Customer Reviews


559 Reviews
5 star:
 (265)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (77)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIs shortest and best novel
Believed by many to have been written at the time of Hemingway's innermost struggles, this story provided proof that Hemingway could indeed write a classic after so many years. The Old Man And The Sea tells the story of an aging Cuban fisherman who has gone over eighty days without catching one fish. This string of bad luck comes after having made a career out of fishing...
Published on Sept. 21 2006 by Kathy (Kath4)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "We must kill our brothers"
I really enjoyed the movie (1990) with Anthony Quinn as Santiago. So I decided it was time to read the book. Well I found the book and the movie paralleled pretty well. How ever I was getting bored with the book. He kept going on and on about Joe Dimaggio's bone spur.

There were a few places that made me squeamish. One such place is when he gutted a dolphin and...
Published on Jan. 20 2007 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIs shortest and best novel, Sept. 21 2006
This review is from: Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
Believed by many to have been written at the time of Hemingway's innermost struggles, this story provided proof that Hemingway could indeed write a classic after so many years. The Old Man And The Sea tells the story of an aging Cuban fisherman who has gone over eighty days without catching one fish. This string of bad luck comes after having made a career out of fishing in the Gulf Stream. Resisting those who offered help, the old man sets out to sea and indeed catches a giant Marlin. But the story does not stop there. Despite having hooked the Marlin, the old man remains in his boat trying to hold on to the fishing line and his mortality, while the Marlin perseveres in its attempt to escape death. While holding on and writhing in pain, the old man learns more about himself than he ever had before. His spirituality and empathy for others reaches an apex, and his graciousness in defeat reveals the identity of his character. The Old Man And The Sea is a story of revival and hope, followed by reality and defeat. This novel stands out as incredibly well written, a common characteristic of Hemingway novels and short stories. Despite being a short read, this short story leaves the reader with much more to ponder. The Old Man And the Sea is an excellent selection for anyone who can read between the lines. It proves itself as a classic that cannot be ignored. Also recommended: -----katzenjammer -----by Jackson McCrae, totally different but fun like Heller or Sedaris's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great journey, May 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wonderful read, slow going but the end of the book was wonderful and I really did enjoy it a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great story. It was a very awakening tale. I recommend this book to all entrepreneurs who have doubts about how much life is wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet deep, May 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
Very simple read, but the profound meanings in this book are mesmerizing. Such a short read, you may have to read it twice to make sure you didn't miss anything. Anybody who wants a taste of Ernest Hemingway should start with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic!, March 1 2014
By 
Susan Shepherd "fanatic" (Scarborough,, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I never read this as a young person for some reason but now that I am an old woman, the old man in this tale might have grabbed my attention it was tender and exciting and exhausting and disappointing all at once. it is so well written that you can just picture the struggle the man had and his strengths and failings all through the night.Excellent fast paced read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Gift, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
My giftee enjoyed literature and Old Man and the Sea is never a disappointment!
The shipment was ahead of schedule and got to the destination swiftly and with care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hemingway at it's best!!!, Oct. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
This book profoundly touched me!!! I didn't know books like this existed i only read it because im doing the 100 best books of all times list and im glad i had the opportunity to explore Ernest Hemingway and experience the pleasure that reading his novels can bring. Truly one of the best authors. I would recommend this book to anyone!!! It's quite small but the impact is amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful!, Nov. 24 2012
By 
Pierre Gauthier (Montréal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Old Man and the Sea (Audio CD)
This work's reputation is fully deserved.

It is short and devoid of any frills.

There are but a few characters, actually only one of whom is fully developed.

Though suspenseful, the plot is simple and straightforward.

Yet, this work is profound, thought-provoking and meaningful.

In this audio version, the narration is fully up to par.

In short, it is a definite must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Failure in Success: a hard life lesson, June 26 2005
This review is from: Old Man and the Sea (Paperback)
Santiago is an old man. He was once a great fisherman, but no longer. The other fishermen ridicule him, or ignore him. Eighty days without a fish, and the parents of the small boy who helps him, Manolin, have forbidden him to work with Santiago any more. He is unlucky, they say, and the word is echoed around town.
But the old fisherman does not mind. He knows that life is difficult, that not everything goes the way you wish it would. On the eighty-fifth day, he sets out into the water, alone, and hooks a great fish. 'Never have I had such a strong fish nor one who acted so strangely', he muses to himself, early on in the battle. For it is a battle. The fish he has caught is strong, has great endurance, and a cunning that Santiago admires.
As time passes, he starts to talk to himself more and more. He muses on the strength of the fish, and how they are brothers. He desperately wants to catch it, so that he can return to Havana with some glory and enough money to sit and listen to the 'great DiMaggio' on the radio, in peace. But he also admires the fish, and gradually, he becomes unsure as to whether he has made the right decision in trying so hard to kill it.
'Never have I seen a greater, or more beautiful, or a calmer or more noble thing than you, brother. Come on and kill me. I do not care who kills who.'
Santiago is an old man, a man who has accepted his weaknesses and failures, but who also knows his strengths. He has a great confidence in his own abilities, but it is a weary, hesitant confidence that is difficult to explain. On the one hand, he knows that he has the capability to capture the fish. He has caught large fish before, and, thanks to the raw fish he has been eating, considers that he has the strength to keep going, for ever if necessary. But he protests and cajoles and pleads at his individual body parts to work, for them not to fail. 'Hold up, legs. Last for me, head. Last for me. You never went.' He knows he can do it, but, because of his age and the majesty of his 'brother', he is worried that maybe this time, this fish will be the one that got away.
Hemingway's writing is sparse and effective. Sentences are short, sharp, and have very little in the way of flowery words or fancy punctuation. The writing suits the story very well, because Santiago is an up and down man himself. What you see is what you get, both in the characters, the setting, and the writing. There is also the interesting effect where, due to the simplicity of the writing and the sparse selection of characters, the story can be interpreted on many levels. On one, it is the story of man struggling and fighting for something that, once achieved, we cannot hold on to. On the other, it is the sadness and inevitability of age. Or the insignificance of the single man in today's group-action world. Or many other interpretations.
The ending is sad, beautiful and completely appropriate. Could the novel have ended any other way? Yes, but I argue that if it had, then the message, the electricity, the purpose that Hemingway had been building for the previous 90 pages, this would have been lost with the easy, happy solution. Instead, we have man's failure in success, and Santiago's calm acceptance, and it is inspiring. Pick up a copy of this thoughtful, beautifully written novel. Another book I need to recommend -- completely unrelated to Hemingway, but very much on my mind since I purchased a "used" copy off Amazon is "The Losers' Club: Complete Restored Edition," a somewhat raw, but oddly engaging little novel I can't stop thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Man and the Sea
Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway (Paperback - May 5 1995)
CDN$ 14.00 CDN$ 10.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews