Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Wade Davis
A deeply moving epic that takes you from the depths of human misery in the trenches of France to the roof of the world in Tibet; from missiles and mud to mountain vistas, and the group of men who represented some of the best of the survivors of the "lost generation", yes, warts and all.

In 1999 Mallory's body was discoverd on Everest giving us no clue as to...
Published on Oct. 13 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Into The Silence
There are so many geographical references in the book that without a good map one has trouble relating to the topography being described. Route illustrations would add much to the descriptions provided. Otherwise a pretty good read for people who like lots of detail. The descriptions of the horrific incompetence of WW1 allied leadership and the mechanized death that...
Published 21 months ago by Lynne (Tim) Hutchins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Wade Davis, Oct. 13 2011
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
A deeply moving epic that takes you from the depths of human misery in the trenches of France to the roof of the world in Tibet; from missiles and mud to mountain vistas, and the group of men who represented some of the best of the survivors of the "lost generation", yes, warts and all.

In 1999 Mallory's body was discoverd on Everest giving us no clue as to wether or not he had summited. With none of the modern climbing gear that is now taken for granted, we know that he and his partner at least came very close. After reading the book it somehow dosn't matter.....but that missing picture of Mallory's wife has made me a believer.

I very much appreciated the references to the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, the "Blue Puttees". Who knows what heights those young men could have gained had they lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book of 2012, Oct. 14 2012
By 
bookweasel (Calgary AB) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
An amazing read. Starts with the Great War stuff. General Haig and his cronies were definitely completely stupid and cowards too. None of the general staff went near where the fighting was. They sat miles back and sent hundreds of thousands to meaningless deaths. Yes that was hundreds of thousands. Such a waste for no reason.

On to the Everest expeditions of 1921, 1922 and 1924. Much to be learned here. The development of mountaineering techniques including the use of oxygen. How the area was mapped by a Canadian. The amazing stupidity of the Alpine Club members who made decisions entirely based on class without regard for skills and abilities. How the Tibetans lived particularly in relation to their religion.

A terrific read on so many levels."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wade Davis hits another one out of the park !, Dec 30 2011
By 
Allan Wakefield (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
Wade Davis does an outstanding job in "Into the Silence". He describes the early attempts to climb Mount Everest, focusing on the men involved and placing them in their historical context-- World War I, the British Raj and etc. This is an extraordinary tale, thoroughly researched and imaginatively told. I thoroughly recommend it.

Allan Wakefield
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest, Dec 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a thrilling, historical book. One of the best on Everest, very detailed, left nothing out. I now understand how difficult it must be to be a mountain climber. Certainly not for the faint of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars into the silence, Jan. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
An intriguing look at a fascinating phenomena. Very well put together. I will be pleased to dive back in for another read of this fine piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Books Ever, Oct. 17 2014
Into the Silence is one of the most entertaining and informative books I have ever read. I am a person who had to give away some 4,000 books a few years ago for lack of space and has read omnivorously since the age of three.

Davis recreates the pampered, upper class English generation born around 1885 (with a few notable colonials thrown in, such as the talented Canadian, John Wheeler). Then the calamity of WW I descends and the men who later figure large in the first three British attempts on Everest are followed through the trenches, the death and stink of rotting men and horses, the field surgeries and the breaking of minds by a disgusting, unnecessary war. The descriptions of the horror of WW I are the best I have ever read.

And then the British decide to show the world that empire prevails. The conquest of Everest will prove the certainty of English superiority (no Scots were allowed). We journey through the Raj, from Darjeeling to the North Face through a Tibet that the Chinese dictatorship has destroyed and our intrepid 1921 explorers start to wander around the massive base of Everest to find a way up. Davis gives vivid descriptions of the glaciers, cascades of flowers, the mighty rivers and, above all, the unconquered peak.

The 1922 and 1924 introduce Mallory and his manic obsession to climb the mountain that will take his life. A cast of indomitable characters accompany Mallory. And English imperialism reigns supreme. A favourite incident is the night Mallory, at 22,000 feet, had a single, one man tent. Mallory slept in the tent. His Tibetan bearers slept on the snow without a blanket. And you discover the name of the British officer who invented short pants and all sorts of other delightful detail.

The book could be improved with more pictures and detailed maps. But Google Earth shows all the ridges, glaciers and valleys around Everest and is best kept near by while reading the book. Davis writes in a vivid, flowing style that makes this book difficult to put down.

The descriptions of Tibetan life contrast greatly with the current destruction of their culture. All my aging climbing friends read the book as I coursed through its pages. We all talked of flowing the route from Darjeeling to the North face until we learned the dictatorship has extended its railway from Lhasa to the monastery city of Shigatse.

The book is on my pile of books I must definitely read again. And I must before I leave the planet get to the Kharta Valley in August when all the flowers are in bloom, a riot of colour set against the 14,000 feet of the Kangshung ice fall and glacier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everest, Then and Now, Oct. 28 2012
By 
Steven Threndyle "stevet" (North Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have a LOT of half finished mountaineering tomes in my basement library, but this is not one of them. Over the years I've been of two minds about Davis, but this book belongs right up there with the writings of Paul Fussell and Jared Diamond in terms of being both gripping and unbelievably researched. This is both historical scholarship and storytelling of the finest order, not the least of which is the comprehensive annotated bibliography in the back that shows Davis employing exacting standards to his research and interpretation. Even if you've had it up to here with all of the Everest hoopla over the years, you simply cannot put this book down once you're into it. Due to its relative complexity of characters, I am almost ready to start reading it again, even though I just finished it. Crazy good stuff, that is all I can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Deeply Affecting Tale, Sept. 28 2012
By 
Douglas Ball (Mississauga, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
I am not a mountain climber, but an admirer of those who are. The Mallory story has fascinated me for years, but until this magisterial and magnificent new book made its appearance I hadn't read much about him. I appreciated many things, especially the description of the WW1 atrocities.I've read a few books on the subject by Canadian authors and have been greatly moved by the sacrifice, the innocence, and maddening inflexibility of the Brits under which we fought. (The same bull-headed inflexibility almost led to the defeat of the British navy at Jutland.) Davis's weaving of this background story into the Everest story is masterful, moving, and helpful in understanding the milieu of the times that lead to Everest.

I was also grateful for the author's treatment of Canadian Arthur Wakefield who accomplished so much in his lifetime, yet was under-appreciated by Mallory. Until now I knew nothing of Wakefield, but I plan to pursue finding out more about him. There was also another Canadian Edward Wheeler, of whom Mallory also held a less than stellar opinion, probably because Mallory suffered from a condition that held colonials in low regard. And yet Wheeler was critical to Mallory's team. He was also later knighted for his services in mapping India for the Brits. To my mind Mallory is emblematic of the easy disregard Canadians suffer from others who know little about us and care even less.

The characters in this book all stand out clearly and sympathetically. They moved me a great deal. The descriptions of Tibet and other places (not to mention England at that time) left clear impressions on my mind and in my heart. Davis's language is always clear and affective. Overall, the treatment of the reasons why men did these things is simply wonderful. The author has great insight and delicacy.

All in all a great, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Study of Great Purpose, March 20 2012
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
Davis has written a very authoritative and engrossing history about the men and times behind two attempts on Mt. Everest in the early twenties. He is not satisfied with just describing the adventure behind the initial assault and final ascent on this mountain but wants to create a more complete understanding of the circumstances surrounding this fatefully defining moment in modern history. The lives of unique individuals like Howard-Bury, Mallory, Irvine and Noel are put under the microscope of intense scrutiny as Davis tries to fathom how they prepared for this Herculean undertaking. While the expedition tragically failed in 1924 in that it did not achieve its ultimate goal, its design, purpose, and execution still provide an important insight into the nature of the times and the people who were challenged to scale the rarefied atmosphere of exceedingly high mountains. Having earlier read Jeffry Archer's 'Paths of Glory' and examined its heroic belief that Mallory, the Cambridge aesthete and athlete, actually made it to the top before falling to his death, I took on 'Into the Silence' to learn another part of the story. One, there is a lot more to this tale than just an unsolved mystery that has already been handled in true adventure fashion by one of Britain's more able popular novelists. In Davis's very polished account, the reader will learn about the historical context in which this climb was undertaken, the mental state of its members, the ever present perils facing them, and the long-term knock-on effects of their incredible efforts. In the first instance, it was the military horrors and imperial failings of war that indirectly led to this quixotic quest for glory. Second, the personalities involved in the expedition, while appearing to be just a motley team of restless adventurers looking for personal fulfilment, were really the epitome of courage and talent in the face of some incredible adversity like oxygen deprivation. And, lastly, because of what these people did in taking on one of the biggest challenges known to humankind at the time, we get to enter into the moment-by-moment thrill of their climb as caught in some great pictures taken by Captain Noel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended., Oct. 18 2014
By 
David (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I glanced into this book I thought it looked tedious, but I was very wrong. The author starts with graphic descriptions of the horror of the first World War then keeps returning to this throughout his development of the early attempts to climb Everest. The story completely holds one's attention - the social and political background alone is fascinating. Also the maps are good. Wade Davis has obviously put considerable effort into research. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest
Used & New from: CDN$ 20.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews