biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$10.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on December 9, 2013
When I saw the title (and before I had a chance to read the reviews) I expected that this book would be a light, very funny, very humorous work. How wrong I was!

This is not a funny book. Nor is it something that was written as a satire. Mr. Harry G. Frankfurt looks closely at BS as a concept and analyzes it. Also, he distinguishes this common phenomenon from lying and other similar notions. It is a guide for anyone who has ever heard and used this popular and widely used word. It is short and it is excellent!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
This was a great read. It is fun, well written, to the point, and short. It tackles its subject with seriousness, but not with boorishness. Frankfurt has produced a gem here, and I'm glad to have read it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
The book is a remarkable exercise in self-reference. It is itself bulls***, so well written that he has snookered most readers into taking it seriously at face value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
A witty pseudo-academic discussion of a real life phenomenon. Read it before the next election. Politics and the market will never look or smell the same again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
A surprising book. Clear, precise and rigorous analysis of a diffuse phenomenon we didn't think of as analysable before reading the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2015
What a lovely philosophical piece, exploring the not-quite-lies and not-really-truths of an increasingly prominent rhetorical style.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2005
I consider this book to be a very rich philosophical yet hilarious work, challenging in content, and gripping as a smooth read. Tou will agree with me that this book stands out as a tantalizing novel. You never guess what you will find until you start reading it. One thing for sure is that you will laugh, smile and ponder in turns. In the end, you will be more of a truthful guy than a the other type.Another wryly humorous and philosophically insightful novel is THE USURPER AND OTHER STORIES
Also recommended: Disciples of Fortune,Triple Agent, Double Cross,The Union Moujik
0Comment22 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2014
This book was hilarious. Its not supposed to be funny but it made me laugh.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2014
A must read for all bullshiters
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2005
Well, I found the title interesting while shopping around for new books to read. I was surprised when I actually opened the book to find it interesting. I also recommend Stop Working by Rohan Hall. Not quite the same topic but a pretty good book for entrepreneurs that want to become independently wealthy and stop working.
0Comment8 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.68
$19.95