Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but practical field guide
I went to Mexico for the first time and used this field guide on site. I was always having my field guide on me, which is not too cumbersome with this relatively small format. I used it a lot and was satisfied with it, however it has 2 little problems:
1) the maps are all at the end, so you're constantly like: "OK, plate 98, #3" [turn pages, turn pages, turn pages,...
Published on March 13 2009 by S. Guimond

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Birds of Mexico...hmmmm!
Old format of birding...illustrations too small...and too many! For a quick ID may become confusing! No indication of classification for plates. Poor descriptions, strict minimum. Descriptions often not on the same page as illustrations...have to jump from one page to another...confusing!! Maps at the end of the book...not practical for a quick geographic reference...
Published 9 months ago by Gary Mercier


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but practical field guide, March 13 2009
By 
S. Guimond (Repentigny, Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
I went to Mexico for the first time and used this field guide on site. I was always having my field guide on me, which is not too cumbersome with this relatively small format. I used it a lot and was satisfied with it, however it has 2 little problems:
1) the maps are all at the end, so you're constantly like: "OK, plate 98, #3" [turn pages, turn pages, turn pages, turn pages...] "OK, 98! Oops, 98.3 was on the previous page"! You're better carefully studying what birds can be found in the area you're going first, and use these maps as less as possible on the field.
2) Very often, the text descriptions only apply to the breeding male plumage, and nothing is said on the female, young or nonbreeding (but don't worry, at least it is always illustrated).

A relatively good guide nonetheless that I absolutely didn't regret buying, especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flight of Hand, March 9 2009
By 
Wayne Godbehere "ecclectic reader" (Uxbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
This book finds a practical way to compress the information about a vast variety of species into a practical travel format. Reading the locality map shadings for small endemic area can be challenging as the 1 1/2" x 1 1/2" maps often are displaying all of Mexico & Central America.

Logical grouping and extensive plates with all species having illustrations and associated locality map. Excellent choice if you need to carry a single book covering the entire region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Birds of Mexico...hmmmm!, Oct. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
Old format of birding...illustrations too small...and too many! For a quick ID may become confusing! No indication of classification for plates. Poor descriptions, strict minimum. Descriptions often not on the same page as illustrations...have to jump from one page to another...confusing!! Maps at the end of the book...not practical for a quick geographic reference!
I would recommend : the Birds of Panama by Angeher and Dean where most of the birds of this guide are also found in Mexico. Maybe less illustrations but user friendly.
But I do like to have Birds of Mexico as a reference book in my birding library.

Gary Mercier, Quebec city
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BIRDS of Mexico and Central America. Ber vanedro, Jan. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
Beaucoup de recherches mais caractères trop petits et a mon avis trop d espace pour ces cartes
Avantage taille qui permet de l avoir avec soi en faisant de l observation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4 2014
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
Very good. Most of the birds are found in this book. Complete guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great But Too Late, Dec 30 2013
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
I think the bird guide is very good considering how many species are covered. Pictures are not the best but sufficient for most field work. My complaint is that I did not receive the book before leaving on a trip during which I would need the book. Fortunately I was able to borrow a copy and use that. I want to get a refund for the expedited shipping I paid for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, Aug. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
I've brought this book with me to Mexico on several occasions and have used it to identify many birds. The drawings aren't the best but the pictures are very helpful. You don't need to be an ornithologist to get through it - just an avid bird watcher. Have made good use of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not real pictures just drawings, March 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
I was very disappointed in the bird book. It has drawings of the birds and not actual pictures. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! One Book., March 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
In the past I have had to take two or three books to Mexico to have the full range of needed information. Now it is all in this one book. The range maps may be a little small but manageable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how can anyone surpass this?, Sept. 1 2010
By 
D. MacKenzie (MARCHMONT, Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds of Mexico and Central America: (Paperback)
Having recently been in Oaxaca, and being struck by the variety of birds there, I decided that I must have a guide specific to that area. And, zounds, does this guide deliver. I unhesitatingly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds of Mexico and Central America:
Birds of Mexico and Central America: by Ber van Perlo (Paperback - July 23 2006)
CDN$ 32.14 CDN$ 19.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews