Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This book tells a story
This is an easy read with a big message, take what is there and build it into your life. Be Gung Ho!
Published 5 months ago by Darryl Campbell

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gung Hokey!
Very sappy, manipulative management book that starts out with a death scene to soften you up, then takes you on a short trip from a plant facing closure to winning a national award in about 150 5"x8" pages about 1/2 full of 24 point type. Very lightweight. Your suspension of disbelief will last about 5 pages, unless you have been put under its corny spell like many...
Published on Feb. 7 2003 by Paul Bruneau


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This book tells a story, Feb. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
This is an easy read with a big message, take what is there and build it into your life. Be Gung Ho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
Amazing read. Great tips for management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gung Hokey!, Feb. 7 2003
By 
Paul Bruneau "Ethical Paul" (Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
Very sappy, manipulative management book that starts out with a death scene to soften you up, then takes you on a short trip from a plant facing closure to winning a national award in about 150 5"x8" pages about 1/2 full of 24 point type. Very lightweight. Your suspension of disbelief will last about 5 pages, unless you have been put under its corny spell like many reviewers seem to have been. If there is an "Andy" or "Peggy" I'll eat my hat. Here's a sample: "I love you, Andy" I choked out. "I know," he said. Then added, "I love you too. Always have."
Here's some more: "Oh, no, Andy. No," I protested. "It is you who have blessed me and everyone in the company."
Here's one more: "Peggy, I'm your father!" "Oh, Andy! I knew it! I loooove you!"
Oh wait, they didn't go quite that far. But damn close.
Save yourself from two hours of this soap opera and read "The Goal" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You may be able to take something from it, May 3 2004
By 
Amy Davis (Waterloo, Iowa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
Managers may not be able to enact all of the principles of Gung Ho, but they will be able to walk away with some valuable insight in the world of motivation and performance. If your not sure if you really want this book or not I would recommend that you go for it. There is truly nothing to lose and the reading is entertaining and informative. Every person will be able able to take something from this book and be able to apply it to their work environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars economics class, March 29 2004
By 
cynthia (Santa Monica, California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
The book gung Ho by Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles is a great book for managment. It is excellent in the way it simply defines a way to significantly improve your management skills by focusing in the 3 principles. the principles could be used in personal life as well as your profesional life. It is so great that it helps create organization and to use practice using techniques on a daily basis. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in improving their work style. This book is also easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple But Useful, March 8 2004
By 
Winnie, Lau Suk Fan (Marketing Department from City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
Gung Ho! is a book related to management. Although the concepts in the book are simple, it is important to everyone, especially those are in the management field. The three underlying principles are The Spirit of the Squirrel, The Way of the Beaver and The Gift of the Goose. They are parables of the importance of making employees understand their roles, the conflict between directing the tasks to employees and empowerment by management, and the importance of appreciation to employees respectively.
In my view of point, I think Gung Ho! is a revolutionary technique to boost enthusiasm and performance and usher in astonishing results for any organization. The principles are the tips to increase productivity by fostering excellent morale in the workplace. For example, employees will be loyal to the company if they gain job satisfaction from their worthwhile work. Positive reinforcements such as appreciation (i.e. say ¡§well done¡ when those have good performance) and empowerment can motivate employees to improve and have a better performance.
To conclude, Gung Ho! is easy to read but useful for everyone. The writers convey the important management strategies to the readers by using simple story and parables. I think it is a good time for the company, the management team and the employees to refresh and understand their roles so that they can have a good relationship which can benefit as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, March 4 2004
By 
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
Gung Ho! is another typical Ken Blanchard book. It is a quick read and contains some very useful information, but falls short in giving managers the full picture. Some readers will find the format cheesy, but I didn't take it that way.
The book is broken down into three areas:
1. The Spirit of the Squirrel (which discusses the importance of making employees feel that their work is important)
2. The Way of the Beaver (which talks about how managers should tell employees what they want and define the boundaries, but within those boundaries allow employees to figure out solutions in their own way)
3. The Gift of the Goose (which goes over the importance of using positive reinforcement when employees do a good job)
These are three very powerful ideas that every manager should embrace. However, there are numerous issues that the book doesn't cover. To give just one example, what should a manager do is one of her employees comes to work every day late and is totally unproductive while he is there? Obviously, The Gift of the Goose (i.e. praising employees) isn't the answer since that will just reinforce the negative behavior.
Despite the book's shortcomings, I think it's worth reading if you like management books since it does contain some useful information. But if you want one book that going to cover the subject more dynamically from many more angles, then you should probably look elsewhere.
Greg Blencoe
Author, The Ten Commandments for Managers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gung ho, a lesson in life, Jan. 28 2004
By 
james heck (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
First of all I feel sorry for the people who did not get anything out of this book. The things taught are pretty much the way I try to run my organization and hopefully my life. The book was one of many I have read in my thirty five years of managerial experience but absolutely the easiest to read because it was put into a novel form. I have ordered copies for all of my supervisors and also for my daughter who is in a managerial position. For Peggy I have only one thing to say...Gung Ho, and I would like to meet you someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars worth reading, Jan. 18 2004
By 
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
the last 2 pages - because everything in the book can be summarized in 2 pages. Actually one page. In fact, I can tell you right now: people like to work for a worthwhile cause, not just for money, and they like to know what's expected of them, and they like to have the tools to achieve those goals. Oh, and they like to be acknowledged for their work.
OK, you've just read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - buy it now, Nov. 5 2003
By 
David Russell (Novato, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gung Ho (Hardcover)
I love business books on management and leadership. This book is excellent in the way it simply defines a way to significantly improve your management skills by focusing in 3 areas. I recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gung Ho
Gung Ho by Ken Blanchard (Hardcover - Oct. 8 1997)
CDN$ 28.50 CDN$ 17.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews