Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars the hyena was slipping right along the edge of it
although i have not read any other short story in this collection except the title story, i still gave it 5 stars just because that story alone would give me the reason to buy this book (because i don't own it yet). i don't think i would be interested in any of hemingway's novels; i doubt if i could get any sort of satisfaction reading about his hunting expeditions and...
Published on May 31 2001 by brandon matuja

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Death and Drink, War and lllness
The editors at Scribners have chosen ten of Hemingway's short stories for this Paperback edition. Set both in America and
abroad, the subjects of these tales deal with some of his favorite--albeit morbid--literary interests: death, drink, war and illness. Possibly influenced by Anderson's anthology, WINESBURG OHIO, the author actually chooses one character, Nick...
Published on April 24 2004 by Plume45


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars the hyena was slipping right along the edge of it, May 31 2001
By 
although i have not read any other short story in this collection except the title story, i still gave it 5 stars just because that story alone would give me the reason to buy this book (because i don't own it yet). i don't think i would be interested in any of hemingway's novels; i doubt if i could get any sort of satisfaction reading about his hunting expeditions and stuff like that. even "the old man and the sea" bored the hell out of me. i just seem to lack the patience with this writer. for the most part, i just can't read him. but "the snows of kilimanjaro" i read, and it is one of the greatest short stories there is. it is the best story about death, in my opinion. and i knew that hemingway had BEEN there, and had brought this story back to us. (and this was before i knew anything about his travels to africa, or any details about his personal life in general). i read this story, and i am very impressed by hemingway's ability to write simply, yet deeply. it is a very admirable trait for any writer to have - to be able to evoke images and express oneself using as few words as possible... that takes talent. william burroughs has said that "the snows of kilimanjaro" is hemingway's best, if not only, true writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "His Genius Most Truly And Surely Showed Itself", Feb. 7 2001
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
Lionel Trilling once said of Ernest Hemingway: "it is in his short stories rather than in his novels that his genius most truly and surely showed itself." I agree entirely with Mr. Trilling. One of Hemingway's most powerful and moving short stories is "The Snows of Kilimanjaro."
Harry had come to Africa with the hopes of rekindling his talents. Africa was where he was the happiest and therefore the ideal setting for writing. However, Harry's talent for writing was slipping before he came to Africa and with his leg becoming infected and the gangrene setting in, his fate as a failed writer seemed sealed. Would Harry have been able to regain the stature he desired as a writer even if he was not being confronted by death? This is one of the questions Hemingway wants us to ponder.
The dream Harry has of flying towards the top of Kilimanjaro is another sequence in which to ponder. We do, for a moment, get the sense that Harry is at peace in the presence of the majestic Kilimanjaro. But the story ends not with Harry's dream of ascending mount Kilimanjaro, but with the crying of the hyena. This brings us back to the reality of Harry's death and reminds us of his failed ambitions. Kilimanjaro represents the sovereign height to which every writer wishes to rise. With death breathing down his neck (literally), Harry can now only dream of reaching such a height.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Short Story of All-Time, Aug. 3 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
Quite simply, "The Snows of Kilimajaro" is the greatest short story I have ever read. Hemingway's poignant prose powerfully touches the reader with its rather candid narration and lack of verbosity. A stirring portrait of potential wasted and talent corrupted, this story explores the classic Hemingway themes of death and corruption. As the protagonist faces death and bemoans the ruination of his talent by "betrayals of himself and what he believed in" and by "drinking so much he blunted the edge of his perception," the reader realizes the significance of living life in such a manner that when death beckons, the end will come without any regrets, could-haves, would-haves or should-haves. Perhaps no author embodied this philosophy more than Hemingway; a man who truly lived a life without regrets.
Be prepared: this story shall transform your philosophy on existence. Oh yeah, and the other stories aren't half-bad either :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Death and Drink, War and lllness, April 24 2004
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
The editors at Scribners have chosen ten of Hemingway's short stories for this Paperback edition. Set both in America and
abroad, the subjects of these tales deal with some of his favorite--albeit morbid--literary interests: death, drink, war and illness. Possibly influenced by Anderson's anthology, WINESBURG OHIO, the author actually chooses one character, Nick Adams, to appear in several unrelated stories. Ranging in length from 3 - 33 pages these stories are the offspring of the imagination and morality of a Man's author. His protagonists include a solider, boxer, gambler, game hunters--even simple waiters. Set in Africa, Italy, France and the Chicago environs, this collection will transport readers back to the era of the Lost Generation, when personal choices were often painfully wrong, resulting in social and moral disaster. Vintage Heminway, with subtle hints of his interest in suicide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, riveting short fiction from Mr. Hemingway!, Feb. 7 2004
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
This collection of short fiction is a reminder of Ernest Hemingway's place as one of the best authors of all time. The Snows of Kilimanjaro is full of Hemingway's wonderful, clear and timeless language and prose. "A Clean, Well-Lighted Place," "A Day's Wait," and "The Killers" possess profound sadness and sentimentality. My favorite story is the semiautobiographical "Fathers and Sons." Hemingway illustrates his feelings about his father's suicide with rich, albeit sharp, prose. The subject title is also a wonderful story. This isn't Hemingway's best work, not as powerful as The Sun Also Rises and A Farewell to Arms, but it's a memorable book nevertheless. His short stories have always touched me, and these aren't the exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quick fix of Hemingway., Oct. 15 1997
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
"The Snows of Kilimanjaro" contains some of Hemingway's finer short stories. And like many of his works, they resemble his life. Everything from his childhood to his later years in Africa are material for these tales. The stories of Hemingway's recurrent character, Nick Adams, who some say is Hemingway himself, are contained in this book also. All the works bear his distinct imprint, even though many are under ten pages in length. "The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber" is what I consider Hemingway's most potent short story of all. This collection is a great primer for those who are unacquainted with Hemingway's work and wish to discover his talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, May 24 2000
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
I do not feel that this is the place for the discussion that this book deserves, but there are a few books that are so good that mere public affirmation of them is enjoyable. There are so many reasons to savor this book: the thick precision of the prose, the refreshing, responsible perspective, the adventurous spirit, the places Hemingway takes you. Hemingway shined so brightly in his short stories. It was an ideal form for him. This book contains his best: "The Snows of Kilimanjaro," "The Short Happy life of Francis Macomber," "The Killers," and "Fathers and Sons."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exploration of Man Internally and Externally., July 19 2000
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
Hemingway not only captures the reader via adventure in places the average man has not visited, but also explores the meaning and value of life. This piece is brilliant philisophically. When all the stories are sewn together we get a full view on all the facets of man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product from Papa, Aug. 20 2000
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
This is the most powerful book Papa H. ever produced. THE SHORT HAPPY LIFE, THE KILLERS, the title piece, all combine for one explosive effect philosophically, emotionally, and psychologically. Hemingway at his best, only as a short story writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, Dec 28 2001
This review is from: The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories (Paperback)
Yes of course, Hemingway is a good writer and some of the stories in the book are excellent. However, as a collection, the book is uninspiring and a bit depressing. Choose a different Hemingway book if you need something to read on safari.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories
The Snows of Kilimanjaro and Other Stories by Ernest Hemingway (Paperback - Oct. 3 1995)
CDN$ 16.00 CDN$ 11.55
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews