Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Sacred Tree, June 14 2007
This review is from: The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed (Paperback)
This won the 2005 Governor General's Award for non-fiction. It's core is about Grant Hadwin, an environmentalist who chopped down a 300 year old Sitka golden spruce, but a lot of other history is given: logging in British Columbia; the native Haida's culture and the influence European settlers had on them; the settlement of cities on the West coast. The mystery behind Hadwin's motive and his subsequent disappearance after destroying the sacred tree didn't interest me as much as the descriptions of the Haidi and the history of lumbering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book!, Dec 1 2008
By 
This review is from: The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed (Paperback)
Even thought this book has been out awhile I just stumbled across it a couple of months ago. It caught my eye because I have relatives who live on Haida Gwaii and just got back from visiting the beautiful island. Not only were the details about the loss of the beloved tree and the circumstances surrounding it fascinating, but the book also gave me alot of information about the logging industry (it's history, etc.) that I didn't know about. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Words don't do justice..., Dec 1 2007
This review is from: The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed (Paperback)
I completely agree with all other positive reviews, especially David Boe's response.

The emotions that this book elicits in the reader are difficult to describe in words. Vaillant's work has the ability to entertain readers of many different backgrounds and tastes. I found myself intentionally reading this book more slowly than others because I didn't want it to end.

Please do your heart, mind, and soul a favour and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, April 25 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed (Paperback)
This is a very informative and interesting story. This book gives the reader insight into the foresting industry and the things that drive it. In many ways, such a book is just what Hadwin hoped to inspire: I good hard look at the irony of saving one tree while destroying so many. I take away one star because it can be very fact heavy. However, I came away from the reading a much more informed person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed (Paperback)
great book a little too much history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed reading it, June 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Extremely well written and very informative. Really enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a new find of an author for me, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed (Paperback)
a lovable and readable nonfiction that I couldn't put down for all us lazy self proclaimed intellectuals that want our nonfiction in easy doses. I have kept reading his other offers and looking forward to the next effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Spruce, Dec 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed (Paperback)
It was a truly exciting book, also set here on Vancouver Island, Canada, where I live. People in the Book club didn't want to try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like how John Vaillant writes, Nov. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed (Paperback)
Like his othe book about siberian tigers. This is a very informative book as well. Hope that he will continue writing and come up with as interesting books as his first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed
The Golden Spruce: A True Story of Myth, Madness and Greed by John Vaillant (Paperback - Jan. 3 2006)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews