Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST BOOK EVER WRITTNE ABOUT WAR!
This book is the gripping account of World War Two's most tragic battle and thats the story of the Red Devils(British Paratroopers) at Arnhem. This book covers in wonderful detail of the events of Operation Market-Garden. Ryan writes his masterpiece with hundredes of accounts from te soldiers who were accutally there. This book is packed from cover to cover with stories...
Published on July 14 2004 by Patrick Wilkins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good detail but much too dry
You can tell that Ryan has done tremendous research into Operation Market Garden. But his writing style comes off as much too dry for anyone but the most avid WW II enthusiast. I am very much interested in this topic, but am not a rabid WW II fanatic. As such, I have tried no less than 6 times to read this book and can never finish it. I usually get to about 1/3 of it and...
Published on Sept. 29 2003 by Alex Dearden


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST BOOK EVER WRITTNE ABOUT WAR!, July 14 2004
By 
Patrick Wilkins (Granville, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
This book is the gripping account of World War Two's most tragic battle and thats the story of the Red Devils(British Paratroopers) at Arnhem. This book covers in wonderful detail of the events of Operation Market-Garden. Ryan writes his masterpiece with hundredes of accounts from te soldiers who were accutally there. This book is packed from cover to cover with stories of heroism, courage,and bravery. Like the story of Col. Frosts small band of tough Red Devils who hold Arnhem for four days against two S.S. Panzer Divisions, or the story of the 82nd Airbornes crossing of te Waal river 2 take Nimejan Bridge in daylight. If I could i would give it a 7 star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to Operation Market-Garden, May 17 2009
By 
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
Great introduction to Operation Market-Garden. Good overview, with lots of anecdotes from participants. Included maps are appropriate/good. I quite enjoyed the writing style. This is a top recommendation for anyone interested in the setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not totally accurate, June 17 2004
By 
Leonard A. Senerote (Grand Prairie, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
Just like in "the Longest Day" in which the 2nd Ranger is erroneously depicted as failing in their mission, Ryan depicts operation Market/Garden as a total failure since they failed to secure the final bridge. As with "The Longest Day", had Ryan fully reserched this subject, Ryan would have discovered that a major objective of the offensive was to open desperately needed port to shorten the allies' line of supply. As a result of this offensive, the allies attacked northward from their positions which were as far east as Nimigen and opened the port of Antwerp in Belgium. This was an important onjective to the overall European war effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Book About Operation Market Garden, June 7 2004
By 
Charles J. Rector (Woodstock, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
A Bridge Too Far is one of the greatest books ever written about a major combat operation during World War II. In writing this book, Cornelius Ryan interviewed dozens, if not hundreds of participants from high-ranking generals to civilians. This book fully exposes the sheer stupidity and overconfidence that characterized both the planning and execution of Operation Market Garden by the Allies that was supposed to end WWII in Europe by Christmas, 1944.
A true classic war book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, March 5 2004
By 
"rousselle@cfs.purdue.edu" (Lafayette, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
Absolutely one of the best books that I have ever read. It is not so much a book about the tactics and strategy, although that is in it, but a story about ordinary men doing extraordinary things. It will make you laugh, put a lump in your throat, and shake your head in amazement at the bravery of men in the battle. For you war buffs, it will give you even more reason to wonder why Montgomery is held in such high esteem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful tale of bravery in action..., Feb. 4 2004
By 
The Doctor (Deep South USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
The bravery of the men on both sides of this battle was extrodinary. The blunder of the allied leadership inexcusable.
Read this book and find out how a battle like this takes place and how the fog of war affects leaderships decision making process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL THE WAY..., Jan. 28 2004
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
As a Parratooper , I found that it was my duty to read this book. I am very glad that I did. I choose to read the book instead of watching the movie and I am glad that I did(the movie closely follows the book). As a memeber of the Airborne Corps, It was a honor putting those wings on my chest and looking everyday at the "All American" patch on my sleeve. Many brave men died, and the book gives great accounts of the Airborne divisions battles and the will to keep fighting. To many,it is just names on a map,Graves,Rhine.... but to many like myself whom have had the honor of meeting many of the men who where on those combat jumps, it means more to them than anything in the world...Airborne!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Set the mark., Jan. 22 2004
By 
Robert S. Staub "RSS" (ALBUQUERQUE, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
Cornelius Ryan's A Bridge Too Far set the mark impossibly high for books about Operation Market Garden. There have been several other excellent books written about this battle [Frost's A Bridge Too Many, Middlebrook's Arnhem 1944, and It Never Snows In September] but Ryan's remains just a cut above. I could not put this book down. As long as it is, I finished it in two days. Like another reviewer I knew little about the battle prior to reading this book. Had the operation been successful it would be mentioned in the same breath with Thermapolae and the Six Day War. The Allied Airborne troops displayed a level of bravery that is hard for people to comprehend today [as did the Germans.]Cornelius Ryan conveys this, and virtually every other aspect of the battle almost to perfection. If you never read any other piece of military history, read this one. I guarantee you will remember it for all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good detail but much too dry, Sept. 29 2003
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
You can tell that Ryan has done tremendous research into Operation Market Garden. But his writing style comes off as much too dry for anyone but the most avid WW II enthusiast. I am very much interested in this topic, but am not a rabid WW II fanatic. As such, I have tried no less than 6 times to read this book and can never finish it. I usually get to about 1/3 of it and have to put it back on the shelf.
So be forewarned, it will not appeal to people with a passing intereset in WW II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Engrossing Account of an Over-looked Battle, Aug. 19 2003
By 
Randy Keehn (Williston, ND United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II (Paperback)
I don't know about you but I really didn't know much of anything about Operation Market Garden until I read this book. It was the last of the three WWII books by Ryan that I read (the others were "The Longest Day" and "The Last Battle"). It also was and is the best of the three. There is something extra about this book that seems to bring the reader even closer to the scene of action. As usual, Cornelius Ryan does an excellent job of interviewing a wide range of participants and observers and then weaving together a story that allows us to follow the action step by step; sometimes minute by minute. Unfortunately, the author can only report history; he can't change it. Market Garden still remains a failed mission and Ryan helps us to understand just why. There is plenty of detail here but it reads like a novel rather than a history. This is as engrossing account of any event in WWII as you will find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9e9aaa4)

This product

Bridge Too Far: The Classic History of the Greatest Airborne Battle of World War II
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 16.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews