Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent general knot book for climbing, hiking, & sailing
Like many people, I just want to learn to tie a dozen or so knots that will be useful to know in particular situations. I do a lot of hiking and I own horses, so getting to know some good knots beside the "double granny" would be a useful thing. I first checked my university library and checked out several books including Ashley and Eric Fry among others. Ashley...
Published on March 21 2002 by Mike

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very reptitive
I found allot of these knots repetitive and the diagrams not as easy to undertand as the others thought. I did like using the colours of the Italian flag (green, white & red) cute for the lines but there were some knots I never could figure out & I would have like a little more description of why you choose one knot over the other. The intro though is cool and...
Published on May 7 2003 by Georgina


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent general knot book for climbing, hiking, & sailing, March 21 2002
By 
Mike (Lansing, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
Like many people, I just want to learn to tie a dozen or so knots that will be useful to know in particular situations. I do a lot of hiking and I own horses, so getting to know some good knots beside the "double granny" would be a useful thing. I first checked my university library and checked out several books including Ashley and Eric Fry among others. Ashley is a great book but a bit too much information and not the book for learning HOW to tie knots. Fry's book is similar to the format of this book, but a good majority of the "knots" are actually splices and eyes (unwinding fiber rope to form an eye onto itself or splicing 2 lines together) and decorative-type knots for macrame - neither thing I need to know right now.
The Morrow book is a good, general knot book for climbing, camping and sailing. Often there are several different ways shown to tie the same knot depending on the situation (line under strain, two handed, one handed, around a post, dropped on a post) or differently by another method. Illustrations are step-by-step and easy to follow with color coded rope. Inexplicably, some knots are shown tied with green and red rope, so color-blind people beware. Also, upon preliminary examination I noted that the tautline hitch (invaluable to keep a tent guyline taut) is missing. But between this book and some web resources, you will be all set. So, grab about 10 ft of a couple different diameter 6mm or smaller scraps (if no scraps, they are about a buck each) from your local outdoor store, keep them handy, and practice, practice, practice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent presentation of very useful knots, June 6 2001
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
This is very instructive book that shows with clear photographs and concise but clear explanations how to tie mostly basic but useful knots. The sections are divided in utility knots, knots for the fisherman and decorative and applied knots. Particularly practical is the section of knots for the fisherman, with knots that will solve any fisherman emergency from knots for eye hooks to knots used to join two pieces of line.
Beginning with an explanation of how to take care of the ropes and some interesting behavioral facts about knots like: that a knot uniting two ropes reduces the strength of the unit to about half that of the weaker rope. The authors present each knot with a short description and practical recommendations for their use.
The instructive value of this book is shown in the simple fact that when for tying a knot there is more than one rope involved each rope has a different color avoiding in this way any possible confusion.
I really enjoyed the book, without any doubt this book would be of invaluable help and necessary reference for any camper, fisherman or sailing enthusiast. So just practice, and become an expert in those four or five knots that will let you overcome any emergency, remembering that a knot must be an element of safety rather than a dangerous complication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Sailing Instructor's Choice of a Knot Book, July 26 2000
By 
Conrad B. Senior (Easton, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
The fastest way for a crewman on a sailboat to demonstrate his or her skills to a new skipper, or to fellow crew members onboard a yacht is to teach them the correct way to tie a knot or to teach them a useful new knot. Nothing builds credibility faster onboard a boat. Long ago I decided to be better at knots than anyone else I knew. It paid big dividends. This was my first choice for a knot book. It is the book I recommend to every one of my sailing students. You will need two 6' pieces of rope, of different thicknesses, a 20' or longer section for practice coiling line. Practice knots in front of your TV set during commercials. It won't take any time out of your life and you will improve. I still carry my original practice line--a 35' piece of 6 mm line, in my life jacket, which is always useful onboard. So, learn how to tie these knots consistently, and quickly--even with your eyes closed. While you do it keep in mind anything you tie should be easy to untie. The only thing I did not like was author's method for coiling and crowning line. It is pretty, but too cumbersome to untie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and practical basic knot book, Nov. 10 2000
By 
William J Roberts (Gainesville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
This book makes an excellent selection of knots. Four stopper knots, including ways of making them in series; eight hitches, including very thorough coverage of various ways to tie the clove hitch including under tension; eight loops; four running knots; eight bends; seven knots for eye hooks; five knots for flatted hooks; two bends and a stopper knot for fishing line; two fishing line loops; two swivel hitches, and quite a few decorative knots.
So this is not 70 knots for the sailor, since quite a few are for fishing, but it's a really solid core of knots for sailing. I'm not well able to judge its broadness for the fisherman but it certainly seems to cover the bases.
The pictures are good, the instructions are good... you really couldn't want anything more except for the book to stay open more easily. But, there's no way they could have accomplished that while giving you so many pages (254) in a compact book you can easily take with you. This book is an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, knot kidding., Oct. 29 2002
By 
Travis Newman "-Producer, CPP" (Brick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
I have seen many different knot books over the years and I have not seen a book that covers so many different kinds of knots with such complete descriptions of how to tie the knots. The pictures are very clear, the step by step instructions are helpful and easy to follow and there is an interesting description of the use of and history behind each knot. Most other books lack one or more of these aspects and takes away a great deal from what the book is trying to help you accomplish.
I recommend this book for anyone that is interested or involved in sailing, fishing, camping, climbing or scouting. I have found The Morrow Guide to Knots to be the helpful, comprehensive and interesting. Whether you are looking for a book to help guide you through knots you need to know, or you just want to learn how to tie new knots, this book will be with you every step of the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Morrow Guide to Knots, June 17 2000
By 
J. Edmund de Castro, Past Commodore, Buffalo ... (Buffalo, New York; Chippewa Bay (St. Lawrence River) New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
This is the best book on knots I have seen. Convenient in size, 4in. x 6in., it is easily stowed on board. There are several pictures of each knot as you are guided through the intricacies of tying it. Outstanding color photographs, with two colors utilized when the book illustrates the uniting of two different lines. Wonderful for teaching youngsters, and an excellent reference work for the experienced sailor. Makes a special trophy award for the boat race winner. I own a lot of books on knots, but this is absolutely the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very reptitive, May 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
I found allot of these knots repetitive and the diagrams not as easy to undertand as the others thought. I did like using the colours of the Italian flag (green, white & red) cute for the lines but there were some knots I never could figure out & I would have like a little more description of why you choose one knot over the other. The intro though is cool and gives some good insight on rope buying, it's okay, just knot a stunner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful and easy to understand, Feb. 9 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
Well worth buying this book. A practical guide with lots of colour pictures of detail steps and completed kots. The guide is comprehensive and have 70 different knots, from utility knots, fisherman knots and beautiful decorative knots. I would recommend this to anyone, from a knot hobbiest to a serious outdoor adventurer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most comprehensive books on Knots anywhere!, Aug. 23 1998
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
Mario Bigon and Guido Regazzoni have put together one of the finest collections of knots in print. The many color photos, and use of different colored ropes illustrating the methods used to tie the knots are impressive. Overall, I would classify this book as one of the most comprehensive books on Knots anywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The only problem I have with this book is that ..., July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Morrow Guide To Knot (Paperback)
The only problem I have with this book is that it wont stay open on its own, you need a third hand to hold the book AND tie the knots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morrow Guide To Knot
Morrow Guide To Knot by Mario Bigon (Paperback - June 20 1985)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews