Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rich book
This is the second James Joyce book I have read and it goes to reinforce the feeling I had after reading the first that that writer is a great storyteller. In fact, I consider
James Joyce's Dubliners as one of the best collection of short stories ever put together. The settings are amazing and the rich and lively characters all combine with the incredible plots to...
Published on July 29 2005 by Sancho Mahle

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Different version than the one online
What I received did not have the same cover as what I saw online when I was ordering(different edition).
Slow shipping.
The condition was fine.
Published 2 months ago by Ian Lee


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rich book, July 29 2005
By 
Sancho Mahle (Charlotte, USA) - See all my reviews
This is the second James Joyce book I have read and it goes to reinforce the feeling I had after reading the first that that writer is a great storyteller. In fact, I consider
James Joyce's Dubliners as one of the best collection of short stories ever put together. The settings are amazing and the rich and lively characters all combine with the incredible plots to add credence to the stories. Not only are they true to life in fitting with the atmosphere that one finds in Dublin, the stories are also hilarious, subtle, and inspirational and gripping. The pace of the stories is fast and the voices are rich. This is a highly recommended read along with UNION MOUJIK, FINNEGANS WAKE, THE USURPER AND OTHER STORIES,ICE ROAD, DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, the newspapers were right: snow was general all over Ireland., Aug. 8 2012
The title of my review comes from the last paragraph of "The Dead," already mentioned by previous critics as one of the great short stories of English literature. In a way, this line reflects Joyce's collection as a whole: much in the way a newspaper collects concise, level-headed, yet crisp glimpses into the times of a people, his book has tried to achieve a similar feat. 'Dubliners' aims for objectivity that differs slightly from journalism. Quite similar to Hemingway's scientific approach to writing, Joyce has tried to establish an objective approach to fiction that provides minimal judgment of the content, while maximizing the efficacy of its characters, images, and stories.

With the Modernists, literature begins to shift away from the hoity-toity implied authors so popular in the Victorian Era. (Dickens is most famous for this, though I think the words "hoity-toity" are ironic according to his intentions, but right-on in terms of his prose style.) T.S. Eliot was infamous for saying that a writer must banish himself from what he writes. One question I always have is this: can that actually happen? Surely, the very act of writing, where details are selected, ordered, and described has to accord with someone's vision. Perhaps the implied author that readers can picture so clearly from the Victorian Era instead becomes a "ghost author"--or, as Joyce so eloquently puts it in 'A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man": "The artist, like the God of the creation, remains within or behind or beyond or above his handiwork, invisible, refined out of existence, indifferent paring his fingernails." This makes the act of composition one of inevitable consumption, both by the editing process and the reading process.

So the odd type of objectivity Joyce and Eliot herald is actually an objective-subjectivity, if that makes any sense. Richard Ellman wrote a biography on Joyce, and referred to this as sympathetic detachment, making it much more in line with Buddhism.

Back to 'Dubliners'. Why is this kind of authorial approach so important? You could say that Joyce is trying to illustrate Dublin as a city caught in paralysis, and that his "objective" style complements his subject matter. Before Joyce finished writing "The Dead," he felt that his work was perhaps unfair to the city where he used to live. "The Dead" is therefore an attempt by Joyce to elevate his city away from its moments of mistaken love, poetic abandon, romantic tragedy and maternal agony to find whether he can galvanize sympathy for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it so much, I read it again., June 7 2001
By 
L. M Prestwidge (South Pasadena, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dubliners (Hardcover)
Little snippets of life among the Irish working class. I read this book for the first time in my early 20's. Although I enjoyed it then, I liked it even more ten years later. This is one of those books that you appreciate more when you have some life experiences to compare it with.
Good strong believable characters and a subtle writing style that let's you draw your own conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poetry as Prose, April 6 2001
By 
This review is from: Dubliners (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a wonderful collection of stories by the unique James Joyce. This book reads like impressionism on paper, painting transcendent watercolors with language. Each story is a portrait of Dublin life, but the Dublin portrayed here could have been any city in the world, full of pain, joy, laughter, sadness, regret, and Humanity. This book is the best place to start with Joyce, because the narrative hasn't developed into the ambiguity found in later works such as Ulysses. For first-timers, Dubliners is the Joycean work that is most friendly and affecting. But it's still miles away from any other author's work (Including JOyce's own).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huddled by the fire, Jan. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dubliners (Hardcover)
James Joyce sketches in a few deft words, the lives of characters who inhabit the homes in Dublin a hundred years ago. There are young people who are trapped by tradition, religion, their own limitations. Adults don't fare much better. But it's all in the telling: the marvellous word choice, the weaving of image, the interplay of characters who are unable to set each other free. Joyce can breathe life into players with a few strokes, letting Polly Mooney seduce as a "perverse Madonna", having Mangan's sister play the strings of a young man's heart as she would a harp. Hope for a brighter future flickers in the final story of the collection, where friends and family gather at the feast, their spirits rise and Ireland reaches out to embrace her wounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Different version than the one online, May 19 2014
By 
Ian Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What I received did not have the same cover as what I saw online when I was ordering(different edition).
Slow shipping.
The condition was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging Short Stories, Feb. 23 2013
By 
James Joyce's short stories render turn of the century Dublin and Dubliners for readers who want to ease into the work of the guy who wrote Ulysses. The Dubliners is highly recommended. A couple of these tales even brought a tear to my eye; wonderfully evocative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Master Storyteller, June 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Dubliners (Mass Market Paperback)
James Joyce's Dubliners is one of the best collection of short stories ever penned. The characters are memorable, the plots are subtle, gripping and frequently ironic, the atmosphere of "dear dirty Dublin" rings true, and the writing is eloquent and disciplined. While his novels (e.g. Ulysses) get more attention, Dubliners may be his best work. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insight into Dublin circa 1904, Nov. 11 2003
By 
girldiver "Enjoy!" (tangled up in blue.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dubliners (Mass Market Paperback)
I am not a fan of James Joyce but how can you not read this collection of short stories about ordinary everyday people living in Dublin circa 1904. Each story is unique and seperate from the others but each draws you into the lives of Dublins' People.
You can feel the despair of a lover, the doubts of children, and the renewel of life in death. You will no doubt love some of the stories, hate some of the stories, and be moved emotionally by the collection of short stories in the DUBLINERS.
If you have never read Joyce this is an excellent introduction to his work. I do beleive if he had never written another word after the DUBLINERS he still would have left his mark with this collection of short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Archetype of Short Story Fiction, June 30 2002
This review is from: Dubliners (Mass Market Paperback)
Perfection is the best way to describe this classic story collection by the legendary James Joyce. Dubliners follows the lives of ordinary folks in early twentieth century Ireland. Instead of using dramatic events such as many conventional short stories do, Joyce centered his tales on what seemed to be inconsequential. This groundbreaking literary formula succeeded and Dubliners went on to become one of the most greatly praised and athologized works of all time. By focusing on the magnitude of simple things, Joyce provided writing that truly connects the reader with the character through empathy. Examples of such include Araby in which an adolescent boy seeks romance and idealizes a beautiful girl who pays him no mind, and A Painful Case that portrays a lonely man who is haunted by a relationship he had with a married woman after he hears of her untimely death.
Each story in Dubliners contains gorgeously descriptive passages and words that dance across the pages. Though the themes may be dismal and the people Joyce writes of often come up empty-handed, the reader will likely find an underlying optimism that hardship builds strength and hope will prevail.
Interestingly, Dubliners barely came to print. Years of controversy hindered the 1914 release of the book, as many publishers regarded the stories as immoral and risque. Fortunately the public embraced it, and today we should all be required to read this enduring work by one of Ireland's finest, Mr. James Joyce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dubliners
Dubliners by James Joyce (Hardcover - Nov. 26 1991)
CDN$ 25.00 CDN$ 15.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews