Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History is people
Most of us will have little knowledge of the Biafra war, except, possibly, for the media's haunting images of starving children. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie brings her people's world to us in this beautifully crafted, deeply moving, novel. Set in Nigeria during the 1960s, the narrative alternates between the optimistic early years of the decade and the civil war period at...
Published on Feb. 15 2007 by Friederike Knabe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad Story
This is not an uplifting book. The story of how Biafra was established and then taken back by Nigeria, it was a bit depressing but uplifting in how the people stuck to their beliefs, and tried so hard to do with so little. I would say the book is a real culture shock, and a bit too long in terms of political details, but overall it was a good read if not a happy one.
Published 10 months ago by Lipant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History is people, Feb. 15 2007
By 
Friederike Knabe "Books are funny little port... (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Hardcover)
Most of us will have little knowledge of the Biafra war, except, possibly, for the media's haunting images of starving children. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie brings her people's world to us in this beautifully crafted, deeply moving, novel. Set in Nigeria during the 1960s, the narrative alternates between the optimistic early years of the decade and the civil war period at the end of it. With her extraordinary storytelling skill, Adichie draws the reader into an absorbing account of fictionalized realities that is impossible to put down - or to forget after the last page is read. With this, her second novel, she confirms her international reputation, established first with Purple Hibiscus, as one of the leading new voices of African literature.

While the war for Biafra's independence, born out of highly complex Nigerian and international political circumstances, provides the essential context for the novel, Adichie's focus is on the personal and private, the struggle of the civilian Igbo population. Her depiction of the horrors of war, the starvation and destruction is realistic. Yet she does not allow these scenes to take over and succeeds in not overwhelming the reader with them. By concentrating on one family and its close circle of friends and neighbours, Adichie creates an intimate portrait of these people's lives during both these critical periods. She paints her characters and their ongoing interactions against the panoramic view of events and environments that influence their lives and challenges their peace and even their existence.

Central to her story are the twin sisters, Olanna and Kainene, from a wealthy middleclass Igbo family. The beautiful Olanna leaves Lagos for a university environment to be with her political firebrand lover, the math professor Odenigbo. Kainene, on the other hand, having inherited their father's talents, shines as a confident business woman. English researcher and writer, Richard, friend of Odenigbo, falls under her spell. Adichie explores the interactions sisterly intimacy and love as well as its serious tests with sensitivity and empathy for both. Through them and their surroundings she also touches on the social, political and religious tensions of the time.

The list of main characters wouldn't be complete without Ugwu. Brought into the Odenigbo household as a house boy, he matures from the naive village boy to become a well educated, articulate and caring member of the extended family. In fact, Ugwu acts as a sort of understudy to the narrator, adding a very distinctly personal flair to the description of events and bridging the reality of his own family's rural environment with that of the intellectually stimulating social gatherings at the professor's house.

During the war years, intimacies, friendships and loyalties are put to the test. Will they survive the dramatically changed circumstances that the group finds itself in? Some are evicted from their homes and have to join the endless stream of refugees to find shelter and food for survival. Others move into remote rural areas to escape the fighting. Olanna's efforts to maintain her dignity and to protect her small family come alive on the page. So does Kainene's work with her confidence that she can beat adversity and barriers in her efforts to maintain the supplies for a refugee camp. They don't lose hope or humanity. Odenigbo and Richard have their own demons to tackle. And Ugwu juggles his various roles while attempting to maintain something of a private life for himself.

Half of a Yellow Sun, also the symbol of the short-lived Biafran state, represents some of the best that storytelling has to offer. With strong imagery and beautiful language Adichie has created a masterwork. [Friederike Knabe]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and engaging novel, March 19 2009
By 
Shelley T. Malo (Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Paperback)
I had been suffering from an inability to complete a novel for a period of months. I found myself losing interest mid-way through books and thought something was wrong with me. I joined a book club and through discussion with the members thought perhaps it was the books I was reading and not me. When it was my turn to host the book club I chose this novel and began reading with trepidation. Well I was fully engaged from start to finish and confirmed that it wasn't me, the problem was in fact the books I had been reading!
I loved this book, as did the other members of my club. I found the characters so real and interesting and their stories consuming. I learned a great deal from this book, not only the history of this civil war, but also about people. I love the way the author set her story in such a horrific time without making the novel feel like a prelude to depression and hopelessness. The book was real and not without tragedy, yet hope and resilience were the prevailing themes. The book follows many characters without confusing the reader or watering down their stories. It truly is the work of a highly skilled author!
Definitely on a must read list and my current number one recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page after page, simply wonderful, July 30 2008
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Paperback)
In Nigeria, devastated by civil war in the 1960s, we see the birth of the state of Biafra and relearn quite a bit of history. It is through the eyes of three different characters, whose personal tales intertwine, that history blends with their difficult paths:

Ugwu, a houseboy for eccentric university lecturer Odenigbo. Olanna, whose parents raise her and twin sister Kainene in the most privileged of backgrounds in Lagos; she leaves everything behind to follow Odenigbo as they are very much in love. Richard, a timid British national charmed by the Igbo culture and enthralled by Kainene, whose personality is an enigma for everyone. Obviously many other characters rotate all around and as we become acquainted with each of them, their presence is always pertinent and complementary to the main story.

I would not add anything else as the tale would be spoiled but I cannot refrain from strongly recommending this book as it is informative in many ways, its narrative flows beautifully, heartbreakingly, even comically at times and your heart is captured within the lines. It does not dwell on the violence of war even though it (the violence) is perceived in subtle but incredibly effective ways.

Read this book, you will not regret it. Quoting from my review title, simply wonderful, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ties That Bind . . . in Peace and War, May 7 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Hardcover)
Highly recommended!

Strip away the thin veneer of civilization, and history teaches that you can quickly fall into savagery. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie disagrees with that conclusion. She sees elemental nobility in people that overcomes for most even the most trying conditions. As a result, Half of a Yellow Sun is a very hopeful work, despite recounting the horrors of the Biafran attempt to separate from Nigeria in 1967-70. She also realizes that even the best people will slip up . . . and deserve forgiveness when they do if they repent.

However, betray someone at a personal level . . . and that's much harder to take than mere life-threatening and degrading challenges. The contrast between surviving external conditions and personal betrayal is deftly and powerfully made in this kaleidoscope of how world politics, colonial policies, religious differences, tribal influences, geographical prejudices, racism, economic class consciousness, business activities, family connections, friendships, sexual desire, obligations, and personal favors interplay.

At the center of the story is one household at rural Nsukka University comprised of the socialist-leaning professor Odenigbo, his beautiful mistress Olanna, daughter of Chief Ozobia, and their houseboy, Ugwu. The plot also heavily involves Olanna's fraternal twin sister, Kainene, who runs the family business interests and her lover, the ineffectual English writer, Richard Churchill. Intellectuals from Odenigbo's university circles also stand-in as surrogates for various attitudes in society. In fact, each character is clearly symbolic of one part of the story or the other. Follow their fates, and you get a good sense of the author's ideas of what happened to the overall social fabric.

Two things make this book special: First, Ms. Adichie has captured the psychologies of different times in Nigeria and Biafra in a subtle and interesting way. Her book is very much more about the psychological landscape than about the physical one. No doubt she was helped by her interviews with her relatives and others still living who experienced those days. Second, she takes the time to endow ordinary life with extraordinary meaning. It's a beautiful gift.

The book has two weaknesses from my perspective: Ms. Adichie curiously decides to turn some of the personal events into a mystery so that for some pages you see characters estranged from one another . . . but without knowing the reason. I felt like this approach simply served to make the story harder to understand . . . as though the reader didn't really qualify to know family matters. The other weakness is that many characters are drawn very superficially while Ms. Adichie shows enormous skill in portraying great depths concerning Olanna, Ugwu, and Odenigbo.

For those of us who don't live in Africa, it's always exciting to see events there from the perspective of Africans . . . rather than American journalists and visiting politicians. I felt deeply rewarded by reading this fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and epic masterpiece on gender, power, war, and the postcolonial struggle for Biafran independence, Jan. 15 2009
By 
J. Pollock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Paperback)
A brilliant novel by a brilliant novelist. Adiche employs her beautiful prose as a means of exploring the complicated and nuanced history of the struggle for Biafran independence. Half of a Sun approaches the Biafran war in a nuanced manner through a diverse group of protagonists, each with different perspectives on the ensuing conflict. Her exploration of politics, gender, sex, war, power, and the postcolonial Nigerian context are enthralling. Half of a Yellow Sun is an epic masterpiece and one of the best books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Biafran Tragedy Not Over, July 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Paperback)
Interesting book on Biafra, bringing forward details that we read about at the time and making them human. Shows the strength of the female psyches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read!!, Dec 28 2009
By 
P. Field "avid reader" (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Paperback)
This book is a must-read. Generally I do not enjoy books about war, civil or otherwise, but Adichie does a marvellous job of creating characters you won't want to leave, and you will follow them spell-bound as they experience the horrors of civil war.

Historically this book opened my eyes, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting tale of love, politics, war and depravity, March 17 2014
By 
Len (Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ms. Chimamanda tells her story using three different narrators, Ugwa, a houseboy who moves from a tiny village to work for Odenigbo, a professor at a university in the Nigerian town of Nsukka. Odenigbo treats Ugwa as more than a houseboy teaching him English and sending him to school so that he can become educated and perhaps, not always a houseboy. Olanna, Odenigbo’s romantic interest is the second narrator and daughter of a wealthy chief from the capital of Lagos. The final narrator is Richard Churchill, a Brit, who’s arrived in Nigeria to pursue his writing and follow an interest in Igbo artifacts that date back hundreds of years. Coincidentally, he falls in love with Olanna’s twin sister Kanene. It’s the early sixties and intellectuals such as Odenigbo are planning the separation of Bithe southern portion of Nigeria into the new nation of Biafra with a planned flag that features half of a yellow sun. Biafra would be home to the Igbo who mainly follow Christian and animistic faiths. In the north, live the Moslem Hausa and Falani peoples. An amicable separation might have been possible if the future location of Biafra did not possess most of the oil reserves in the country. After Biafra declares independence in 1966, as many as 30,000 Igbo people caught in the mainly Hausa populated north were slaughtered before they could reach the safety of their new country. War broke out and the Biafran people were cut off from supplies of food and medicine. The hardships of war and starvation are well documented by Ms. Chimamanda’s and provide my first in depth understanding of what went on there at the time. With her three narrators she is able provide multiple perspectives of the war that provide a riveting tale of love, politics, war and depravity that will stay with me long after I finished the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I have ever read, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Paperback)
After having spent a lot of time in West Africa, this book has really captured my heart. No matter who you are or where you live, this is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., Nov. 17 2014
By 
A. R. Laidlaw (Pontiac, Quebec) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Half of a Yellow Sun (Paperback)
I put off reading this because of the mention of the war in Biafra, but it is not depressing. Sad in places, but fascinating. Set in the early and late 1960s in Nigeria it follows three main characters: a houseboy, a woman from a rich family, and a lost white Englishman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Half of a Yellow Sun
Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Paperback - Sept. 4 2007)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews