Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is Japan: bleak, empty, limping, uninviting
It is rare to find an author who perfectly encapsulates in art one's perception of a place or time. Murakami does that for me with Japan, where I lived for 2 years. He portrays that strange country as utterly lacking in inspiration, brutally crushing to any spirit of individuality, and full of cruel and meaningless obligations imposed from above. It is, in my view,...
Published on Dec 9 2003 by Robert J. Crawford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Disconnected Ordinary Everyman
Haruki Murakami's "The Elephant Vanishes" does not reveal its coherence until the title story finishes the 327th page. This is a discussion about the shifting perspectives of man and woman in traditional society. Once the man loomed larger than women, but, like the elephant and his trainer, this notion has vanished from view. Murakami pauses to acknowledge and...
Published on Jan. 21 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is Japan: bleak, empty, limping, uninviting, Dec 9 2003
By 
Robert J. Crawford (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
It is rare to find an author who perfectly encapsulates in art one's perception of a place or time. Murakami does that for me with Japan, where I lived for 2 years. He portrays that strange country as utterly lacking in inspiration, brutally crushing to any spirit of individuality, and full of cruel and meaningless obligations imposed from above. It is, in my view, unerringly accurate and perceptive, while deeply sad as I knew many people like those here but who would never be capable of articulating their ennui. These stories perfectly blend mundane detail with horrific violence and nihilism, in a mother who decides she longer needs to sleep to a man who has quit his job as a legal clerk walking in his backyard. The reality behind these characters and scenes - so black and yet so apparently normal - are believable to anyone who has lived and worked in Japan, though certainly not to tourists or other casual observers. As such, I believe that Murakami has done for modern Japan what Balzac and Zola did for 19th C France: the quality is that high, as is the irony and humor that permeates his work. I loved it, but it takes a strong stomach.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars snippets of Haruki Murakami surreal magic, .. and some duds, Aug. 29 2003
By 
lazza (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
Collections of short stories are often hit-and-miss affairs, and Haruki Murakami's The Elephant Vanishes is no exception. It contains both very memorable and rather forgettable stories. All of them have the Haruki Murakami surreal touch; modern Tokyo on drugs (if you will). Unfortunately the lead character in all his stories seem oddly the same, probably a thinly disguised version of Murakami himself.
Bottom line: no, not as good as his brilliant The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles. But certainly decent. Murakami fans will rejoice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE SUBTERRAIN OF PROSE, July 21 2003
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
An untouchable mystery of thought, madness, and equally unexplained sadness -- such is the gloomy psychological landscape in which Murakami typically sets his intriguing narratives. All those deliciously subcutaneous elements of prose are as evident in this collection of over a dozen stories as in any of his longer novels.
Geographically, many of them are based in Tokyo, but it might be any of the world's vast unforgiving cities where people get lost like tears in the rain and finding love is sometimes as hard as solving Rubik's cube in the dark. Reading Murakami is an unsettling, disorienting experience that can leave you feeling rather empty, but always somehow thoughtful.
Minor gripe: my favorite translator of Murakami's work is Jay Rubin and I am certain that under his watchful pen the stories would have more closely resembled the verve of their originals (in Japanese).
Nonetheless, if you have never read Murakami before, this marvellous collection is a great way to start in manageable dollops of his style. And if you are familiar with the author's dour tracts, this book should be an unmissable little something to relish on a sunny Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staredown with the Postmodern World, Dec 14 2002
By 
A. Steinhebel (Tacoma, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
This is a very solid collection of stories that 'fit' together very well. But for practical reasons, I'm just going to say a little bit about each rather then the book as a whole. The Wind Up Bird and Tuesday's Women- The reason I bought this book. It's obviously an early working of the first couple chapters of The Wind Up Bird Chronicle. It's very interesting to read, to see murakami's plans for his epic start to bud. And like that novel, it is an excellent piece of writing. "The Second Bakery Attack"- Great story that furthur elaborates on Murakami's view of the Absurd, which, needless to say is, well, more ABSURD than the absurd of Camus. I read somewhere that Murakami is picking up where Camus left off. I think this is a great view. Murakami is Camus if he had lived in the Postmodern era. "The Kangaroo Communique"- Vintage Murakami weirdness, with a touch of creepy love. "On Seeing the 100% Perfect Girl One Beautiful April Morning"- My personal favorite story in the collection, if you can even call it that. It's a beautfifully written piece on melacholy lost love to the circumstances of the world that none of us can see or control. Reminiscent of Sputnik Sweetheat, Norwegian Wood, and South of the Border, West of the Sun. "Sleep"- The most disappointing story. Not because it's bad. On the contrary, it's one of the best in the book. But it is crying out to be a novel. Like the first story, it seems quite possible to able to carry it out for a few hundred pages. Unfortunetly it ends with a quick, unsatisfying ending. "The Fall of the Roman Empire...etc"- Interesting. I'll just leave it at that.... "Lederhosen"- Intriguing little story dealing with individualism to the very group minded Japanese. "Barn Burning"- The most mysterious story in the book, about a writer who meets someone who claims to burn barns. "The Little Green Monster"- My least favorite story in the collection. Not up to Murakami's normal greatness. Interesting, if not anything original, is all I can say about it. "Family Affair"- Another great, personal story by Murakami about the obligation to mature. "A Window"- Forgetable, but enjoyable when reading. "Tv People" Scathing story about the insidousness of Television. "A Slow Boat to China"- A very interesting story about Chinese in Japan. I think, though, that only people with some grounding in Japanese culture would appreciate it. "The Dancing Dwarf"- Most likely the most insane story in the history of mankind. "The Last Lawn of the Afternoon"- Another story about the difficulty of love and human connections. "The Silence"- A wonderful story wherein Murakami defends the Everyman and laments the over achiever. "The Elephant Vanishes"- Good, but not great. Also forgetable.
All in all, this collection shows the whole breadth of Murkami's writing abilites, and is not something to be missed by any of his fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read -- Literature as it should be, Nov. 30 2003
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
Sometimes you start to read a book but you'e not ready for it. You should scrap it and pick it up again later in life. Any people (I specifically mean negative reviewers) who dislike Murakami should scrap reading him now, put his books carefully on the bookshelf and take one down during the next phase in your life because Murakami's incredible.
His writing is boiled down so far it is like a truffle. The essence carries far more mass than the thing. I saw a review that chastised his stories for having little plot. This to me is like being upset your PC isn't also a telegraph machine. You cannot look for plot in his stories. If you want action-adventure look elsewhere, but to suggest that there is no plot in his work is unfair. There certainly are plots, they are mostly based in emotion rather than action and are even surrealistic at times but they exist and they are riveting. In the story "Barn Burning" plot is nearly impossible to see until you finish the story and think about it -- but I would not dare suggest that this story lacks a point, direction, or entertainment. It's one of the best stories in the book and it only functions completely when you finish. Perhaps, Murakami forces us to reconsider what goes into a plot. They certainly are standard plots but this doesn't make them any less compelling. I think plot is overrated. Whoever thinks this book lacks plot also must think that Seinfeld is really about nothing.
What is most striking about Murakami's writing is how strange, smart, and unique his characters are. There is such style in their meanderings. These characters are 'bored but never boring' reads one piece of praise inside the jacket. This could not be truer. There are many great stories, and sure some may be on a lower level than others, but this should not stop you from reading them. What pulls you into his writing is the deep emotional yet intellectual viewpoint of the characters. Each one is lovable in a zany, almost impossible and certainly improbably, way.
One last point, it is possible that you can learn more about Japanese culture from this book than from reading many history books or other material. This book deals with a range of issues in its bizarre way while never sounding moralistic or at all attacking.
It is a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully preposterous masterpiece from a brilliant writer, May 14 2004
By 
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
Over the course of the last year or so, Murakami has propelled himself into the upper echelon of my taste in literature. I really love his work. The absolute confidence with which he writes his absurd yet profoundly beautiful novels has caused me to truly love sitting down to read one of his books for the first time.
There was no difference with this book. I absolutely loved this collection of stories. Normally I just read through a book and let whatever thoughts I have process and fade away with time. With this book I absolutely had to write down my thoughts. The stories in this book are brilliant.
The anonymity of the characters and surrealness of their settings are so great that they really grasp the essence of the purpose of the stories. His themes and metaphors are really poignant through his lack of other purpose in the stories. So stripped down and raw in physical story and purpose, yet so laden with internal dillema and character development, these stories are unique in such a way that only Murakami could have written them. Thus I love them.
If you're an avid reader of world literature or just like a good, odd story, this is the author for you, and in my opinion this is the place to start with him. I would even recommend reading a story out of this at the book store. While I have declared Haruki Murakami as one of my favorite authors, others may find his work a bit intellectually oppresive and because of this I think it's important, especially for a jaded american audience to get a little taste of what you're getting before you buy this. But definately try it out. You don't even know what you are missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Murakami at his best, May 28 2002
By 
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
I was going on a road trip and needed something to read ... other than Sputnik Sweetheart, I'd already read all of Murakami's work, so I thought I'd give The Elephant Vanishes a shot. Am I ever glad I did!
Murakami shows off his trademark humor, wit, and versatility while spinning tales about his favorite topic: humanity. That's the best explanation I can give to someone who wants to know what kind of writer Murakami is: he writes about what it means to be alive. Love, death, life, Murakami deals with the whole spectrum of human existance with amazing skill and grace.
Listing my favorite stories in this work without listing the entire table of contents would be a challenge, but I think it would be fair to say that my favorites were "The Silence," "The Wind-up Bird" (from a longer Murakami novel), "The 100% Perfect Girl," and "The Kangaroo Communique." If you haven't read Murakami before, this would be a great book to get your feet wet with. If you're a Murakami fan but haven't read this one yet, what are you waiting for? "The Elephant Vanishes" is Murakami at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Mr. Murakami, do you understand PEOPLE?', March 6 2002
By 
tim rogers (indianapolis, indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
I envision a wide-eyed Japanese kid, one wearing a Yu-Gi-Oh T-shirt, asking Haruki Murakami this question. I envision Haruki Murakami narrowing his eyes, and saying something like, 'Not really.'
A person who I consider a trusted mentor even though she probably doesn't remember my name is a woman named Sumie Jones. She's an old woman -- I won't guess her age, out of utter respect -- and she happened to teach a feminist literature class at Indiana University when I was a junior there. This woman once told a room of female comparative literature majors, 'I used to be a feminist, kind of. Then, I gave it up. It was just too much work.' One day, a student called her out. She called her a 'faker.' 'You're not a feminist,' the girl said. She was a sorority girl, sweater and all. 'Am I supposed to be?' Sumie Jones said.
Sumie Jones could turn every lecture around to the topic of sex. We were talking about Yuko Tsushima, and, somehow, Sumie Jones managed to mention, 'I was talking to my friend last week, in Korea [Sumie Jones gets around] -- she's a PORNOGRAPHIC NOVELIST . . .'
Sumie Jones read some of my unpolished short stories. She told me, in confidence, 'They're good, really good. However.'
'However what?' I asked her.
'You need to quit trying to understand people.'
She went on to explain that there are two kinds of writers: those who don't understand people and think they should, and those who understand people and don't bother to try. She was the first person to suggest Murakami's 'The Elephant Vanishes' to me.
Reading Murakami's 'The Elephant Vanishes,' I started to think: what would happen if, one day, I awoke, fully understanding people? I'd be frightened out of my mind. I'm sure Murakami agrees with me. Don't you, Mr. Murakami?
Close to a year after reading Murakami, I form my new philosophy of writing, one to counter the 'show, don't tell' plague:
Look, don't show.
I copyrighted that. Don't steal it.
I base this theory on my childhood questioning of my father's habit -- going to the mall, buying a cup of coffee, sitting at the food court, and 'watching people.' Now, I find myself repeating this habit, with Orange Julius in place of coffee. I don't get nearly as bored as you might think. I don't even have to bring a book anymore.
In 'The Kangaroo Communique,' Murakami LOOKS at a crazy man leaving a letter/tape for a woman who wrote the complaints section of a department store about her purchase of the wrong album. The narrator tells the woman that he found her commas 'interesting.'
In 'The Second Bakery Attack,' Murakami LOOKS at a man's wife, who helps him in a slightly wacky way after he tells her of his curse of intense hunger inflicted by a bakery owner years before.
Perhaps it's the Fitzgeraldian influence on Murakami that leads his characters (a la 'Nick' in THE GREAT GATSBY) to tell a story by LOOKing at another character. Or maybe it's something else. On the average, Murakami's narrators are complete people, shaped sometimes by the people around them.
(Stepping out of line for a second: 'You have an interesting way of talking.' People keep saying that to the narrator of NORWEGIAN WOOD. Really, would we find his way of talking interesting if everyone didn't keep saying so?)
With the exception of 'On meeting the 100% perfect girl . . .' 'The Dancing Dwarf,' and 'TV People,' Murakami's stories in this collection are surprisingly readable despite their narrative fragility. (The latter two tried to say too much too unspecifically about society, and fell kind of flat with me.)
'A Family Affair' resembles harder Banana Yoshimoto in a pleasnt, 'I-novel' kind of way. 'Barn Burning' looks, rather puzzledly, at a weird girl and the even weird part-time arsonist gets involved with. 'A Slow Boat to China,' a beautiful essay (and the title piece of a collection of Murakami's essays I've just finished reading in Japanese) looks, with the widest scope one man can provide, at China. The final line of the title piece, after reading all the stories in order in one sitting, made me cry for reasons I really don't understand.
'The elephant and keeper have vanished completely. They will never be coming back.'
Murakami really hits something in that story. The very fact that I can't pinpoint what it is -- well, that's what makes me read this collection again and again. I am proud to say I don't really gain any more 'understanding' of people with each reading. I'm sure Mr. Murakami wants it that way.
Here's to not understanding people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant work from the humble literary giant., Feb. 24 2002
By 
Keith L. Goode "Keith L. Goode" (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
At the risk of sounding cliché, I have to say that Murakami never ceases to amaze me. The Elephant Vanishes is actually a book made up of 17 distinct stories, several of which have previously been published in publications as varied as “The New Yorker” and Playboy.” A reader would be hard-pressed to determine what the common thread is throughout the stories in this book other than Murakami’s own exploration of the mundane and dark corners of his soul. Many of the stories in The Elephant Vanishes are mere snapshots of the protagonists’ lives. Others are amazing realities created by Murakami’s amazing imagination. Whether commonplace or extraordinary, Murakami tells each story in a beautiful and convincing manner. While the characters in his stories never accomplish anything uncommon in their own worlds, readers are taken to places they’ve never even thought about going through Murakami’s remarkable story-telling abilities. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars << The essence of the unnatural life >>, Feb. 2 2002
By 
Galitt (South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elephant Vanishes: Stories (Paperback)
17 modern, magical, urbanic hilarious tales.
It's the first Murakami book I've read, and from now on I got addicted to his books. Murakami 's deadpan genius. King of the bizarre realm.
His stories take place in Japan, but could as well be everywhere else.
I found myself enthralled by the way he writes, captivated
To his ideas, fascinated by his way to see the unnatural in a so natural way.
The confusion of the young people in his stories is funny, touching and so familiar. Everything could happen; anything is for real if you can see it in your head. Everyone's normal, just the circumstances aren't...
It left me with the taste and desire for more! One by one I swallowed all of his other books.
I had never got disappointed from any of the others, but I found these short stories as the essence of all that I like about his books, and I keep reading it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elephant Vanishes: Stories
The Elephant Vanishes: Stories by Haruki Murakami (Paperback - June 28 1994)
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews