Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sixtyish and Sassy!
Ms. Viorst has become more outspoken in these poems than in her earlier "decade" works. I think you'll like the change. "It still will be impossible to persuade my husband when lost to stop the goddamn car, and ask for directions." Concerning her husband's retirement, "And guess who's the hobby he chose?" In talking about her children and...
Published on Oct. 1 2000 by Donald Mitchell

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Not Her Best Work.
The wit and originality that can be found in some of Ms. Viorst's work won't be found here. Very few original observations and a lack of cleverness lead me to suggest that you save your money on this one.
Published on Sept. 29 2000 by Old School but Kicking


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sixtyish and Sassy!, Oct. 1 2000
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Suddenly Sixty And Other Shocks Of Later Life (Hardcover)
Ms. Viorst has become more outspoken in these poems than in her earlier "decade" works. I think you'll like the change. "It still will be impossible to persuade my husband when lost to stop the goddamn car, and ask for directions." Concerning her husband's retirement, "And guess who's the hobby he chose?" In talking about her children and grandchildren, she exults that her grandchild prefers her for cuddling to her son. You'll never quite think about life the same way after you read "1963 -- Niagara, 1999 -- Viagra."
On the other hand, she's hanging in there as a woman. "I've painted blue nail polish on my toes . . . ." "I will still buy bikini underwear." "I don't intend to stop showing a little cleavage." Yet, ". . . it's hard to be frisky over sixty." "L's for libido -- what's happened to sex?"
There are also the inevitable losses. "How am I going to walk in this world without talking to my friend about eyeliner and the meaning of the universe?" She has some very strong feelings about the bad things that should happen to the man who leaves his wife of 42 years for a younger woman.
One of the best sequences comes in a series of poems on the subject of "A Brief History of Marriage" that begins with "a life lived -- at least for a while -- in paradise." In "To Be Continued" we learn that ". . . sometimes we still get a glimpse of paradise."
My favorite poem on aging was "Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep." The poem is a long list of all the things that can and usually do disturb slumber. If none of these occur, she says, "I might -- I just actually might -- do a little sleeping."
There's still a wonderful optimism about how good things could be. In "If Only," she contemplates reconstructing the world. "If only shopping at Saks counted as exercise."
The poems are grouped in five sections: Suddenly Sixty, A Brief History of Marriage, More on Marriage, The Children and Grandchildren, and Other Shocks.
The witty poems are wonderfully illustrated with red and black drawings by Laurie Rosenwell.
Whatever your age, ask yourself which attributes of youth you would like to retain and which qualities of greater age you would like to add. In this way, you can create a wonderful combination that will serve you better than simply fulfilling the expectations of society about "acting your age." Enjoy your age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scintillating Sixties, July 18 2004
This review is from: Suddenly Sixty And Other Shocks Of Later Life (Hardcover)
Judith Viorst deals with aging gracefully in her truth-giving poems about Suddenly Sixty and Other Shocks of Later Life. Being of a certain age in American society brings a certain angst tempered by the wisdom of experience-if we are lucky and thoughtful. Almost every poem elicits laughter as she ruminates on a variety of topics, including men's inability to ask for directions, the difficulty in apologizing, the family vacation, retirement, or the revenge for the woman dumped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judith Viorst has another winner!, Aug. 25 2003
By 
J. Carroll (Toledo, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suddenly Sixty And Other Shocks Of Later Life (Hardcover)
She's done it again! Anyone 60+ will recognize herself in Judith's spectacular verses. To get the full flavor of these poems, you have to read them out loud with all the proper inflections. I never laughed so hard or cried so much over a book as I did with this one. She hits the nail on the head when she describes life after 60!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just Not Her Best Work., Sept. 29 2000
By 
This review is from: Suddenly Sixty And Other Shocks Of Later Life (Hardcover)
The wit and originality that can be found in some of Ms. Viorst's work won't be found here. Very few original observations and a lack of cleverness lead me to suggest that you save your money on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Have loved her writing since her Redbook days., Jan. 7 2013
By 
Smpope (Paradise,NL CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Suddenly Sixty And Other Shocks Of Later Life (Hardcover)
She makes me laugh and it feels like she lives in my house and knows what goes on! She even makes the aggravating events funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're 60+ ..you love this book., Sept. 25 2002
By 
This review is from: Suddenly Sixty And Other Shocks Of Later Life (Hardcover)
If you're 60 or over.....you'll be able to relate to practically every poem in this book. A great birthday present for your friends celebrating any of the "60" birthdays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suddenly Sixty And Other Shocks Of Later Life
Suddenly Sixty And Other Shocks Of Later Life by Judith Viorst (Hardcover - Oct. 4 2000)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews