Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great
this book is a great book for anyone interested in ancient egypt. the book is about the discovery of tomb kv 5. this is a tomb that was built by ramesses the great for his sons. they only have evidence that a few sons were burried there, but there were many sons of ramesses, at leased 30 born of high ranking wives and they only know of 2 of his sons being buried somewhere...
Published on June 13 2001 by Heather Staats

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little muddled and superficial
Kent Weeks and his wife come across as enthusiastic, dedicated and eager to introduce the general public to the pleasures of Egyptology in this account of the first few years of his investigations at KV5. As can be seen from the biographical information he provides in this work he has devoted most of his life to investigating the Valley of the Kings. That is why it is a...
Published on May 1 2002 by larry_darrell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Weeks' excavation did more damage than good, April 7 2003
This review is from: The Lost Tomb (Paperback)
It is amazing reading these reviews and realizing that people actually enjoyed this man's book. This was a botched excavation from the start. There was no real great discoveries in KV5, just more of the same stuff that we find in the Valley of the Kings (KV5 was discovered long before in the 18th century to boot). It is wise to remember this when Weeks' excavation damaged the tomb itself. He had his work-crews removed wet flood debris (dirt) from the tomb and then only put rocks at the doorway to allow "air to dry up the inside" for an entire season!
However, if you are familiar with John Romer's studies on the Valley of the Kings' geology, you would know that the limestone walls would have expanded with moisture and contracted when dried. Weeks' ignorance of this simple fact (he did know of Romer's report but called his study 'unmodern') allowed the tomb roof and walls to contract at an uncontrolled speed. The result was the walls cracked, lost paint and ultiamately the roof fell in an area.
The damage Weeks' excavation did was totally atrocious and it even continues to this day. Support conservation in the Valley of the Kings instead of destructive excavation and ecourage excavations in the Delta (where Egyptologies knowledge is lacking). In conclusion, don't buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little muddled and superficial, May 1 2002
By 
larry_darrell "larry_darrell" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Tomb (Paperback)
Kent Weeks and his wife come across as enthusiastic, dedicated and eager to introduce the general public to the pleasures of Egyptology in this account of the first few years of his investigations at KV5. As can be seen from the biographical information he provides in this work he has devoted most of his life to investigating the Valley of the Kings. That is why it is a pity that this work comes across as jumbled and a little superficial. Accounts of the dig are interspersed so frequently with accounts of the lives of various pharaohs, of the problems the Weeks face from lackadaisical Egyptian officials, the eccentricity of the local laborers, and so on, that it is very difficult to keep track of what the team is finding in KV5 and its historical significance. (I would guess that this format was forced on Professor Weeks by a commercially minded publisher, presumably in the belief that the average layman reader is not willing to plod through several hundred pages of architectural accounts.)
Another problem with this work: although the discovery of KV5 is the most important discovery in the Valley of the Kings since the discovery of King Tut's tomb, the actual material found in the tomb is probably not particularly exciting for readers who are not dedicated Egyptologists. Most of the discoveries consist of minute brick and porcelain fragments which poor Mrs. Weeks is charged with cataloguing. For the layman Egyptologist I would recommend instead the classic by Howard Carter, The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen, also available from Amazon.com This is a truly exciting account of the discovery of Tut's tomb which was packed with fantastic treasures.<BR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst popular-science books I've ever read, July 5 2001
By 
Joerg Colberg (Northampton, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Tomb (Paperback)
This book easily qualifies as one of the worst popular-science books I've ever read. It is like "Indiana Jones" minus the Nazis and all the other fun stuff. The thing is that of course I didn't expect to get an action-packed book about mummies and hidden treasures. What I expected to get was a nice description of that "lost" tomb they found plus background information. And the book simply doesn't give enough of that. The "lost" tomb which supposedly was discovered by Mr Weeks had actually been discovered before already. So the book starts with some wrong information on the cover. And it doesn't really get any better than that. There are pages and pages of completely useless information but no explanation of the background. In particular, if you want to learn about Egypt's past you're more than well-advised to look elsewhere. Instead, here you'll find a dozen pages about how Mr Weeks had to deal with the press and similar stuff which is just not interesting at all. The few pages about Egypt's past are filled with narration-like stuff. I know it might be difficult to say a lot about ancient Egypt but if the level of a popular-science book is about that of a mediocre Hollywood movie something is wrong. I know reviews which don't give books four or five stars are pretty unpopular on Amazon but I give this book one star anyway. I'd give it zero if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, June 13 2001
By 
Heather Staats (Taylor, Mi United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Tomb (Paperback)
this book is a great book for anyone interested in ancient egypt. the book is about the discovery of tomb kv 5. this is a tomb that was built by ramesses the great for his sons. they only have evidence that a few sons were burried there, but there were many sons of ramesses, at leased 30 born of high ranking wives and they only know of 2 of his sons being buried somewhere eles, so all his other sons may be buried there as well. this tomb was found along time ago but was said to be that of an unimportant tomb. in fact carter covered the tomb with dirt from his excavation of tutankhamun's tomb. there are many rooms in the tomb (150 rooms). there is also lots of info on things around the time of ramesses. this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Tomb, Jan. 18 2001
This review is from: The Lost Tomb (Paperback)
I have been interested in Egyptology for quite a while and like most people have dreamed of going on a dig to discover a lost tomb. For me this has come true with Kent Weeks graphic representation of what he finds while unearthing the Sons of Ramesis tomb. The way he has written this book makes me feel like I am with him in the tomb. Every discovery he makes I can feel his excitement. In part this book is about the Theban Mapping Project and the problems he faces with the government and also about the lives of the workers who help him unearth this tomb. I have been to Egypt and have seen the Valley of the Kings. To me this book has brought back great memories of my trip there. THIS IS A VERY ENJOYABLE READ FOR ANYONE INTERESTED IN EGYPTOLOGY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dig Here, Dec 18 2000
By 
Holy Olio "holy_olio" (Grand Rapids, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Tomb (Paperback)
Weeks details not only his personal history with Egypt, but gives a pretty good overview of the current consensus about the New Kingdom. I found the description of KV5 and the various drawings of the Valley tombs to be the best part of the book.
This is part adventure story, with the understanding that the adventures are true. The book is worth reading for the amusing tale of the way in which the first comprehensive map of the Valley was begun using aerial photography.
Buy it, read it, enjoy it.
See also "The Murder of Tutankhamen" by Bob Brier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story on a historic discovery, Aug. 17 2000
This review is from: The Lost Tomb (Paperback)
I became interested in this book after reading a favorable review in the NY Times book review, and being new to Egyptology, I was pleased to find that Weeks did a remarkable job of providing plenty of background information on the Valley of the Kings, history of some of the Pharoes of Egypt, various explorers who have visited the area (and KV5) in the past, the people who have joined his crew on the exploration of KV5 and the effects of modern life on the condition of the tombs.
He does an excellent job of holding the narrative together, and I eagerly awaited each new page to see what (if anything), Weeks and his team would discover next. He made no attempt to hide his excitement with each new discovery (and disappointment into running into dead ends and other obstacles), and does a competent job in placing the reader alongside him in the tomb.
This is my first book on Egyptology, and both the seasoned Egyptologist and general reader will find this to be a fascinating tale of archaeology in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa8ac8c4)

This product

The Lost Tomb
The Lost Tomb by Kent R Weeks (Paperback - Oct. 28 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews