Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Endless Quest...
Ever wonder why we are consumed with being "in love", having that passionate lust, courting endlessly for the unattainable blissful love? Tristan and Isuelt is where it all began, with more that 1,000 European versions from Brittany to France. This book is a captivating mystical story about the passionate side of love. Tristan, (meaning the child of sadness) a Nobel...
Published on Sept. 11 2002 by Sema Karaceper-CPC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars C'est un bon livre de poche
C'est bien comme livre mais je cherche plutot de l'information sur Joseph Bedier!!!
Published on Nov. 21 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Endless Quest..., Sept. 11 2002
By 
Sema Karaceper-CPC (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
Ever wonder why we are consumed with being "in love", having that passionate lust, courting endlessly for the unattainable blissful love? Tristan and Isuelt is where it all began, with more that 1,000 European versions from Brittany to France. This book is a captivating mystical story about the passionate side of love. Tristan, (meaning the child of sadness) a Nobel hero and Isuelt, the Irish Princess, engage in a love that is so intoxicating and absolute. After consuming a "love" potion, the two spend all their energies on being together, facing various barriers they overcome to attain the pre-destined love.
This book demonstrates that the positive thing in love is self-transcending - takes you beyond yourself and gives meaning to your life. Maybe somewhat obsessive and short in duration, but deep and exhilarating, larger than the self. When love ends it's remembered as a magical interlude, permanently in the memory of the mind which constantly plays back.
This version by Bedier and Belloc is an exciting, hi-paced read, that will make anyone fall in love with being in love. It touches on a note that Passionate Love really has little to do with the norms of society.
Beautifully written and a joyous read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I've ever been obliged to read !, Jan. 5 2003
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
As a high school student I had to read this book. Looking at it and seeing the theme, I initially snickered ... until I started reading page one. The story just blew me away. The reader will really start feeling for these lovers, and enjoy the love and drama that unfold.
I look forward to reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Before Romeo & Juliet there was... Tristan & Iseult!, Nov. 12 2001
By 
F. Mercer "bibliophile" (Saratoga Spings, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
"The Romance of Tristan & Iseult" is the tale of one of the earliest pairs of star-crossed lovers in literature, heavily researched and drawing from many versions of the story. Having come across the tale in many forms, from the opera "Tristan und Isolde" to cameo appearances in "The Mists of Avalon," this telling is refreshing and spirited. The authenticity of language, as well as the narrator's own action and moral interpretations make one feel that they are sitting near a fire in the great hall listening to a seneschal tell the tale of doomed love.
"Tristan & Iseult" is fast-paced and beautiful. It is also an invaluable tale to read as an example of the archetypes and symbols of the tragic hero, imbedded Christ imagery, woman on a pedestal, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Magic Of True Love, Aug. 22 2001
By 
K. Jump (Corbin, KY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
"The Romance of Tristan & Iseult" is one of the foremost chivalric myths of all time. A rich mosaic of the human experience, embroidered with colorful gothic elements like spell-weaving dwarves, love potions, magical bells and even a particularly monstrous dragon, "Tristan & Iseult" is the tale of a heroic knight from fabled Lyonesse who falls madly in love with his King's betrothed through sorcery. Neither Tristan nor his Queen-to-be can resist the magic that possesses them both, and they cannot help but fling themselves headlong into an affair that shakes the very foundations of the Arthurian world.
More than a mere "love story," this is a philosophical exploration of the human soul. Are Tristan and Iseult really guilty of adultery? Do they have a free will? Do they truly love each other, or is their affair nothing but a sorcerous delusion? Is King Mark the villain of the story, or is this a tale beyond conventional heroism or villainy?
Readers familiar with the Arthurian legend will quickly draw parallels between Tristan and Iseult and Lancelot and Guinevere, whose tragic love brought Camelot to its knees. Indeed, Malory cites Tristan (whom he refers to as "Tristram") as a knight of such prowess and nobility that he is second only to Lancelot himself--and a close second at that.
If you are a dreamer, a hopeless romantic, this is the book you've been looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An oft retold tale told wonderfully, July 1 2001
By 
Jonathan Burgoine "bookseller" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
I would not have read Bedier's translation of "Tristan and Iseult" on my own. Throughout my degree, and my previous highschool education, I've come across "Tristan and Iseult" in four different forms before Bedier's, and was so tired of the tale that I thought no one would breathe life into it again for me.
Not so.
Bedier's translation (which was then translated by Hilaire Belloc and completed by Paul Rosenfeld) has repainted "Tristan and Iseult" into a truly living piece of mythology. Presented with exquisite detail, and with portions of the story even my four previous readings had never uncovered, this is, I believe, how the tale was meant to be told.
The achetypal doomed-romance, "Tristan and Iseult" is the well-known tale of the romance between those two lovers, born of a magical philtre, and doomed in the face of Iseult's marriage to King Mark. The age of chivalry practically shines from the pages, and the heart-wrenching story itself is a joy to read, with only a few bumps and jolts of prose along the way (likely, I imagine, translation difficulties).
If you are at all interested in mythology, especially that of Arthurian theme or times, Bedier's translation of "Tristan and Iseult" is the one for you. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The twists of Courtly Love, March 30 2001
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
Here is a complete English translation of the Tristan and Iseult Romances that we have been able to find. That in itself makes this book a valuable work of literature.
What I enjoyed most about the Romances is the unreality of it all. You feel like you are somewhere else, somewhere magical and vicious, somewhere beautiful and bloody. This is the setting for the courtly love traditions.
I also enjoyed the challenges the books presents: Is there repressed homosexuality between King Mark and our hero, Tristan? What can Tristan's dog teach human beings about loyalty and love? What issues exist in a world of both love and violence, and why are the two so closely connected?
This is a great social commentary as well as an entertaining Romance. While the text reads quickly and seems simplistic, there is a lot going on under the surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exhausting and Emotional, Jan. 17 2001
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
Wow! This is a story that will touch your soul! Bedier takes the reader away into a mythical world of lords and ladies, dragons, giants and fairy bells... In addition, the story of Tristan and Iseult challenges common concepts of loyalty and love. How can Tristan claim loyalty to King Mark when he commits adultery with his wife? And how can the lovers be blamed when they fell in love through deception? Is God really on their side? I felt so many emotions when I read this. Indeed, I felt a sort of revulsion and yet, admiration for the hero. And finally, despite the lovers deaths, I realized that love does conquer all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, April 2 2000
By 
B. Juul (Carbondale, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
Some of these old texts can be made very dry, mundane and boring in the modern translations. This book moves fairly fast and is written in a way that is both engaging and palatable. I didn't want to put it down! The Vintage Classics version is definately worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If only there were more stars to give!, Jan. 27 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
This is the greatest book ever written. It is a masterpiece which should be read and enjoyed by every one. I only hope that you read this romantic tale as it will only better you at the least in through the enlightenment it so effectively inspires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars C'est un bon livre de poche, Nov. 21 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Romance of Tristan and Iseult (Paperback)
C'est bien comme livre mais je cherche plutot de l'information sur Joseph Bedier!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Romance of Tristan and Iseult
The Romance of Tristan and Iseult by Joseph Bedier (Paperback - May 31 1994)
CDN$ 15.00 CDN$ 10.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews