Fascinating book....hard to put down as the story line moved along nicely
Very enjoyable read....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2015
At the age of seven, Kate loses her parents in a car accident. Her two teenage brothers, Luke and Matt, take on the responsibility of raising Kate and their younger sister, Bo. Twenty years later, as a successful professor, Kate returns to her rural northern Ontario community and must come to terms with her own grief and resentment.

This book is, frankly, stunning. The prose is beautiful, the interweaving of past and present is flawless, and the author shows instead of tells. Northern Ontario, in all its remoteness and beauty, comes alive, as do each and every one of the characters.

Truly satisfying on every level.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
The first book I read by Mary Larson in a series of three books about Northern Ontario, taking place in different generations. Characters do not necessarily carry forward into the next books, but if you pay attention some will appear or references will be made to past characters. Which makes for a very interesting set of books. Fantastic read! I loved every word. Highly recommend!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
Fantastic read!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2014
Another great book with this author, one can only hope she will write many more. I would recommend this books to everyone.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
Loved it from page one on wards until the end. Looking forward to reading Mary Lawson's recent book Road Ends..
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2012
The book arrived in almost 10 days after the order and only the pages r kind of yellowish but a really good bet for $ 0.01 (its jokes) well it cost me $ 6.something with shipping.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2008
One of my favourite Canadian books - exploring life in small town Canada. Great book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$16.19