Music Deals Store sports Tools Family march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage Kitchen snsflyout Introducing Kindle Oasis

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$33.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 13, 2009
I went to Mexico for the first time and used this field guide on site. I was always having my field guide on me, which is not too cumbersome with this relatively small format. I used it a lot and was satisfied with it, however it has 2 little problems:
1) the maps are all at the end, so you're constantly like: "OK, plate 98, #3" [turn pages, turn pages, turn pages, turn pages...] "OK, 98! Oops, 98.3 was on the previous page"! You're better carefully studying what birds can be found in the area you're going first, and use these maps as less as possible on the field.
2) Very often, the text descriptions only apply to the breeding male plumage, and nothing is said on the female, young or nonbreeding (but don't worry, at least it is always illustrated).

A relatively good guide nonetheless that I absolutely didn't regret buying, especially at this price.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2009
This book finds a practical way to compress the information about a vast variety of species into a practical travel format. Reading the locality map shadings for small endemic area can be challenging as the 1 1/2" x 1 1/2" maps often are displaying all of Mexico & Central America.

Logical grouping and extensive plates with all species having illustrations and associated locality map. Excellent choice if you need to carry a single book covering the entire region.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
Old format of birding...illustrations too small...and too many! For a quick ID may become confusing! No indication of classification for plates. Poor descriptions, strict minimum. Descriptions often not on the same page as illustrations...have to jump from one page to another...confusing!! Maps at the end of the book...not practical for a quick geographic reference!
I would recommend : the Birds of Panama by Angeher and Dean where most of the birds of this guide are also found in Mexico. Maybe less illustrations but user friendly.
But I do like to have Birds of Mexico as a reference book in my birding library.

Gary Mercier, Quebec city
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
Beaucoup de recherches mais caractères trop petits et a mon avis trop d espace pour ces cartes
Avantage taille qui permet de l avoir avec soi en faisant de l observation
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
Small pictures and poor drawings at that. Posture and bill size have been way out of proportion on a number of occasions, making proper identification difficult. Minimal text, no behavioral notes, no pointers as to what makes a species different from similar ones. Confusing synchronization between picture and text pages, with text often continuing on the next page where the pictures don't match the descriptions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2010
Having recently been in Oaxaca, and being struck by the variety of birds there, I decided that I must have a guide specific to that area. And, zounds, does this guide deliver. I unhesitatingly recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2011
The plus : All the species of the region are well illustrated on colour plates, in differents plumages. Main identification features, vocalizations and habitats. Distribution maps for all birds. Good binding and highly portable.
The minus: small problem because the informative notes are not always placed opposite the illustrations. Distribution maps are small.
Global: a must have in the field and at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
I think the bird guide is very good considering how many species are covered. Pictures are not the best but sufficient for most field work. My complaint is that I did not receive the book before leaving on a trip during which I would need the book. Fortunately I was able to borrow a copy and use that. I want to get a refund for the expedited shipping I paid for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
Très bon moyen d'établir et de tenir à jour ma Life-List des oiseaux observés dans ces pays. Suggestions : 1) des cartes en couleurs lors d'une ré-édition ; 2) mieux encore : une version électronique de ce checklist si ce n'est déjà fait ; 3) une relieur aussi solide mais plus souple.
Merci.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
I've brought this book with me to Mexico on several occasions and have used it to identify many birds. The drawings aren't the best but the pictures are very helpful. You don't need to be an ornithologist to get through it - just an avid bird watcher. Have made good use of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse