Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 18 month's favorite book, Aug. 6 2006
By 
This book has several pages of adventure (going through mud, snow, etc.) and into a bear's den. Then they find the bear and panic. They run home compressing all what they been through while being chased by the bear. The story ends with the adventurers in bed under the covers and the bear walking home. With decent narration, this makes an exciting story. My little boy continues to love this story since he was 6 months old, and keeps returning to it as he slowly understands more and more of it. He would push aside his other favorite books (Goodnight Gorilla, Tumble Bumble, Very Hungry Caterpillar and similar) to find this book and bring it to me. Nothing quiets him down for readings as fast as this book.
Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful fun, March 10 2002
By A Customer
This is one of my three-year-old daughter's favourite books. The repetitive, sing-song chorus ("We're going on a bear hunt, we're going to catch a big one...") and the sound effects, as the family passes through tall grass, mud, a river, a forest and a snowstorm before reaching the bear's cave, will delight any pre-schooler. (For even more fun, use your child's teddy bear as a prop when the bear in the story finally makes his appearance.)
This book is great fun for both parent and child. It's one you won't soon tire of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're going on a bear hunt again and again!, March 23 2001
By 
mrsflowers (Bristow,VA USA) - See all my reviews
We enjoy going along the adventure with the family in the book and shouting phrases like, " We can't go over it. We can't go under it. Oh,no! We've got to go through it!" There are fantastic sounds along the journey like "Hoo Woo" in the snowstorm. The ending is best read really fast, which is at times challenging for the parent and fun for all. We love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My kids they all loved it..., Feb. 22 2001
When reading this book to my kids they all loved it. (Ages 3-7) Just reading the title to them and showing them the front cover were enough to raise their curiosity of what the story would contain when it was being read. They asked questions like: "Why are they hunting for a bear? Do you think they will be ok?" We're Going on a Bear Hunt does a great job of making reading out loud to your kids a thing to look forward to. Your kids will enjoy this little story as it takes you onward towards the bear.
When reading this picture book you will see that the Illustrations are colorful, lively and accurate in their support of the text at all times. The clearly defined illustrations also complement the mood and setting of the adventuring family along the changing terrain. You will notice the contrast between lighter and darker scenes as the storyline changes emotions and how they help develop the plot throughout.
Just like the illustrations, the text of the story is lively and fun to read. The themes are repetitive and easy for young ones to anticipate. (Another good thing for beginning readers) The page has text that imitates the sounds that the family makes while on the bear hunt. You will also notice that the text and Illustrations are not mixed up with the layout on the pages, thus avoiding the confusion that some books do have. The text is large enough to easily read and good for beginning readers. My oldest enjoyed reading it to his younger siblings.
Overall, I would say that We're Going on a Bear Hunt is a great way to teach your kids, in a fun way, a little about what not to do when you go on an adventure in the wild;-) It will provide plenty of good reading, laughter and silliness. I am sure you will have your little ones asking you to repeatedly read this charming, fun and well-done book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU'VE GOT TO GO THROUGH IT !, Nov. 29 2000
.
This story has to be one of the more exciting and fun stories for young children. The tempo and rhythm can't fail to grab a child's attention.
It's got the perfect mix of pace, suspense and humour.
A really neat touch from the illustrator (Helen Oxenbury) is the alternation between color and black and white pages. The monochrome pages coincide with the recognition of the various obstacles along the way.
Another attractive effect is the way the early pages are bright and colorful and as the family gets closer to the bear, the scenes become darker and gloomier.
A key scene is where the children's dog comes face to face with the bear. The expressions on the animal's faces are superb.
The link between the story and the illustrations is at its best when the family has to quickly retrace their steps with the bear in hot pursuit. To heighten the pace we now get three frames per page.
The penultimate page is a double spread with everybody (including the dog) safely at home under the covers. Meanwhile poor old bear heads off back to his cave.
With head down and shuffling along the beach despondently you might just think he wanted to be friends with everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We're Not Scared!, Jan. 22 2000
By 
...to read this book over and over and over. It's a mini-study of what appeals to toddlers (and adults!) with its strong beat, a cyclical form, noises to make ("Swishy-Swashy!")and an energetic plot. No matter how sleep-deprived you are, or how tired you may be from chasing your little one/s, the book is so inviting you will find yourself giving a highly dramatic reading ("Tiptoe, tiptoe, tiptoe....WHAT'S THAT?"). My 18-month-old daughter is wild about this book. She knows every silly noise and shrieks with delight each time we turn to the page with the bear. The text is wonderful, the illustrations are even better, and the appeal will last for years. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You "Can't Go Over it" -- Get it, instead., Oct. 1 2001
By 
Great book the Kids really love.
A simple story of a family going on a bear hunt, going through difficult hikes (grass, winter storm, forrest, cave), finding the bear and then retreating AS FAST AS POSSIBLE! Good for the 2-5 age group.
Going on a Bear Hunt is more than a story. It's a rhythmic chant that gets the kids involved in the story. My mom taught this to my gang before we got the book. They love sitting around in a circle making the "swoosh, swoosh" sound of going through the grass, the "oooohhhhh, oooohhhhh" sound of the winter storm, the "squelch, squish" sound of going through the mud.
A good one for reading aloud to a bunch of kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going on a Bear Hunt is a read again (and again) favorite., Sept. 9 1999
By A Customer
Many children's books are a torture for parents of toddlers to reread over and over as this age group requires. This is the exception. Our family of six wore out this book and I am ordering another copy for the up and coming crop of readers. The older ones love to read it to the young ones and my two year old has it memorized. We all love to add our own nuances to the sing-song pattern to the story. I rarely buy books new (we haunt used book stores) but I have bought this one new twice now. It must be everyone's favorite- I have never seen it for resale. A definite must have for childhood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aspiring Teacher Comments, Nov. 29 2000
Michael Rosen's "We're Going On A Bear Hunt" is a cute tale suitable for any beginning reader or elementary level class. It has a repetitive and rhythmic verse. The story is a light-hearted adventure, with a fun twist at the conclusion for childrens enjoyment. The illustrations suited the text well, as they were not eccentric but not dull. I used the book for a lesson on sequencing for a first grade class. It can also be used to foster reading skills because of it's textual predictability and repetition. Overall, a helpful tool for fun activities and learning in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great first book., Oct. 13 1999
By A Customer
We've been reading this book to our 17 month old daughter since she was given it at 6 weeks and yet it's still a favourite! She now joins in on the Uh-Oh's, and lots of the sound pages too. She's been 'reading' the Hoo Woo snowstorm page by herself since about 6 months and loves bouncing along to the rhythm of the story and waving goodbye to the bear on the last page. It wouldn't surprise me if this is the first book she 'reads' independently in a few years time. Highly recommended as a present for new babies. It's never too early to start encouraging a love of books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We're Going on a Bear Hunt
We're Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen (Paperback - Jan. 1 2003)
CDN$ 9.50 CDN$ 9.02
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews