Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She is no mere crime writer. This is a WRITER.
This is a great book. P. D. James has clearly displayed that she can suceed at anything she turns her hand to. i even found myself enjoying this novel even more than some of the Dalgliesh books.
There is one word that can describe this book. That word is............Lovely...........mainly because it is. The plot is, perhaps somewhat simple, but that just makes for an...
Published on April 23 2002 by RachelWalker

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent idea, half delivered
The author carries the idea of an extiguishing population in a fragmented way that can be frustrating at times. The characters are not likeable and some not fully described. The beginning is extremely slow, it does pick up some pace but the ending is not believable or satisfactory.
Published on Aug. 10 2007 by Antonio Gutierrez


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She is no mere crime writer. This is a WRITER., April 23 2002
This review is from: The Children of Men (Paperback)
This is a great book. P. D. James has clearly displayed that she can suceed at anything she turns her hand to. i even found myself enjoying this novel even more than some of the Dalgliesh books.
There is one word that can describe this book. That word is............Lovely...........mainly because it is. The plot is, perhaps somewhat simple, but that just makes for an easier read. and it does start fairly slowly. But it is lovely. Aside from being a futuristic novel, it is also a very tender lovestory. One of the things that make this book great is the fact that it is a nice old fashioned story. Some of the ideas Ms James had are now, clearly not correct, but could well have been. everything she has written is the product of a very logical mind and, if things had gone differently, none of them are beyond the bounds of our imaginations. Some of the things she writes even seem comical compared to now. Which, whilst probably not intentional, does add flavour to the story. There is also good, adventure, intirgue, action, etc.
Well done, I would reccomend this to one and all as proof of Ms James title as one of the best writer's the world has ever seen. I shall savour every one of her novels, because i only expect there to be two, possibly three, more, because, let's face it people, she won't be around for ever, enjoy her while you can!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Children of Men, July 15 2012
By 
Brent Wiley (Strathmore, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Children Of Men (Hardcover)
This is one of those books that makes you think. The first two chapters took me forever to read because after each paragraph, I'd set the book down and just contemplate the premise of this book: what if, suddenly, no more babies were born? Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Goodish Read, with troubling Questions, Dec 4 2005
By 
This review is from: The Children of Men (Paperback)
I read this novel on the recommendation of a colleague who teaches it to her grade 9 English class. It is a strange book: somewhat uneven, with an unlikely plot line, and a dissatisfying ending, but the novel is also a chilling, even Orwellian, look at the future when there are no more children being born. I can't help but think that more could be done with the idea of a society slowing dieing out. So many avenues to explore, and several are - and they are chilling and sad. The central character is not all that sympathetic and this detracts somewhat. I think this is well worth a read if even just to get you thinking. I understand a movie is being made of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent idea, half delivered, Aug. 10 2007
By 
Antonio Gutierrez (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Children of Men (Paperback)
The author carries the idea of an extiguishing population in a fragmented way that can be frustrating at times. The characters are not likeable and some not fully described. The beginning is extremely slow, it does pick up some pace but the ending is not believable or satisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very different than the movie, July 27 2007
By 
K. McMaster "KM" (Ottawa, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Children of Men (Paperback)
I read this book because I read a review that said the movie had missed the point of the book. Not only did it miss the point, it missed the entire story. Aside from the general setting and the catalyst event, it's a completely different. Some of the characters have the same names but often have very different roles or personalities. Though, I don't think the story of the book as is would have made a great movie; there is a lot of philosophical introspection and a lot less action, it makes for a good read. My one criticism would be PD James' lack of research into the generation of her character. The book is written in 1992. The book is set in 2021 and her main character is 50 years old. But it feels as though she has taken someone who is 50 in 1992 and cast them into the future. This especially apparent when the main character recounts his childhood. I'm only seven years younger than him, yet I didn't identify at all. The childhood almost seems like something out of the 50s. In the respect of transposing generations into the future, the movie is far more successful. To be fair, the screen writer did have an extra 15 years of history to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book is better than the movie, April 26 2008
By 
K.P. (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Children of Men (Paperback)
I liked the movie, but the book is MUCH better and not for the usual reasons . I found the story in the book to be much richer, there were just much more "stuff" in it. The book spent much more time on the description of the Omegan's which is central to the story, and the ending was MUCH better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True to it's description, Dec 22 2010
This review is from: The Children Of Men (Hardcover)
My novel was in perfect condition when I received it. The description for the state that my book was in was to a tee of the actual product. The only thing that I could have complaints about would be that shipping took a little longer than they said it would, but the delay was less than a week. Overall, very pleased with this transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Children of Men
The Children of Men by P.D. James (Paperback - Dec 5 2006)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews