Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia Child for Everyday Cooking. Excellent Teaching Source
'The Way to Cook' was written by Julia Child and published by Knopf about 27 years after the first publication of 'Mastering the Art of French Cooking' which established Child's reputation. So, it was published when Julia Child was a household name for over two decades. It was meant to be her most important culinary work. It has never replaced Child's first book in the...
Published on May 3 2004 by B. Marold

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but too reliant on a food processor
This book offers great recipes, but I noticed that many seem to rely upon the use of a food processor even though alternative tools would do just as well, if not better. This is particularly noticable in the baking section. Most cookbooks that discuss baking recommend use of a mixer instead of a processor. Also, if you don't have a processor, you're out of luck...
Published on Nov. 28 2001 by D. Wolf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The cookbook you go back to over and over again, Jan. 3 2004
By 
Eric Agren "Fuel Restaurant - ME" (Auburn, ME, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
I am an avid cook, and home baker. I also have an extensive collection of cookbooks.
Some cookbooks, French Laundry, Aquavit, Amuse Bouche, and the like are beautiful books, with wonderful recipes for the more advanced home chef. I use them all the time, but consider them very focused and specific in their scope.
The Way to Cook is more like the cooking "Kama Sutra" in my house. I continue to go back to Julia's methods of preparing the staples. In a very easy to understand and often illustrated way, this book covers hundreds of food preperations.
I highly, highly recommend this book. I have a second copy on hand, because mine is so tattered, splattered, and earmarked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Can I Say? Julia Knows How., June 28 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
Julia Child is one of the best cookbook writers ever --- which is not an original thought, but it is important to bear in mind as the market is flooded with cookbooks. Instructions are clear, photographs are helpful, and organization of the book (master recipes for basic things get subsequently developed/incorporated into other dishes) is excellent and easy to follow, and most importantly, the recipes work. This, along with the newer How To Cook Everything by Mark Bittman, seem to be the two I pull out all the time as a reference. Example: Mayonnaise based sauce started breaking down on me and Julia's suggested fix worked like a dream. Great book for any cook to "grow" with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're serious about cooking well, get this book, April 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
Julia Child combines wit, wisdom, a deep and abiding love of good food, and a quirky sense of humor in this informative kitchen must-have. Clear, concise instructions and beautiful photographs take the reader step-by-step through basic kitchen techniques from trussing and roasting a chicken to trimming and boiling an artichoke. Recipes for everything from soup to nuts, and delightful anecdotes round out this satisfying literary feast. Unlike many of the world's great cooks who shroud themselves in egocentric mystery, Julia Child seems delighted to have the opportunity to show her readers how to truly enjoy one of the finest things in life: preparing and sharing a delightful meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Seminal Work on Cooking, April 13 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
An autographed copy of The Way to Cook has adorned my kitchen bookshelf for years now. Despite its somewhat ostentatious title, I have to say it lives-up to its name, with outstanding and unique coverage of basic techniques and terminology that are difficult to find elsewhere. Make no mistake, however: this is not a low-fat cookbook. But the basics learned with it, along with the various "component" recipes, can be applied equally to healthier eating (with modification as needed), or to those occasional moments when you need something special and luxurious. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be afraid-even if you are a beginner, June 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Paperback)
This was the first cookbook I ever bought, and it was a wonderful introduction to cooking for someone who could barely boil water. She goes through every dish step by step, with plenty of pictures and instructions. If you've never cooked before, obviously, you will want to start with the easier items - just read through the recipe before you begin and see if it is something you can handle. I guess the best praise I can give to this book is that 10 years later I am sill learning from it - and I have yet to find a recipe in this book that doesn't turn out well!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent excellent excellent, March 20 1999
By 
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
Just got this book in the mail. I tried the tomato sauce with my homemade pasta.( learned how to make it in an adult class afterhours in a high school) My husband said, " Where do you get this recipe, it is the best you ever made? Not bittery tasting?" Last night I made the giant eclair. Great fun and great results. The lay out is excellent. I love the glossy pages. Food wipes clean off them. Great pictures. Instructions superb. Par excellance Julia. Thank you. I won't have to go to cooking school now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the Finest Cookbook Available, April 20 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
I have dozens and dozens of cookbooks and have yet to find one that I turn to as frequently and with as much confidence as this one. The real success of this book is that is assumes all readers are novices in the kitchen and therefore must explain each step of the process. In doing so, otherwise complicated recipes become approachable. I have won rave reviews with the coq au vin recipe and the brussel sprouts with chestnuts has become a new Thanksgiving tradition.
Definitely buy this cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best, Nov. 1 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
If you are truly clueless about how to cook, or you are a seasoned professional, this book can teach you whatever you need to know to pull off an intimate dinner for two or a fabulous dinner party for 8. Anything that you need to know about the day-to-day business of cooking can be found here in easy to understand terms with lots of pictures. Julia doesn't looks at good cooking as something that anyone can do and gladly shares her secrets to making it fun and easy and scrumptious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best all-around contemporary cookbook today., May 20 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
Whether you're a novice or an experienced cook, this book has plenty of interesting and thoroughly useful information and recipes. It's like a scholarship at a great cooking school, offering classics as well as the best of new cuisine -- and providing thoroughly up-to-date, reliable, and clear instructions for efficiently and successfully producing a variety of superb dishes in your home kitchen.
You owe it to yourself, your family, and your dinner guests to check this out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a book of recipes., Feb. 15 2000
This review is from: The Way to Cook (Hardcover)
The best part about this book for me is that it teaches cooking isn't just following a set of steps in a recipe. By listing several "Master Recipes" Child teaches you the basis of a dish, then gives you the knowledge you need to branch out beyond the basics.
The effect for me was to introduce me to the creativity and adaptability of cooking, and has helped me enjoy not just my own cooking, but to see the beauty of other's dishes. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way to Cook
The Way to Cook by Julia Child (Paperback - Sept. 28 1993)
CDN$ 59.95 CDN$ 37.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews