Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western NA
Overall a very good book. Species maps are on the same pages as the species accounts so there is no extra flipping to find the map. However, I have noticed that many colors in this guide are very muted. I work at several bird-banding stations and have held live birds up to the color pictures and notice quite a difference. Sibley's colors are not nearly as vibrant as...
Published on Aug. 1 2003 by homer simpson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite Peterson!
Sibley has done a great job of putting pictures, text and maps together in this guide. Regrettably, though, all that info. on 1/2 a page (2 species per page) makes it difficult to see/read; especially with older eyes.
In addition, I still think Peterson's paintings are the best in presenting the birds in a manner closest to how they look in the field. Sibley's...
Published on May 13 2003 by H. B. Estabrooks Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western NA, Aug. 1 2003
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
Overall a very good book. Species maps are on the same pages as the species accounts so there is no extra flipping to find the map. However, I have noticed that many colors in this guide are very muted. I work at several bird-banding stations and have held live birds up to the color pictures and notice quite a difference. Sibley's colors are not nearly as vibrant as the reall thing, giving an inaccurate impression of some of the colors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Bird Field Guide, June 9 2007
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
We have all the guide books here at the field station, and after looking through them all, Sibleys is definitely my favourite (and has been praised by everyone else too). I've gone and ordered both Western & Eastern books myself. Having read the comments from other reviewers, it's true that some of the drawings may seem slightly duller than the real bird or drawings/paintings in other guides, but this hasn't caused me any identification problems. What really hooked me on this guide was how it illustrates the bird not only perched, but also in flight (below and above views), and illustrates differences between sexes and between adults and juveniles. Also, for some species, characteristic flight patterns and other important diagnostic features are highlighted and/or illustrated. Finally, features are pointed out on the drawing with arrows so one knows what to look for specifically.

Overall, an excellently organised guide book, standard "field guide" size, without the feeling of there being a loss of information. We have the big book here too (for all of NA) and it seems to contain the same information so bigger isn't neccessarily better! I recommend the two regional guides instead: less birds to decipher between and easier to carry with you in the field!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent followup to the Sibley Guide to Birds, Sept. 16 2003
By 
Justin Wrinn (Portland, Oregon, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
My main problem with the original Sibley Guide to Birds has been its size. While it is an excellent and comprehensive reference, it is just too bulky to carry in the field. Sibley found the answer in coming out with separate guides for East and West. The new western guide, a wonderful addition to the Sibley family, contains updated nomenclature and range maps. Also, it contains only western birds and those eastern birds that have have shown up in the west as accidentals. It leaves out the eastern birds that have never been seen in the west before, thus saving time when using the book to ID a bird in the field. The biggest advantage is the smaller size which actually makes it feasible to carry in the field without nearly as much difficulty. Although there is a loss of detail compared to the original Sibley guide, this is a small price to pay for the portability of the smaller size. For the serious birder I would recommend getting both this book (for the field) and the originaly Sibley Guide to Birds (for a reference), but otherwise this book (or its eastern counterpart depending on where you live) is definitely the way to go for a comprehensive, portable field guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, April 11 2004
By 
Christopher LaMonica "Professor" (Newport, RI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
The larger Sibley field guide caused quite a stir but it was also a bit of a bear, in terms of size. The smaller guides that focus on east and west, are much easier to carry. Everything about them is, really, as good as it gets: the paintings, the maps, the descriptions - a top quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite Peterson!, May 13 2003
By 
H. B. Estabrooks Jr. (Oak Ridge, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
Sibley has done a great job of putting pictures, text and maps together in this guide. Regrettably, though, all that info. on 1/2 a page (2 species per page) makes it difficult to see/read; especially with older eyes.
In addition, I still think Peterson's paintings are the best in presenting the birds in a manner closest to how they look in the field. Sibley's paintings are a bit stark compared to the real thing. On a recent trip to Madera Canyon, I noted this when looking, in particular, at a Lazuli Bunting, and a Rufous-Winged Sparrow.
Sibley's new guide is very good, but I still keep "Roger" in the fanny pack, and Sibley back in the car as reference.
Good birding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent field guide, April 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
Personally, I prefer Sibley's field guides over any others - his drawings seem more immediately recognizable than those in other field guides, and they are definitely vastly superior to photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, April 23 2010
By 
James H. Tupper "Carcajou" (Northern Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
In my opinion, this book belongs in every bird lovers library.
I especially liked the multiple views of each species, and the views of immature and sub adult birds.

As far as I can tell, all the information, such as the range maps,as presented, is based on the best information available and is current.

I have several bird identification books and I use this one more then all the others combined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sibley does it again !, May 7 2003
By 
L. Labeaume "LouLab" (San Francisco Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
After switching my National Geographic for the more massive "Sibley guide to birds", I'm now adopting this new book as my main field guide. The format is great, the illustrations just as good as the original "Guide to birds", the maps are excellent (and updated) and this time, the descriptive text is more generous and really helps in the field.
One little thing that I would have appreciated is getting birds dimensions in centimeters as well as in inches. Birds weight is already in ounces and grams.
I'm hoping that one day, we'll get the whole North American version in one book and in that format.
Louison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great bird field guide, April 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
David Sibley has done it again. I enjoy reading and looking at Sibley's "Guide to Birds" several times a day. It replaced the National Geographic's "Field Guide to the Birds of North America" as my first choice for bird information. With "Field Guide to Birds of Western North America", David Sibley has published a book that can be carried in the field. The heavy "Guide to Birds" was just too much to carry. This book has several new renderings and improved range maps. The book is also undated with several new bird names and taxonomic changes. It is a welcomed edition for my western bird books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sibley does it again !, May 7 2003
By 
L. Labeaume "LouLab" (San Francisco Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America (Turtleback)
After switching my National Geographic for the more massive "Sibley guide to birds", I'm now adopting this new book as my main birding field guide. The format is great, the illustrations just as good as the original "Guide to birds", the maps are excellent (and updated) and this time, the descriptive text is more generous and really helps in the field.
One little thing that I would have appreciated is getting birds dimensions in centimeters as well as in inches. Birds weight are already in ounces and grams.
I'm hoping that one day, we'll get the whole North American version in one book and in that format.
Louison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America
The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America by David Allen Sibley (Turtleback - April 29 2003)
CDN$ 23.95 CDN$ 17.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews