Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Basic
The beginner approach to the charming Olivia- pig of great imagination and grace. Great for small hands and laps. Will not bore parents.
Published 10 months ago by madpoet's inc.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Had to Buy This--You Don't!
Yes, Ian Falconer is a noted illustrator and the pictures are nice. It's cute---BUT---- there are a thousand other books about cute, naughty little pigs, cows, chickens, etc out there!
This one was lucky enough to be written by someone with enough publishing connections to get hyped to death. All the library and trade journals had HUGE ads touting this book, and as a...
Published on Oct. 22 2003


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Had to Buy This--You Don't!, Oct. 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Olivia (Hardcover)
Yes, Ian Falconer is a noted illustrator and the pictures are nice. It's cute---BUT---- there are a thousand other books about cute, naughty little pigs, cows, chickens, etc out there!
This one was lucky enough to be written by someone with enough publishing connections to get hyped to death. All the library and trade journals had HUGE ads touting this book, and as a result, demand is high. I'm going to have to buy every durned Olivia book that comes along the pike for the next few years. But this is not the fabulous, marvelous masterpiece people are making it out to be! The best picture books in general have text and pictures that work together. Take away the illustrations in Olivia, and there'd be nothing there.
As someone else said, borrow it from your library--we could use the circulation and your tax dollars pay for stuff like this.
And while you're at it, take a look at Lillian Hoban's Frances books, Kevin Henkes's books about Lily and all the other really great books that will be around for years to come. I doubt that these will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, May 1 2002
By 
Deborah L. Woodstuff "IntoTea" (Wellsburg, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olivia (Hardcover)
This book is okay but not one that I would recommend buying. Borrow it from the library and then decide if you have to have it for your very own. The pictures are large and there is not much text. I found the color scheme very lacklustre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Basic, June 3 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Olivia (Board book)
The beginner approach to the charming Olivia- pig of great imagination and grace. Great for small hands and laps. Will not bore parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most charming pig since Wilbur himself, April 23 2004
By 
E. R. Bird "Ramseelbird" (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olivia (Hardcover)
Ian Falconer has done many an amusing cover for "The New Yorker" in his day, so it is only fitting that he be responsible for the most New York-inspired children's book since Eloise decided to wreck havoc in the Piazza. For those of you who have never met the charming Olivia, this is probably the best book to begin with. Less pretentious than its sequels, in it you meet Olivia, her family, and her penchant for extravagant imaginings. Drawn in beautifully shaded black and white, this particular tale is dotted with brilliant flashes of Olivia's red belongings. Her adventures are quite tame. Following the day to day adventures of an average child, the viewer views Olivia going to the beach, into her closet, to the museum, and at last to bed.
Reviewer Dwight Garner recently noted in his New York Times Book Review that, " 'Olivia' is one of those kids' books... that hip mommies and daddies like to give to the children of other hip mommies and daddies in order to demonstrate, yet again, what delightfully hip mommies and daddies we all are". There's no denying that this book is decidedly hip. I've yet to see a mom in a children's book look as particularly metropolitan (read: New Yorkish) as Olivia's black clad momma. And when Olivia creates a castle, she doesn't go halfway. She creates a sand-skyscraper. Mr. Garner does bring up an interesting point, though. Is "Olivia" something kids actually love and hold dear to their hearts, or is it something that parents love and hope their kids will get into? Who doesn't want their children to be inspired by a character that reads about Maria Callas before she goes to bed?
I don't know how kids feel about the story. But what I do know is that it's a quality piece of work. The art is beautiful. The story sublime. Plus it's a riot. Olivia stuffed into one of the legs of her mother's pantyhose is a black and white joke hidden in the corner of a colorful montage of Olivia wearing her full wardrobe (love the ballgown).
"Olivia" is not going to change the world of children's book publishing. And perhaps it's only ever going to be fully appreciated by people over the age of 18. But with all the crummy two-bit picture books out there ("Love You Forever" anyone?) sometimes it's just a small slice of heaven to read something to your child that's enjoyable to them and fun for you as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERIOR, Feb. 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Olivia (Hardcover)
This is the most fantasically, incredible book. I have bi-polar disorder and the joke ok my house is Olivia is a BP pig! This was so great!!! LOVED the Jackson Pollack impersonation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, March 12 2010
By 
This review is from: Olivia (Board book)
I wasn't sure if this was going to be the full Olivia story, just in boardbook form... but it was! Delightful and sturdy, excellent value for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Aug. 16 2009
By 
V. allossery (ontario, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olivia (Board book)
thanks very much to the company. the book was in excellent condition and came promptly to my door. good work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Olivia Rocks!, Feb. 20 2004
By 
W.M. C. (Suburbia, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Olivia (Hardcover)
This book rocks! The art was delightful, even the expressions on little Olivia's piggy face. She is an active little "girl" who is into so many different things: from beautiful art (the details of real life masterpieces included in the book's museum scenes are priceless) to basking in the sun to scaring away her little brother Ian. She will delight you and your children or your students or whoever the little people in your life are. Olivia is a modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !, Dec 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Olivia (Hardcover)
I own the Spanish translation of this book. I was amazed how my 3 year old girl identifies with the Olivia character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brianna The Transformer, Oct. 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Olivia (Hardcover)
This book is truly an amazing work of art and masterpiece in its own light. Olivia is the greatest, happiest, and most enthusiatic "Pig", I've ever seen. Her basic features promote such love, joy, fun, and laughter, until it's easy to see her simplest and most basic characteristics including: curiosity, youthfulness, inquisitiveness in the arts, giftness in how she approaches things, and lack of effort to be funny, and filled with innocence, virtue and life!
I love "Olivia". She is my favorite "Gal"!
Go Girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb678c1ec)

This product

Olivia
Olivia by Ian Falconer (Board book - Oct. 1 2004)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews