Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Wade Davis
A deeply moving epic that takes you from the depths of human misery in the trenches of France to the roof of the world in Tibet; from missiles and mud to mountain vistas, and the group of men who represented some of the best of the survivors of the "lost generation", yes, warts and all.

In 1999 Mallory's body was discoverd on Everest giving us no clue as to...
Published on Oct. 13 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Into The Silence
There are so many geographical references in the book that without a good map one has trouble relating to the topography being described. Route illustrations would add much to the descriptions provided. Otherwise a pretty good read for people who like lots of detail. The descriptions of the horrific incompetence of WW1 allied leadership and the mechanized death that...
Published 15 months ago by Lynne (Tim) Hutchins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Wade Davis, Oct. 13 2011
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
A deeply moving epic that takes you from the depths of human misery in the trenches of France to the roof of the world in Tibet; from missiles and mud to mountain vistas, and the group of men who represented some of the best of the survivors of the "lost generation", yes, warts and all.

In 1999 Mallory's body was discoverd on Everest giving us no clue as to wether or not he had summited. With none of the modern climbing gear that is now taken for granted, we know that he and his partner at least came very close. After reading the book it somehow dosn't matter.....but that missing picture of Mallory's wife has made me a believer.

I very much appreciated the references to the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, the "Blue Puttees". Who knows what heights those young men could have gained had they lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wade Davis hits another one out of the park !, Dec 30 2011
By 
Allan Wakefield (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
Wade Davis does an outstanding job in "Into the Silence". He describes the early attempts to climb Mount Everest, focusing on the men involved and placing them in their historical context-- World War I, the British Raj and etc. This is an extraordinary tale, thoroughly researched and imaginatively told. I thoroughly recommend it.

Allan Wakefield
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest, Dec 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a thrilling, historical book. One of the best on Everest, very detailed, left nothing out. I now understand how difficult it must be to be a mountain climber. Certainly not for the faint of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book of 2012, Oct. 14 2012
By 
bookweasel (Calgary AB) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
An amazing read. Starts with the Great War stuff. General Haig and his cronies were definitely completely stupid and cowards too. None of the general staff went near where the fighting was. They sat miles back and sent hundreds of thousands to meaningless deaths. Yes that was hundreds of thousands. Such a waste for no reason.

On to the Everest expeditions of 1921, 1922 and 1924. Much to be learned here. The development of mountaineering techniques including the use of oxygen. How the area was mapped by a Canadian. The amazing stupidity of the Alpine Club members who made decisions entirely based on class without regard for skills and abilities. How the Tibetans lived particularly in relation to their religion.

A terrific read on so many levels."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars into the silence, Jan. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest (Hardcover)
An intriguing look at a fascinating phenomena. Very well put together. I will be pleased to dive back in for another read of this fine piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars engrossing, Nov. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In my original review I was critical about the absence of the photos that are in the hard copy. Much to my surprise, on finishing the entire book,epilogue, bibliography and all, I discovered the photos at the very end almost as an afterthought. So mea culpa --- I should have read the small print in the last line of the table of contents. I would give the Kindle version 5 stars out of five but for the small size of the maps which do not magnify well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In Awe & Admiration, Nov. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I haven't yet read it so unable to comment although dipping into it was awesome and I look forward to my own ascent to those lonely heights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the rare times I wanted to hand out six stars, Oct. 1 2013
Into the Silence is a great, sprawling, long book that's the result of years and years of research. It's a history book, a geography book, an adventure book and a novel all wrapped up into a thoroughly engrossing read. The type of book you can curl up with numerous late nights and take your time reading. For page after page you're right up there in the mountains, wearing a woolen coat and mitts and a pair of sturdy boots trying to conquer Everest.

Astonishing detail about the logistics, the history, the cultures, the infighting, the financing, the politics, the marketing and the unbelievable personalities.

Just a magnificent piece of work. One of the very rare times that I want to hand out SIX stars. If you love travel, discovery and mountaineering, you'll hardly find better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!, May 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I once though no one could compare with Harper Lee and "To Kill a Mockingbird"- I was wrong. This beautifully written book is not a fast read as each page is chock full of information. Take it slow as you do not want to miss a word! This will be the book you place on your book shelf to return to at a later date. You will read it more than once. For my money Mallory was the first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I even read the annotated bibliography, Feb. 24 2013
Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest

I've had my copy of 'into the silence' ever since Wade Davis did an absorbing interview on Australia's ABC, but loaned it to a couple of friends... So have just finished it. Loved every chapter, and thought the next couldn't be better than the last, but it was.
So, I may be the only person that is completely enthralled by the bibliography as well! It's almost as good as being at a lecture where Davis explains his research and writing methods and practice. He makes you want to read more and more and more. A real explorer.
Davis has received much deserved acclaim for this masterpiece. Especially astounding that he has taken literally mountains of words and statistics and little stories and already heroic epics and made this beautiful spellbinding lyrical work... ten years? I hope to spend the next ten years re-reading and contemplating...

One more thing: When you look at the maps and realise that when the explorers started their 1921 expedition, this was all uncharted, the work of Wheeler on that trip becomes truly monumental.

Most readers will bring with them some knowledge of the subjects: the Great War, Mallory and the Conquest of Everest. All the more significant that Wade Davis has brought them together in such a truly magnificent and significant volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6bc9828)

This product

Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest
Used & New from: CDN$ 6.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews