Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inside View of a Horrific Event
I feel compelled to write a review of this book, even though I have not finished reading it quite yet. I am currently on page 311, but decided to write this mostly to counter the completely illogical review from Victoria Taylor Murray, who clearly has not read this book.
IT IS NOT A NOVEL!
Dallaire was Force Commander during the 1994 genocide in Rwanda and, as...
Published on Oct. 27 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please open your eyes...
Does anyone ever question anything they read any more? I agree the book is well written, but everyone seems to be taking the one point of view presented as the only version of events. Read the book, then try reading some articles about the events in question more in depth. Start out with an article written in Saturday Night(a magazine that used to come with the Globe I...
Published on Nov. 23 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Must read., July 15 2013
This review is from: Shake Hands With the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda (Paperback)
This book is an excellent piece of non-fiction that explains in depth just what happened in Rwanda. I pray that we can avoid ever having this hatred reproduced and repeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, July 9 2007
By 
Toni Osborne "The Way I See It" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a powerful and compelling story of a man that cared deeply about every human life and who was repeatedly denied the necessary support from those that could have helped, it was as if no one listened and no one cared. The Peacekeepers that gave their heart and souls and in some cases their lives to save total strangers were abandoned. The reader will be touched and will understand what genocide means and appreciate the immense sacrifice Peacekeepers give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is so sad, Dec 13 2003
By 
mathieu laine (Québec, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This book will have you reading into the night. You simply can't put this book down. The other thing you can't do, is understand the way the world acted - or rather did not act - in Rwanda. Dallaire's book is shocking and is probably going to make you question a lot of things about international politics. Dallaire is a tragic hero, a self described casulty of this genocide, and his book is a very important historical document. Don't miss the opportunity to read this, it is a life changer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 16 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Glad I read this, but sort of ashamed of my country as they did nothing to stop it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding the Rwandan Genocide, Oct. 29 2004
By 
Adam L. Reich (Ontario, Canad) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shake Hands With the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda (Paperback)
"Shake Hands with the Devil" is a simply amazing book. I first read it having no previous knowlage of what happened in Rwanda. I must admit I didn't even realize there WAS a genocide. I bought this book specifically to find out what happened and I was not disapointed. It gives a detailed account of the entire war, including events leading up to it so the reader can better understand the motives behind the destruction. At times this book can be extremly hard to read (in my opinion at least). There are very graphic descriptions of people being tortured, raped and killed, but it only manages to further illustrate the point that the world messed up the whole situation beyond belief. I would definitly recommend this book to anyone interested in Rwanda. Your money will not be misplaced I promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most powerful books I have ever read, Dec 17 2003
By 
N. Sandy Ferguson (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dallaire's book is a powerful call to action that damns the so called civilised world for its failure to act in the face of Rwanda'a genocide. Dallaire and his companions stand out as rare beacons of light amongst those who refused to act to save Rwanda.
It was a heart wrenching book to read, because it becomes clear that the genocide could have been stopped, but none of the so-called great powers cared, because they did not feel that Rwanda was worth saving. As Dallaire quotes the American officer, it would take 85000 Rwandan deaths to justify the death of an American soldier, whereas in Iraq, it takes only the US's desire for cheap gas for their SUVs to justify the death of American soldiers.
Dallaire's brutally honest accout of his ongoing struggle with his inner demons that are legacy of his service in Rwanda, only increase my admiration for him. For me, he is a true hero and a true soldier in a time when so many people in uniform are more politician than soldier such as Lewis MacKenzie.
Dallaire is a model for us to follow, so that humanity will not fail again, I can only that we can live up to his, and the others who served under his command, example. As I read of the courage of his troops, especially the Ghanaians and the Tunisians and especially the example of colonel "Tiko" Tikola, I was reminded that courage is not limited to the First world, yet we hear so little about their bravery.
Read this book, and confront the truth that we failed the people of Rwanda, and we continually to fail the people of this world and we must accept our responsibilty for the structures of this world that helped to create Rwanda and the other killing places of this world.
God bless you, Romeo Dallaire, for me you personify what Jesus shares with us in the beautitudes:-
"Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Account By One Who Would Know, Feb. 28 2004
I must admit...I only bought this book because it was rated a Bestseller up here in Canada. Before I read it, I had no idea there was a genocide in Rwanda. Goes to show you how little the news media bothered to play up what was REALLY going on. Makes you wonder just HOW MUCH control the governments of the western world really have over the media.
After I had finished reading the Introduction, I was captured and read the book within 4 days. Gives an excellent account as to not only what was going on politically within the country leading up to and during the genocide..but also the back and forth banter that this UN Force Commander had to endure from the governments of the world who could have at any time stopped this tragedy from happening.
My heart goes out to Mr.Dallaire and everyone who had to witness the genocide of 1994. What courageous and determined human beings they are. Not only is this book an eye opener about the problems humanity faces, it also stands to remind you that there are still people in this world, willing to stand up for what they believe in and try to make a difference, no matter how small.
This is a must read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Call for Reform, June 8 2004
Romeo Dallaire's account of his tour of command of the UN Peacekeeping force during the Rwandan civil war and genocide of 1994 is an incredibly detailed document of the failure of the UN's ability to function in this capacity. In charge of troops from Belgium, Ghana, Bangladesh, Senegal and Tunisia, Dallaire found himself working with varying levels of
training, committment, loyalty, and vast communication problems brought on by language barriers.
In addition to struggling with UN red tape to get adequate food and water for his troops, let alone the refugees he attempted to shelter, Dallaire's ability to react to the slaughter around him was tied to committee meetings back in New York. He was told not to take sides, and his patient attempts to negotiate with Tutsi and Hutu leaders while driving back and forth through an ever deepening sea of blood and bodies,
speaks of his bravery and self-control. At one point he gets out of his vehicle and walks through a roadblock to find a Hutu leader in an attempt to stop the violence, and describes hearing guns being cocked all around him.
Hopefully this momentous book will cause the UN to examine its peacekeeping capacities. Currently countries in need, such as Haiti, wait while governments around the world debate who is to take responsibility and whether or not they wish to get involved. Could not the UN develop its own peacekeeping force; multi-national troops that are trained and outfitted together; taught to communicate and on the same page with their current mission? Rwanda is but one extreme example of a system that is not working, as Dallaire sub-titles his book: "A Failure of Humanity."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., April 21 2009
By 
This review is from: Shake Hands With the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda (Paperback)
This is by far one of the most interesting and informative books about any world event that I have ever read.

Its starts quite slow, and the first 100 pages or so could pose a challenge for some, but if you tough it out, the story picks up. Big time.

Many books have been written about crimes of humanity, Gen. Romeo Dallaire's accounts are as authentic as it gets. As the reader, you are exposed to graphic first hand acounts of the pain and suffering of the Rwandan people, as well as political issues and all the red tape that comes along with it.

I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
This book should be required reading in high Schools across the globe.

Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, Feb. 4 2009
By 
Nwaif (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shake Hands With the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda (Paperback)
The international community's response to the genocide in Rwanda was negligent, disturbing and heartbreaking. There are many within the U.N. that should be held accountable for the over 800,000 slaughtered innocents. Here is a clear account of what went on in those 100 days and the days leading up to it. Merci General.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shake Hands With the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda
Shake Hands With the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda by Romeo Dallaire (Paperback - Oct. 12 2004)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 15.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews