Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers most of the bases
This is an excellent book by a fourth-generation Montana cattle rancher turned vegetarian. Lyman writes about how he inherited his father's farm and destroyed it through chemical agricultural practices he learned in college. Right before undergoing surgery for a spinal tumor he remembered how fertile his soil used to be and how dead it now was. He determined then that he...
Published on Jan. 27 2002 by Walk Softly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For beginners only!
while i was extemely anxious to read this book, i found out that in two chapters i was reading a dummies guide to environmentalism/vegetarianism. i have been vegetarian for many years and vegan for many as well. i picked this book up thinking it might have a little more insight on the gentleman writing the book. it did not. in fact i believe there were only two chapters...
Published on March 27 2002 by john m baxter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers most of the bases, Jan. 27 2002
This is an excellent book by a fourth-generation Montana cattle rancher turned vegetarian. Lyman writes about how he inherited his father's farm and destroyed it through chemical agricultural practices he learned in college. Right before undergoing surgery for a spinal tumor he remembered how fertile his soil used to be and how dead it now was. He determined then that he would restore the farm his father had given him. During recuperation he took a personal inventory and saw a selfish and callous man. And that inventory began his change toward compassion, vegetarianism and political activism.
The majority of the book covers the detrimental effects to the environment and our health in choosing a meat-based diet to include chemical farm management, antibiotics, bovine growth hormone, mad cow disease and related human diseases, loss of forest, top soil, desertification, global warming, loss of wildlife, water pollution, etc. You'll get a nice education of the kind of foods they feed cattle that we in turn ingest. The last chapter includes some sound dietary recommendations.
He writes: "It's humbling to think that, even after turning over the greater share of our public land to cattle ranchers, and in spite of the massive feedlot operations fouling our country, we Americans still need to import beef to satisfy our collective demand for heart attacks. In the process, we facilitate the chopping down of Central and South American rain forest, while leaving the populations of those countries impoverished."
This book is an excellent introduction to the horrendous negative impact beef production and consumption is having to our health and the health of our planet. It holds a permanent place in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For beginners only!, March 27 2002
By 
john m baxter (Naperville, IL USA) - See all my reviews
while i was extemely anxious to read this book, i found out that in two chapters i was reading a dummies guide to environmentalism/vegetarianism. i have been vegetarian for many years and vegan for many as well. i picked this book up thinking it might have a little more insight on the gentleman writing the book. it did not. in fact i believe there were only two chapters devoted to why he did what he did. it seemed like more of an overview than an expose. the writing seemed a little sophmoric and generic. if you have ever read a book about becoming a vegetarian or vegan, then you have already read this book. i think what bothered me most, was that he devoted almost an entire chapter to "the zone diet." it felt a little preachy at the end and a little rushed. i guess it doesn't help that i don't appreciate oprah's work either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight From The Cattle's Mouth! Or No Udder nonsense!, May 18 2003
By A Customer
From a former real cowboy and rancher, you can take this book to the bank! For anyone who eats meat or drinks milk, this book will tell you why you shouldn't! It is indeed straight from the cattles mouth and udder, and why I paid attention and you should too!
Simply put, these highly human adulterated, drugged meats and pus-filled milk are unhealthy for humans directly and indirectly, because the cattle they come from are also very unhealthy to the enviroment. We really are competing with these trampling and fecal generating bovines for the control of the planet and our water supply! They are not an efficient food supply to rely on. Growing organic vegetables and grain multiplies the planet's efficiency for self-sustinence where cattle has the opposite effect.
The author mentions a vegetarian alternative, though I don't agree with all his recommendations, such as using Canola oil (olive oil is still the safest) and certain soy derivatives (which are fractured foods) they are still a much better alternative than eating anything from a cow from people who don't care what they feed it, or what they inject in it. Their whole mantra seems to be with milk or meat is, "just get rid of it" and repeat the process. I guess they even find what they are doing disgusting!
There is an interesting part on drinking milk with the unproven rBGH growth hormone milk. The real reason the drug company won't remove this guinea-pig type and useless drug is told in the book. It's borders on appalling considering milk is given mostly to growing children.
He also makes a interesting case about why we have gotten fatter on supposedly low-fat diets. The simple fact of the matter is, most of us have not really tried a low-fat diet such as McDougalls, Ornish or Pritkin, and most of us get EXCESS calories to begin with! This is common sense and he points it out to us.
It is interesting to note that the author (a life-long meat and diary eater) states he is the only healthy one of all his friends who never changed their meat diet and nearly all now have heart disease or cancer, of few of which have already died and that he is the only healthy survivor since switching to a meatless diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more on diabetes and veganism, Oct. 26 2003
This review is from: Mad Cowboy: Plain Truth from the Cattle Rancher Who Won't Eat Meat (Paperback)
One of the problems in this book seems to be that people are bothered Lyman's gloss over diabetes. While it's true that type-I (or "juvenille") diabetics do not produce enough insulin to meet even basal-insulin needs (this the amount of insulin a person would need even if she wasn't eating anything), I think that Lyman probably meant that a vegan diet can help diabetics in other ways.
A diet which includes a lot of animal products is very high in cholesterol. All people, diabetic or otherwise, should watch their cholesterol levels... but diabetics, both type-I and type-II, tend have higher levels of cholesterol than "healthy" individuals; therefore, they are already at a higher risk for cholesterol-related problems (hardening of arteries, high blood pressure, and heart disease). If a diabetic turns to a vegan diet, she can significantly reduce her cholesterol levels, which would stave off cholesterol-related problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, March 26 2011
This review is from: Mad Cowboy: Plain Truth from the Cattle Rancher Who Won't Eat Meat (Paperback)
Im a vegan who sometimes needs help with explaining what it is that I am doing and why. This book is a really great for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HE'S NOT THE ONLY ONE!, Dec 27 2008
This review is from: Mad Cowboy: Plain Truth from the Cattle Rancher Who Won't Eat Meat (Paperback)
Reading this book, to me, was like preaching to the converted, as I am already vegetarian, and 99% vegan. The comment I want to make is that my father, a butcher by trade, became a vegetarian for the same reasons that are cited in this book. This is an honest, straightforward book that should be required reading for school children, most of whom haven't a clue where their food comes from and who say they "love" animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended reading, July 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mad Cowboy: Plain Truth from the Cattle Rancher Who Won't Eat Meat (Paperback)
This book points out the reality of todays modern cattle production. It gives disturbing insights into what our future holds for us, unless we change our ways.
This should be required reading at high school level or above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars some good/ some bad, June 23 2004
By A Customer
Although I found some valuable information in this book, and some information I already knew, his verbage about such things as making animals into cannibals was a little extreme. With the problems with BSE, all blood products and ruminant products have been banned from the feed supply. While I advocate not feeding animal protein to any herbivorous animals, at least they are making headway into changing some things. Things such as jello, makeup, etc. are all animal products, so keep this in mind, also.
I have seen feedlots firsthand, as well as a slaughterhouse from start to finish. It has definitely changed my eating habits, but for America to stop eating meat, ALL of the citizens have to come to a realization as to the origin of their meat. Save for a few organizations who publicize this type of info don't look for widespread veganism to come to fruition anytime soon.
And for the poster about eating animals prepared Kosher, this is even more cruel, as the animals are totally conscious when their throats are cut. At least the current slaughter industry renders them unconscious before killing them.
Kosher is not equal to a higher quality of meat. Temple Grandin has done major work to change slaughter practices, and some of the worst and most cruel slaughterhouses she visited were Kosher ones. Keep this in mind the next time you tout the superiority of Kosher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NO MOME MEAT WITH GRINDED CATS AND DOGS!!, June 11 2004
This review is from: Mad Cowboy: Plain Truth from the Cattle Rancher Who Won't Eat Meat (Paperback)
THIS BOOK ALMOST MADE ME TROW UP WEN I READ THAT DEAD DOGS AND CATS ARE GRINDED AND FEED TO COWS!!!!
I WAS ALREADY CUTING LOSE FROM MEAT BUT AFTER READING THE BOOK I DIDN'T NEED MORE !
MY FRIEND (A HARDCORE MEAT EATER) IS NOT EATING MEAT ANY MORE AFTER READING NOT EVEN HALF OF THAT BOOK! JUST LIKE THAT!
THAT IS HOW NASTY THAT SH....T IS. (THE MEAT).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, Frightening and Incredibly Well-written, May 25 2004
By 
Holland Lorant (Scottsdale, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mad Cowboy: Plain Truth from the Cattle Rancher Who Won't Eat Meat (Paperback)
Although I didn't think this book or its subject matter appealed to me, I acquiesed and took it from my friend upon her insistence. Well, the truth is, I haven't been able to put it down. It's fascinating and horrifying and will change your life forever. It may also inspire you to some type of activism... it certainly has me thinking and asking a lot of questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1123414)

This product

Mad Cowboy: Plain Truth from the Cattle Rancher Who Won't Eat Meat
Mad Cowboy: Plain Truth from the Cattle Rancher Who Won't Eat Meat by Howard F. Lyman (Paperback - Aug. 2 2001)
CDN$ 17.00 CDN$ 12.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews