countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
35
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 13, 2016
As always from Dr. Davis, this is a captivating, lyrically written story of humanity and culture, this time with adventure at its core. Always a pure pleasure to read his writings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
Stunning achievement and impossible to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Great story about first attempt at Everest. Also about the ineptitude of the military in the first world war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
An extremely readable and informative narrative on the early pre-oxygen days of Mt Evesesr climbers
who sustained undeserved tragedies in addition to a heart rending description of The Great War youthful
victims.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
It was Great read. Some of the details of the Great War well written, but horifying. The Everest climb was incredible considering the equipment was really inadequate, but was all they had aviailable in those days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
Using the First World War to weave the story of the men who made the early attempts on Everest was a fascinating way to capture their motivation and inspiration. Wade Davis is a gifted storyteller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
This book goes down as one of the greats of writing centred in the Himalaya. I t will be on the shelf with works by Peter Matthiesen and Heinrich Harrer..

There is full detail on the early British climbs up Everest. But, the approach march does not start in Katmandu or Deli, it starts on the playing fields and in the salons of Edwardian England. The potential climbers march on through the Great War, and then head to the edges of empire to seek the highest peak.

The story is compelling, the research staggering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
A remarkable account of world events and the race for Everest. Incredibly detailed and infinitely researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
I bought this for my son, read before giving. Wade Davis is a real life Indian Jones. Wow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2014
When I glanced into this book I thought it looked tedious, but I was very wrong. The author starts with graphic descriptions of the horror of the first World War then keeps returning to this throughout his development of the early attempts to climb Everest. The story completely holds one's attention - the social and political background alone is fascinating. Also the maps are good. Wade Davis has obviously put considerable effort into research. I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse