Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal First Dr. Seuss Book for Your Baby!
This book deserves many more than five stars for its great ability to engage your child with books at a very young age! With this head start, you can expect to help nurture a lifelong love of books and reading.
Dr. Seuss must have known that children respond more to noises than to words. So this book emphasizes noises. It also provides a wonderful opportunity to...
Published on Jan. 11 2001 by Donald Mitchell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poorly done edition - stick with the original
This bright and early board book is an abridged edition of a Dr. Seuss classic. The intent seems to have been to create an infant and toddler friendly edition of the book. Unfortunately, the editing was done very poorly. Much of what children seem to perceive at this age is "rhythm and rhyme" - the musicality of spoken language, if you will - not necessarily the story...
Published on May 27 2003


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal First Dr. Seuss Book for Your Baby!, Jan. 11 2001
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
This book deserves many more than five stars for its great ability to engage your child with books at a very young age! With this head start, you can expect to help nurture a lifelong love of books and reading.
Dr. Seuss must have known that children respond more to noises than to words. So this book emphasizes noises. It also provides a wonderful opportunity to act. The facial expressions, gestures, and body movements you make will create a strong impression. Soon your baby will begin to imitate the sounds. Imitating the word syllables and words is seldom far behind.
"Oh, the wonderful things
Mr. Brown can do!
He can go like a cow
He can go Moo Moo"
Sections all start off like that. Then they end with the encouragement to imitate:
"Mr. Brown can do it.
How about you?"
You can point to your child then, and repeat the sound with a nice smile.
Here are the animals or objects, and the sounds they make that are in the book:
bee -- "Buzz Buzz"
cork -- "Pop Pop"
horse feet -- "Klopp Klopp Klopp"
squeaky shoe -- "Eek Eek"
rooster -- "Cock a Doodle Doo"
owl -- "Hoo Hoo Hoo Hoo"
rain -- "Dibble Dibble Dibble Dopp"
train -- "Choo Choo Choo Choo"
butterfly -- "Whisper Whisper"
horn -- "Blurp Blurp Blurp Blurp"
big cat drinking -- "Slurp Slurp Slurp Slurp"
clock -- "Tick Tock"
hand on a door -- "Knock Knock"
egg in frying pan -- "Sizzle Sizzle"
hippopotamus chewing gum -- "Grum Grum"
goldfish kiss -- "Pip!"
thunder -- "Boom Boom Boom"
lightning -- "Splatt Splatt Splatt"
The sounds are repeated as partial and total lists in several places. These repetitions can be made very humorous in your reading and cause gales of baby giggles.
Except for the lists, there is a beautiful large illustration to help your baby or child tie the sound to an animal or object.
A good way to enhance your baby's enjoyment of the book is to notice what sounds your baby seems to like already. For example, most babies like low, comfort sounds (in the moo moo range). You can add those sounds and your own drawings (or photographs) to go with them. You could have a refrigerator go Hum Hum Hum, or a car go Wrooom Wrooom. Your own ideas will be better than mine, I'm sure.
Have a wonderful time being a parent, and be sure to take the time to enjoy the pleasures of books like this one with your baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son's favourite book!, Jan. 7 2014
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
I have many books and have been reading them to him every night during his bedtime routine since 3 months old. He is now 9 months old and this is by far his favourite, he always laughs and giggles when I read it. Such a joy! Love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love this book, Aug. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
My kids love this book. They insist on making all the noises with me, and keeps them really interested in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute book, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
It is a cute book...will be fun to read to a little one! The baby who is getting this is from a farming family...I know it will be a great book for the little one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Make your baby laugh!, Nov. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
Although my 10mth old stays more engaged reading a flap book the funny sounds and the bright illustrations get some giggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars daughter loves this book!, Nov. 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
My daughter loves this book. Now that shes old enough she makes all of the sounds as we go through it. Its a fun book to read to her and she loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and enjoyable, Dec 5 2006
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
Out of the dozens of board books we have been given and purchased for our infant, she enjoys this one best of all. Our four month old enjoys sitting on our laps, looking at the bright illustrations, and listening to us make animal sounds. A fun, rhythmic book which baby can grab and really sink his or her gums into. I highly recommend this book, along with Sanda Boynton's two books "Barnyard Dance" and "Moo, Baa, La La La!" books for infants and toddlers. My recommendation for older kids is Why Some cats are rascals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moooooo!, March 14 2003
By 
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
To those reviewers bashing the board book version, I say: get over it! The board book version makes it possible to hold a squirming infant and read and turn the pages at the same time. Accordingly, the baby is exposed to the process of reading at a time when it would otherwise be prohibitive. My five month old loves this book, clearly tries to mimic the sounds of Mr. Brown, and smiles beyond belief as I loudly moo, whoo, buzz, and tick-tock. I think above all else, Suess would want youngsters exposed to his works as early as possible, abridged or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Our baby loves it., Sept. 3 2002
By 
Paul Carr (Silver Spring, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
This has become our 15 month-old's favorite book, and she has even learned to do one or two of the noises. I read it to her at least 3 times a day. Of course, as a parent, you will be obligated to have a go at some of Mr. Brown's noises, and Mr. Brown is a wonder. I fint the Knock and the Splatt problematic, although I'm quite good at the Moo and the Klopp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Right From The Start, Jan. 13 2002
This review is from: Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises (Board book)
I have been reading this book to my son since birth every night. He loves it. He is now 4 months old and loves to help turn the sturdy board book pages. The different noises that Mr. Brown makes are very intriging to babies and it gives them something to try to imitate. He also likes looking at the colorful illustrations in this book. It is one that we will be reading/reciting for years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf2c1174)

This product

Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?: Dr. Seuss's Book of Wonderful Noises
CDN$ 6.50 CDN$ 6.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews