Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad to find this one...
This coming-of-age novel, similar to The Catcher In The Rye, was a pleasure to read. The characters were portrayed in a realistic and likeable manner, due to Mr. Gilmour's ability to translate complex emotions into engaging dialogue and self-reflection. I enjoyed the book's distinctly Canadian feel and the sense of nostalgia it evokes - for lazy summer days and first...
Published on March 27 2003 by Paula

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Smells like Teen Spirit (sort of)
I agree with the previous review - Catcher in The Rye does come to mind. But Lost Between Houses falls short matching the Salinger classic. In fact, the novel read like a comic book at times. True to the cover notes though, the ending is very surprising and represents the best writing in the book. A good, light cottage read.
Published on March 19 2001 by Michael Younder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad to find this one..., March 27 2003
This review is from: Lost Between Houses (Paperback)
This coming-of-age novel, similar to The Catcher In The Rye, was a pleasure to read. The characters were portrayed in a realistic and likeable manner, due to Mr. Gilmour's ability to translate complex emotions into engaging dialogue and self-reflection. I enjoyed the book's distinctly Canadian feel and the sense of nostalgia it evokes - for lazy summer days and first loves. I felt a renewed passion for literature after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WoW!, May 29 2003
By 
*~*ChErRy*~* (Winnipeg, Mb Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost Between Houses (Hardcover)
This book is awesome. I love the fact that he can actually write about a teenager, and make the book seem so real. The relationships that Simon has to deal with, and the things that go on within his life seem so realistic. David Gilmour is an awesome author, because it's like he's a teenager himself. Teenagers have a lot of [stuff] to deal with during those years, and in this book Simon has to confront all of them. Good JOB Mr. Gilmour!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Smells like Teen Spirit (sort of), March 19 2001
This review is from: Lost Between Houses (Hardcover)
I agree with the previous review - Catcher in The Rye does come to mind. But Lost Between Houses falls short matching the Salinger classic. In fact, the novel read like a comic book at times. True to the cover notes though, the ending is very surprising and represents the best writing in the book. A good, light cottage read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Jan. 11 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost Between Houses (Hardcover)
This book is absolutly amazing. It's similar to the catcher in the rye but the main character is, in my opinion, more complex in that you both hate and love him. This book really touched my heart and brought me to tears, i highly recommend it to anyone interested in psychology, especially in regard to young people. Gilmour made me believe entirely that he was a sixteen year old, mixed up kid. Delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Salinger...but a good read indeed., May 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost Between Houses (Hardcover)
I loved this book. It cleverly portrays the life of an upper class kid from southern Ontario. I never had the privilege of going to a private school, but I have been around plenty of them. I go to school with them now...at the ol' U of T. I could understand how our hero feels about things. Not only because I went through the same things he did, if not close to it. All teenagers do. Heartbreak comes around it seems like once a week. Those were the days. I just don't think it is fair to compare anything to a classic. Does one dare compare a painting of any ol' lady to Mona Lisa? No, it is not fair. Nonetheless a valiant effort, this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc3a68a8c)

This product

Lost Between Houses
Lost Between Houses by David Gilmour (Paperback - March 28 2000)
CDN$ 22.00 CDN$ 15.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews