Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgeously Detailed Work
Children and adults alike will marvel at this beautifullly detailed book of Alice in Wonderland. I hope the publishers come out with a BILINGUAL version: Alicia en el Pais de las Maravillas so the growing population of Latino children in the US can read it in Spanish and so American children can learn a new language while viewing the pop-ups! Another fabulous book for...
Published on Dec 7 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Book but Beware
It deserves 5 stars, no doubt.. but I wanted to make the point that the mad hatter tea party page was ripped and torn in 3/5 books that I purchased online. I believe that this is a page that is flawed inherently, in that even in the two other books, the table unfolded incorrectly in 5/6 tries. A good reason to purchase this book in the store to be certain you have a...
Published on Nov. 18 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgeously Detailed Work, Dec 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
Children and adults alike will marvel at this beautifullly detailed book of Alice in Wonderland. I hope the publishers come out with a BILINGUAL version: Alicia en el Pais de las Maravillas so the growing population of Latino children in the US can read it in Spanish and so American children can learn a new language while viewing the pop-ups! Another fabulous book for those seeking adventure and beauty is Drum, Chavi, Drum!/Toca, Chavi, Toca! (Set in the colorful Calle Ocho, Little Havana festival where a little Cuban girl makes her dreams come true). Alice and Chavi will bring joy into children's hearts and so these are the two books I recommend as Christmas gifts this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Sabuda masterpiece., Sept. 29 2003
By 
Benjamin (ATLANTA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
As a huge fan of Sabuda's WIZARD OF OZ, I grabbed ALICE'S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND as soon as I saw it in the store, and it didn't disappoint at all.
The book is similar in design to WIZARD OF OZ, has several eye-popping pages that literally jump out at you and contains a faithful abridgement of Lewis Carroll's classic text.
The first page, featuring the forest where Alice first encounters the White Rabbit, is glorious, and Sabuda has imagined a remarkable way to give readers a look "down the rabbit hole."
This one's as good as THE WIZARD OF OZ, and it's going to be a great gift for all my cousins this holiday season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the MOTHER of all pop-up books EVER!, April 12 2004
By 
gayle714 (Oceanside, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
I've never written a review of any book before, but am compelled to do so now. (I'm not a very good writer!)
I've been collecting pop-ups for a long time, and this is the Pop-Up to End All Pop-Ups!

This book exceeds all my expectations of any Pop-Up. Innovative, top quality, surprise after surprise, includes full story, just superb!
I cannot give this book enough stars. If 5 is the highest, I give this book a 15! You will not be dissappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More perfect eye-popping pop-ups from Robert Sabuda., Dec 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz was a tough act to follow yet Robert Sabuda has succeeded beautifully with Alice in Wonderland. The pop-ups are even more spectacular and, as though this weren't enough, Sabuda introduces a gorgeous range of textures, from the iridescent sheen of glass and metalware in the Duchess's kitchen, to the velvety soft touch of the March Hare, White Rabbit, Cheshire Cat, and other furry animals that inhabit the story. A must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous addition to your Sabuda collection, Feb. 8 2004
By 
kn_s (Saratoga, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
Once you have one of his pop-up books, you will be drawn willy-nilly to buy all of the rest. This is not his most sublime effort on two fronts. The art work is in the exact style of the original, so while it is stunning and beautiful, I think it is not as lovely as his absolutely original imaginings. A few of the pop-up effects such as the little baby changing to a pig face(found in one of the mini books within a book) don't work very well, since only the pig is visible unless you go thro contortions to peek inside before ever opening that page. The same with the scene of painting the roses red.
While a great deal of the original text has been abridged, only a couple of the nonsense rhymes that made the original unabridged alice one of my childhoods read aloud favorites has been included.
Overall, the pop up engineering is still stunning, to see Alice's face inside the White Rabbits home with her arms sticking out windows, and her feet out the chimney and front door, the mad hatters tea party, and of course, the very first telescopic view of her fall down the rabbit hole are not to be missed! My 3 1/2 year old sits thro 90% of the story just as long as he can enjoy the pop-ups again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisitely Designed, Beautiful Display of Literary Classic, Dec 30 2003
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
What a surprise! I hardly would think I would be impressed by a pop-up book. The "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Pop-up Adaptation" is not the usual variety, and the original Lewis Carroll tale is not the ordinary book. It is superb in every way.
It pops up like any pop-up book, but this is where the similarity ends. The pop-ups have their own pop-ups or other devices. They up into minibooks, things swing and sway. There are textures and styles not found in regular children's books. The art is sophisticated and classic, reminiscent of the version you read as a child.
It is a grade school rendition of the famous story, but don't be fooled. Adults will love this book too.
As far as the text is concerned, the story has been abridged to meet the needs of the format, but enough is there to please anyone new to the plot. This is where the grade school rating is justified, since younger readers may be fascinated by the images and general storyline, but still may not be old enough to read the multiweave fantasy by Carroll.
It is unfortunate that a book with a physical espect to it will wear out, unlike the average book. The very things which stand out as strengths will diminish over time, and the children who love this book might not be as delicate with it as you would like. To that end, I say buy it anyway. It is a beautiful display of a literary classic from which many dreams will be born.
I fully recommend Robert Sabuda's take on "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Pop-up Adaptation," and hope you take a few minutes to buy the complete, unabridged "Alice."
Anthony Trendl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece lovingly and painstakingly hand-crafted, Nov. 14 2003
By 
Ron Green (North Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
This book is a masterpiece and a work of art, as far as I'm concerned. It is also the kind of book I always dreamed of having as a child. Every page has been lovingly and painstakingly hand-crafted to bring all your favorite scenes to life. You'll feel like you're right there in Wonderland! My favorite page is the Rabbit's house with an overgrown Alice bursting out. The house is four dimensional, and you can even look in the windows and see carrot-patterened wallpaper! That's how much attention to detail there is! At the Mad Hatter's tea party, you'll find saucers made with foil, and the rabbit and some other animal characters have a furry texture. There is also a piece that opens up like a telescope, and allows you to peep down the rabbit hole. Every page has so much going on, and since your eyes can only absorb so much, you'll most likely discover something new on your second viewing. For example, the first time I read this book, I didn't notice that one of the white roses turns red, when you open a page. This book has six full page pop ups, and some smaller pop ups in the pages within the page. The price is right, too! I mean, you couldn't find six pop-up greeting cards for the same price. I also like how the illustrations are faithful to the orignal book. The house of cards attacking Alice is amazing. I even have this book spread open on my coffee table so I can display a different page each day, and just marvel at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sabuda's Superb Illustrations Bring Alice & Friends To Life!, Oct. 28 2003
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
Alice, The Mad Hatter, the Ugly Duchess, the Mock Turtle, the Queen of Hearts, the Cheshire Cat - all come gloriously to life under the pen of Robert Sabuda. The wonderful madness that is the story of "Alice in Wonderland" is here in abridged form, faithful to Lewis Carroll's original text. Mr. Sabuda has enhanced Carroll's fantastical world with extraordinary pop-ups, illustrated in the classic style of John Tenniel. However Sabuda marks the illustrations as his own with his use of vibrant colors, thick black outlines, and the clever use of textures. The pop-up illustrations, large ones and smaller drawings, portray events like Alice falling down the rabbit hole to Wonderland, (and a device which allows the reader to peek down the hole after her), the Mad Hatter's tea party with silver-foil dishes and tea set, Alice and the hookah-smoking caterpillar, and Alice amongst a flurrying pack of 52 cards. The initial spread is fabulous. It explodes into a large and tall green forest, topped by leafy shapes that resemble Lewis Carrol's characters. What a wonder!!
I bought this book for a four year-old, and almost a year after receiving it she is still entranced, as are her parents and older brother. "Alice In Wonderland" is a classic for children of all ages, and this edition is one of the most special I have seen. Makes a very classy gift that will long be appreciated!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!, March 31 2004
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
There is a REASON that reviewers of Robert Sabuda's "Alice in Wonderland" are AMAZED. This is NOT just another "pop-up book." THIS is a WORK OF ART!!
Robert Sabuda's work is MAGICAL as you literally peer down the rabbit hole. Another page shows Alice in the house; Alice at the tea party; the Cheshire Cat; the deck of cards....
This book can be great to show young babies as it will spark their curiosity, but you have to just have them look at it and keep it out of reach as young toddlers would probably rip the art work. If you know a young boy or girl (ages 4 and up) or a young teenager or anyone who appreciates illustrative art - this is the book to buy.
My mother bought this book for me plus one for her good friend and we both loved it!
Robert Sabuda's "Wizard of OZ" was great....this might be even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing is believing, Dec 15 2003
By 
Cheryl v. "cheryl1959" (PORT HURON, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Hardcover)
My sister bought Christmas Alphabet by Robert Sabuda last year and we thought it was wonderful, so when I saw this book while shopping on-line I knew I had to buy it for my daughter for Christmas. Wow! My sister promptly ordered one for her daughter after seeing it. Then I took the book into work-Robert Sabuda owes me a commission. By the end of the day - I kid you not - orders had been placed for 10 Alice in Wonderland, 7 Wizard of Oz, 2 Kwanzaa Celebration and 2 Night Before Christmas. I just received Wizard of Oz, 12 Days of Christmas and Night Before Christmas today and am thrilled once again. Enough reviewers have described the book, so I won't. It suffices just to say that Robert Sabuda's books are truly "works of art."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (Hardcover - Oct. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 44.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews