Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Marketing 101
The mind of Seth Godin unites the core values of life with the intricacies of building relationships in the business world.
Published 2 months ago by Kyleobrien

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OUCH!
I read fifty or more books a year, one-third of them about marketing. That is what I do for a living. This book is, by far, the worst material I've ever slogged through. This book is 200 pages of poorly supported examples, contradictions, hyperbole, and erroneous conclusions. For example: Ivory soap, made with coconut oil, was a smashing success; coconut oil was in...
Published on June 13 2000 by Kerry Randall


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OUCH!, June 13 2000
I read fifty or more books a year, one-third of them about marketing. That is what I do for a living. This book is, by far, the worst material I've ever slogged through. This book is 200 pages of poorly supported examples, contradictions, hyperbole, and erroneous conclusions. For example: Ivory soap, made with coconut oil, was a smashing success; coconut oil was in limited supply so Proctor and Gamble scrambled for four years to create a new product that would use MORE coconut oil as a solution to the limited supply problem! Uh, what did I miss?
The book is rife with such statements as: Cadillac buyers being "a tough to reach audience." Ever consider automobile registration data bases? The names and addresses can be had for pennies each. What's "tough to reach" about pennies?
Seth Godin proposes "interruption" marketing is destined for failure. It probably is. He says it doesn't work anymore and that's why American car-makers can't sell cars. Uh. I thought they were selling a lot of them. He says their interruption advertising doesn't work. Americans buy more American-made cars per capita than any nation buys any car per capita. The audience is hooked on new cars. That's a failure?
I am tempted to go on and on with more than one hundred examples of conclusions that are not supported by the facts. I won't. Just one more.
Seth says Internet banners don't work. Okay, I agree. How did Seth build his company, Yoyodyne?
"1. Attract target customers with banner ads promising a great prize. Interested consumers get more information by clicking on the banner, which takes them to a registration page."
And that paragraph (about interruption advertising) is in the chapter on case studies showing how permission marketing works!
The funny thing is that permission marketing works. It's an old concept, been with us for thousands of years. This book presents nothing new, nothing informative, certainly nothing to take back to the office. There is no meat to this sizzle.
Permission Marketing got my permission through my purchase of the book. Seth Godin then abused me for three hours. It's the last time he'll get my permission.
It should be sufficient to say, if you can read, don't bother to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marketing 101, Feb. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers (Hardcover)
The mind of Seth Godin unites the core values of life with the intricacies of building relationships in the business world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old and still relevant, Nov. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a basic concept that every business owner should know. Seth breaks it down nicely and explains how it applies to almost every industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers (Hardcover)
The book is well written and researched. But not what I expected. I expected something more on the business of internet marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead solid wrong, Oct. 3 2003
By 
Kit Kat (Knee deep in silage, somewhere in Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers (Hardcover)
The suggestion that the old is out and the new, permission marketing, is in has been so thoroughly disproved by actual experience that it's reasonable to ask, just why does anyone believe there is anything behind that screen that a little tiny man pretending to be the Wizard?
A few marketers tried to implement these ideas and found they had offended far more people than traditional advertisers ever had. For that reason, this books ranks with books touting Day Trading as the route to riches. No, never: nonsense.
I couldn't even bear to offer this to a used bookstore. Instead, we used it as kindling for a fire. Expensive, but the result was good, and perhaps better than a PrestoLog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No news, Aug. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers (Hardcover)
While Godin does a good job retelling an old story about properly targeting, utilizing appropriate messaging and benefiting from modern (post-internet) media, it is not new. Some of his retelling is convoluted in endless metaphores. And, as this book was written before 9/11 and the dot-bomb, much of it is out-of-date and of reduced relevance.
There are more helpful and current books out there about internet and other direct-marketing topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting look back... and forward., March 22 2011
By 
Raj Boora (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers (Hardcover)
It is interesting to see what has come true and how so much of what Godin writes about still applies more than a decade after being published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want to learn about true, effective marketing...read this!, Jan. 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers (Hardcover)
Mr.Godin is an excellent teacher of how to market effectively. Before reading this I thought of marketing probably like most do. I thought to be successful in marketing and advertising, that big was the way to go...big magazine ads, t.v. spots, target a large audience and you're sure to get lots of customers, etc. WRONG!
Mr. Godin hits the bull's-eye on the type of marketing that it takes to acquire and keep customers in your business. It is not mass marketing to anyone and everyone that's going to do it. But rather, Mr. Godin shows you how to set up a specific strategy, a clever method in which to acquire the type of customer you want to your particular business. If you own a sports shop, then your ideal customer wouldn't be a chef or a construction worker who just happened to walk into your store...it would be the die-hard, sports enthusiast that you want to attract. Mr. Godin shows you how to attract your "ideal" customer; He teaches you how to get your ideal customer to come to you.
I didn't fully understand all that "Permission Marketing" was really about until Mr. Godin broke it down and explained it to a tee. If you can get a potential customer to say "yes" to you prior to the sale, your chances of acquiring them as an actual customer dramatically increases. This is what Mr. Godin shows you how to do. He is a wise marketer and you can be too! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Interruptive Marketing Lives!, June 6 2003
By 
David Camp (Spokane, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers (Hardcover)
While Godin astutely details the need to build relationships with customers, that's been amply covered by other authors. My main beefs with this book are its dismissal of all forms of "traditional advertising" and its specious claim that offering prospects incentives is revolutionary. Wasn't John Caples offering how-to booklets to ad respondents sixty years ago?
However, Godin frames these tried-and-true techniques within the context of the Information Age, offering helpful examples of relationship marketing using e-mail, the Net, databases and the like. That may be particularly useful to business-to-business marketers. But anyone marketing to consumers should beware...brand story, great copywriting and broad visibility do matter still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars poorly written drivel, June 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers (Hardcover)
This is a poorly written book with an interesting concept but it contains minimal content and is full of repetition. I was very disappointed by this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfab3144)

This product

Permission Marketing: Turning Strangers Into Friends And Friends Into Customers
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews